We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (826)
Filter reviews
826 results
Traveler rating
691
109
22
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
691
109
22
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews junior suite tuk tuk an oasis across the river four poster old city lush gardens flower market minute walk ping river breakfast is served main building every morning busy city night market thai breakfast teak wood
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 826 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2018

This was one of our nicest places we stayed in our 3 week trip in Thailand. We stayed in some much more upscale establishments but adored the cozy family feel to this guest house. The staff and owner were always very quick to respond to any inquiries or problems we had. The breakfast was excellent and the accommodation spacious and clean.
We liked the street that the guest house was situated on. Good restaurants and boutiques close by. Near the center but more charm being just outside.

Room tip: we stayed in two different rooms do to availability and both were quite nice and quiet and always clean.
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Roberta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2018 via mobile

We spent almost a week at Baan Orapin's. The hotel is very tiny, has a unique atmosphere, it is furnished and decorated with a very good taste of local traditions. It is much better than a hotel which is modern but could be found everywhere in the world.
They have paid attention to every detail, the garden is also fantastic, it is relaxing just to sit on the terrace and watch the beatiful garden.

The room was very comfortable and had a big size, it was perfect.

The staff at the hotel was always very kind, their hospitality is great.

There is a wide choice of western type breakfasts, but you can also order Thai breakfasts. It is interesting that northern Thai cuisine is very different from what you can taste in e.g. Bangkok. It is also very tasty, so worths a try.

We had perfect 5 days in Chiang Mai, and we were astonished how tiny and beautiful this friendly hotel was.

I recommend it to everybody with good heart.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank RitaG3274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2018

My friend and I had a wonderful stay at Baan Orapin. Another friend had recommended we stay here and we were very happy we did. The breakfast provided every morning was delicious. The staff was very helpful, like in providing a taxi to the airport. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. We had to leave really early one morning for an elephant expenditure and they left us yogurt and granola in our room the night before so we could still have breakfast. The location was perfect and we preferred being across the river away from the city center. It was such a lovely walk across the river into town every day. And the location is so close to great restaurants on the river and the night markets.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiffany L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2018

To stay here is to know privilege from every point of view. Peaceful, perfectly positioned, welcoming, discreet. I doubt if there's a better address in Chiang Mai and we certainly won't be looking for one.
Breakfast, the best on our trip. Coffee freshly brewed and it shows. Staff adorable.

Date of stay: January 2018
Thank mihicredite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2018

We first stayed at the Baan Orapin many years ago and absolutely loved it., There have been additions since then, but all are very tastefully done and add to the charm of this place.
The constants are the friendly and welcoming staff, the beautiful private rooms that ooze character and charm all set in a quiet, peaceful compound with mature trees and garden. There is also a pool .. just right for those warm days after exploring Chiang Mai!
Breakfast is a delight and included in the price.
The location is just a short walk to the Night Bazaar and Market and even closer to all the riverside restaurants. Try as many as you can as they are worth it.
We love staying here and it is one of the reasons that we keep returning to Chiang Mai.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank T2toes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews