We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly incredible experience”

Elephant Nature Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Elephant Nature Park, a unique conservation project set in Chiang Mai Province, Northern Thailand has been in operation since in the 1990's with a goal to provide a sanctuary and elephant rescue center. We have been involved in dozens of rescues and sustain a natural home for this endangered species. Mission: To protect and conserve elephants in a natural environment and to provide a healthy and fruitful life for all those creatures under our care
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Stroller parking
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Truly incredible experience”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I cannot recommend this place highly enough! This place really needs people to visit to see the excellent work they are doing as well as getting a helping hand with looking after the elephants! After reading many of the reviews for the nature park it seemed like the best place to visit to see the elephants bring cared for properly. Nothing could have prepared us for the truly amazing experience we had there. The staff and mahouts love the elephants so much and want you to have the best close up encounters that you can. You feed the elephants as much as you want and you get to bathe and scrub them in the river-they are so happy and will join in and spray you with water! As an animal lover, parts of the day were difficult to take in as they try to educate and give you an understanding about how elephants can be used/treated in Thailand which is just awful but you know that they are doing all they can to help and look after the elephants here and they all seem very content.

Whilst we were there a new elephant arrived to the centre which was amazing to be a part of. Watching how the new elephants interact with it and seeing the excitement and joy that another elephant has been rescued from abuse. There was also a tiny baby (18 days old) that you were allowed to view too. This place is not about tricks or riding as this is seen badly so dont come here if that's what you want.

There are also over 300 dogs at the park and water buffalo.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Alisqr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,893 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,973
    647
    185
    44
    44
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
2 reviews
“A Must See in Chiang Mai”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We visited the Elephant Nature Park in mid-Oct 2012. Our day was fantastic. Being up close with the elephants was a once in a life time opportunity. It's obvious they really take excellent care of the animals, dogs included. The staff are very knowledgeable and the lunch was outstanding. Don't miss it. If we make it back, we will bring our kids.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank GretchenKrueger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“an amazing place founded by an amazing woman”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is truly a park built for the benefit of elephants and not people. The elephants, many of which are survivors of abusive treatment, are able to form their own families and wander about the park. We were able to observe the families and learn a lot about the individual elephants. We were also able to feed and bathe some elephants. I would love to go back there and stay longer to volunteer; the volunteers appeared to be having a great time. Let, the woman who founded this park, is an incredibly brave person. Now it's hard for me to watch elephants being used to perform or being ridden on busy city streets. This park really opened my eyes.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DelhiExpat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“must do”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

this place is amazing. its not to ride or watch them do tricks(which they are abused at to train) not only is it a beautiful visit you help support these beautiful animals,they also takes in dogs and cats:) ps the best food in thailand!!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank karenstrawberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Opportunity of a lifetime!”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I was skeptical about shelling the money that we did on visiting this park. But after visiting the park, I truly felt that it was money well spent. The park focuses on neglected elephants, every elephant at the par had its own story, it was interested but also very sad to listen to them. But what was fun was ro see the elephants happy. Feeding, playing and bathing the elephants was a tremendous experience. If you are looking for a place to ride and elephant or do tricks to amuse you, then this is definelty the wrong place. But if you want to experience the gentleness for one of the largest mamal on the planet then this is an experience you should miss. We got to meet Mdme Lek who started the sanctuary and she truly does "walk to talk"! Fabulous experience...

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank YoBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elephant Nature Park also viewed

 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Elephant Nature Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing