We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (826)
Filter reviews
826 results
Traveler rating
691
109
22
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
691
109
22
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews junior suite tuk tuk an oasis across the river four poster old city lush gardens flower market minute walk ping river breakfast is served main building every morning busy city night market thai breakfast teak wood
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 826 reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2018

My friend and I had a wonderful stay at Baan Orapin. Another friend had recommended we stay here and we were very happy we did. The breakfast provided every morning was delicious. The staff was very helpful, like in providing a taxi to the airport. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. We had to leave really early one morning for an elephant expenditure and they left us yogurt and granola in our room the night before so we could still have breakfast. The location was perfect and we preferred being across the river away from the city center. It was such a lovely walk across the river into town every day. And the location is so close to great restaurants on the river and the night markets.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiffany L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2018

To stay here is to know privilege from every point of view. Peaceful, perfectly positioned, welcoming, discreet. I doubt if there's a better address in Chiang Mai and we certainly won't be looking for one.
Breakfast, the best on our trip. Coffee freshly brewed and it shows. Staff adorable.

Date of stay: January 2018
Thank mihicredite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2018

We first stayed at the Baan Orapin many years ago and absolutely loved it., There have been additions since then, but all are very tastefully done and add to the charm of this place.
The constants are the friendly and welcoming staff, the beautiful private rooms that ooze character and charm all set in a quiet, peaceful compound with mature trees and garden. There is also a pool .. just right for those warm days after exploring Chiang Mai!
Breakfast is a delight and included in the price.
The location is just a short walk to the Night Bazaar and Market and even closer to all the riverside restaurants. Try as many as you can as they are worth it.
We love staying here and it is one of the reasons that we keep returning to Chiang Mai.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank T2toes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2018

Our family stayed in Baan Orapin for 5 days over Christmas holidays. It is a lovely compound on the river bank. When you shut the doors of the gate, you abandon the business of the town and find yourself in an oasis of peace and beautifully landscaped grounds. The entire compound consists of several wooden colonial houses with an original large house in the middle. Our house was located close to the street so perhaps next time, I would try to stay a little further inside and away from the street noise. It was our favorite hotel in Thailand because the people who served breakfast were lovely and always had a wonderful smile. Definitely also recommend Woo restaurant on the street with fantastic orange cake and a coffee place across the street from the hotel!

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristyna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2018 via mobile

Baan Orapin is a wonderful place to stay in Chiang Mai. We stayed a for a week in one of the Junior Suites, very comfortable, cool, spacious, clean and relaxing. Breakfasts are very good and freshly cooked. Good coffee.
Opas and family do a great job to make you feel very welcome.

The walk into the Old City takes a leisurely 15-20 mins over the River Ping's footbridge and through the market.

Great place to stay.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Mjondalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews