We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (826)
Filter reviews
826 results
Traveler rating
691
109
22
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
691
109
22
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews junior suite tuk tuk an oasis across the river four poster old city lush gardens flower market minute walk ping river breakfast is served main building every morning busy city night market thai breakfast teak wood
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 826 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2018

We chose Baan Orapin because of its location and excellent reviews and it didn't disappoint. Located on a busy interesting small street, once you go in through the gates, it is a haven of peace and quiet. Beautiful tropical gardens, a lovely pool and delicious breakfast served everyday by Pepsi. If you want somewhere to stay with local character, clean and comfortable rooms, then this is the place for you.

Date of stay: March 2018
Thank jenross2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2018

Such a beautiful place with such a great location. Even though you are close to so much, you feel like you are in the country. Pepsi is so kind and the staff will do anything to make your stay very nice. Rooms were always clean. We loved that there was a place to get your clothing laundered just 1/2 block away for so cheap. Would recommend to anyone.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2018

Our absolute favorite place to stay in Chiang Mai. Set behind a fence it is paradise to enter. Very authentic with wonderful gardens and grounds all set around the majestic old Baan Orapin. We always feel immediately at peace. The family and staff are wonderful. We also love the riverside area. So many places to choose to eat and drink, listen to music or browse through the galleries. As soon as we leave here, we want to be back. Thank you for another wonderful stay.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroline08Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2018

The Baan Orapin is a lovely hotel that provides a peaceful, serene ambiance as soon as you walk through the gate. The staff is extremely courteous and unobtrusive. The hotel does not have a typical lobby, so the staff are going about their work in the background. The location is near the hustle and bustle of the Warorot Market and the Night Bazaar (just across the river, easy walking distance), but as soon as you enter the hotel property the noise fades away. The pool/garden area is beautiful, and well-maintained. The breakfast was good, with some special dishes you could request ahead. We had a Deluxe Junior Suite, and it was large and beautifully decorated, situated towards the rear of the property looking out on the pool and garden. Some of the furnishings come from a store next door (supports the craftsmanship of a Thai Hill Tribe). The bed in the room (as we found all over Thailand) was firm (not to my liking, but I carry an inflatable air mattress to put on top). All in all I highly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank archie502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2018

We had a stand-alone cabin at the front of the property, with 2 beds, a sitting room, large bathroom, and a private terrace. Although the weather is very comfortable at night, they'd made it difficult to open the many windows, but we managed. There's plenty of hot water in the shower, but none in the sink. Breakfast is served in the main building, near the swimming pool. The fresh fruit and bread were on a buffet table, and coffee and hot food were served to us. We had Thai omelet over rice and the second morning I was prepared with my own chili powder to put on the rather bland food. Baan Orapin is green and quiet and next to the river where there are plenty of restaurants. You can walk to the teeming market places in 10 minutes.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank arlenepowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mo C, Manager at Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2018

Hi arlenepowers,

Thank you for your review.

We wanted to address some of the comments written, with the utmost respect, to clarify and explain for a clear understanding. First, let us express our gratitude that you've chosen to stay with us at Baan Orapin for your time in Chiang Mai. We are deeply grateful.

Please let us explain more about our bed & breakfast. The windows were designed to reflect traditional Thai architecture of openness and let in natural light. They are large and may not be easy to open. In most months, it would be too warm not to turn on the A/C while inside the room for many of our guests from colder regions, so the windows would be closed at all times. But this year, the winter breeze stayed longer than usual (which is good). This is also the reason we did not install hot water for the sinks, as it would be unused for the majority of the year with the warmer weather, but as you mentioned, hot water in the shower is available for all rooms.

For breakfast, we offer à la carte sets rather than a full buffet table found in big hotels, so that we can always prepare the food fresh & hot out of the kitchen. We have a "bread buffet/all-you-can-eat" table during high season when we have many guests, to accommodate for guests who may not wish to order a full set but have a quick bite before heading off to tours. This also helps keep food waste minimal as some guests may not wish to have any toast, while some may wish to have more than a few slices. However, the fresh fruit is served, and not provided on the "bread table". We have to apologize that you found our food not as tasty. We try our best to strike a balance between fresh ingredients and spices that bring out the signature Thai flavors while keeping the taste true to its roots but mild enough for all of our guests to enjoy, as not all may be accustomed to the extreme spicy/sour/sweet/salty combination of Thai food you may find at local eateries. But we do provide Sriracha hot sauce with the Thai omelet/rice set which should add quite a bit of flavor. We can also recommend nearby restaurants that offer tasty Thai food.

We wish to thank you again for staying with us and hope we can accommodate you in your future visits to Chiang Mai.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews