We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (826)
Filter reviews
826 results
Traveler rating
691
109
22
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
691
109
22
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews junior suite tuk tuk an oasis across the river four poster old city lush gardens flower market minute walk ping river breakfast is served main building every morning busy city night market thai breakfast teak wood
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 826 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2017

My first impression was that the rooms were a bit dated, but I ended up loving this place. We had SO much space in our room to chill out, and it was so incredibly peaceful by the pool. The breakfast was amazing. In walking distance to lots of restaurants along the river, and very easy to tuk tuk into the old town (or you can walk, although a bit long in hot season).

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2017

We arrived from Chaing Mai airport by metered taxi for 200bht which takes about 25 minutes.
We had booked direct and let the hotel know our approximate arrival time and Pepsi came to the gate within a minute of us ringing the bell. What a wonderful, humble man!
We were shown to our room which was a suite in the rear of the grounds along with 3 others. The room was wonderful with a four poster bed, beautiful bathroom, comfortable sofa and very importantly great air con! There is a fridge (minibar) and a kettle and tv with some English channels. Outside there is a tiled terrace with a couple of chairs leading onto a path leading you through the grounds.
The first thing you notice (especially like us you have come from Bangkok!) is the peace, it is like a haven.
There is a lovely pool with 6 loungers but most guests like us were out all day and just used it for cooling off which was a great way to end a day exploring this lovely area. Watch the squirrels leaping through the trees and listen to the array of birdsong (some very loud!!)
Impeccably clean and I loved all the natural materials and eco touches in this hotel.
A highlight for me was the breakfast! It was so lovely! Everything is cooked to order and the portions a big, we never needed lunch! There is also a choice which you can order for the following day but we found the usual menu more than adequate.
One thing to remember is your mosquito spray and get a stronger one for the north. If you apply after 5pm you will be fine and Pepsi puts a repellent coil outside you room at night.
A torch is handy but not essential.
The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the river which has a footbridge over to the markets and then leads through to the old town. All is walkable but there are great shared buses for 30bht, rickshaws or taxis all easily accessible.
711 are a 5 minute walk but be aware the rules around buying alcohol are more limited than Bangkok and restaurants will stop serving at certain times.
The staff will help in any way they can and there is a good free map in the room. Pepsi arranged our taxi back to airport which was perfectly punctual.
Whilst in Chaing Mai do a cooking course, go see the Thai boxing and for the experience of a lifetime see the elephants! The office for the elephant nature park is in the city about a 20 minute walk.

I would stay here again and recommend it without hesitation. Truly a fantastic part of our tour of Thailand.
Thank you!

Date of stay: April 2017
1  Thank 112raeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2017 via mobile

We had a junior suite up one flight of stairs, at the back. Lots of Lanna style, dark wood, in good nick and spotlessly clean. Very private and quiet. New bath towels overdue, minor point.

We were greeted by the smiling Mr Pepsi, the manager (at 11pm) who also was the waiter at breakfast (delicious). Mr Pepsi speaks no English but at breakfast is often accompanied by a young man who speaks excellent English (a graduate of the International School here). After breakfast ends (10:15am) staff disappear - not unexpected for a B and B but this could be a bit disconcerting for some, especially first timers.

The property is behind a locked gate, and on check in you are given a key. Very clean pool and surrounds, with the garden not "hotel manicured" but pleasant. However new sun loungers with clean wiped down vinyl pads would be a great addition. At present there seem to be four with grubby pads and two without pads that sit amongst the garden greenery. Another minor point, hopefully constructive.

No fault of this place at all, but we would not recommend this location, especially if you are bringing young children. The road outside has no footpath, is narrow and carries a lot of traffic. Crossing it or walking along it is hazardous, feels a high risk venture. The warorot markets are close by, with lots of great street food. A lack of cheap eateries locally if you want a sit down meal, unless you want to go to Regina's which we did not enter due to the overwhelming stench of cat urine outside. TA reviews though are favourable. We ate at the markets and Riverside Bar and Grill, the Old Place and Ping on the River (all pricey and touristy, but close - we really did get totally over walking that road).

In summary, this place is quaint and quiet Thai staffed by nice people who disappear at 10:15am each morning. Clean, and good breakfast supplied. Behind the Baan Orapin gate all is tranquil and calm. But we found that the moment we went outside the gate we felt the exact opposite.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank womblewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2017

Stayed here for around a week and loved it. When I first arrived in Chiang Mai I had spent a few nights at a lovely & highly rated hotel in the Old City and was concerned about moving somewhere new ( I was only able to book for a few nights due to availability but had wanted to try it). I loved Baan Orapin so much that I cancelled my return to the first location after spending some traveling outside of the city. You enter through a gate from the busy street into a peaceful, green and tranquil setting. The 100+ year old main house is incredibly charming and Pepsi, the manager was warm, friendly & helpful in getting me situated into my room. I stayed in two different rooms in the back of the property and both were spacious, clean and lovely. The pool was beautiful and relaxing to unwind by after the heat of the day and the property was tranquil & quiet after the noise and traffic of the city. The location is also great. Close to great restaurants, cafes, shops and traditional Chiang Mai life. I hope to go back some day and highly recommend!

Room tip: Rooms in the back are farther way from the street. It was good to be closer to the pool and breakfast which are in the back portion.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dana02131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2017 via mobile

Opas and his wife were wonderful and made arrangements and recommendations for our excursions in Chiang mai. The place and breakfast were top notch. Great location as well. Highly recommend! Will stay here again, in a heartbeat.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank gmclaughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews