We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Though popular, you would think you're the only guest”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 784 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Beautiful, very quiet and lush green compound just outside the bustling heart of Chiang Mai. We stayed in one of the deluxe junior suites: a spacious apartment tucked away in the most quiet part of the compound, with bathtub and huge four poster bed. Although December is high season in Thailand and Baan Orapin is extremely popular on TripAdvisor, you would think you're the only guests. Staff is helpful and always smiling, with attention to detail, like the incense on our porch every night. Breakfast is ok with good coffee. The city centre is too far to walk, but as others already stated, there's always an idle tuktuk down the street to get you there. Most of the evenings though we had diner at the riverfront just across the street; there are some lively bars packed with locals, and good restaurants as well.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PBekkering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (759)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

193 - 199 of 759 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

You don't expect to find an oasis here as you make your way along a busy road to the Baan Orapin. And when you get to the entrance gate you wonder where you're going to end up...it's not that welcoming a sight. But as soon as the gates open you are in a different world. A lush garden, a lovely old main house that serves as both the reception area, breakfast room and also houses some of the rooms. Walk on and you pass a small but lovely pool. Walk across the wooden deck where breakfast tables are set up in the morning to the back of the property where additional buildings house more rooms and suites. Pepsi greeted us and got us settled in a suite with large four-poster bed, lovely living space and a balcony overlooking the gardens and pool.
Breakfast choices are good and food is attractively presented.
It is a 15- 20 min walk to the gate of the old town. The Night market is in easy walking distance as well and there are a number of restaurants on the Ping River nearby.
Opas and his staff have created a wonderful retreat here. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Our suite was in the back part of the property, probably the quietest part of the compound. Rooms at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveltroel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Away from the city centre but easy walking distance the Baan Orapin is a delightful place to atay.
We had 3 nights there and found it to be a little oasis in a busy city.
Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice.
Nice room, good service and well kept gardens.
Couldn't fault this hotel and tried to book again while we were there as we were returning to Chiang Mai but it was fully booked so will know for next time to do all booking well in advance.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pete_n_pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

We left Bangkok after three days to come up to Chiang Mai. After Bangkok we wanted a more peaceful setting. Driving through the city from the airport it seemed a little less hectic then Bangkok but still very busy. This all changed when we walked though the gates of Baan Orapin. Situated on a busy street we were surprised by the quiet oasis hidden behind the from gates. Lush palm trees, green spaces and a fantastic welcome. We were greeted at the gate and escorted into the "lobby" very rustic. Our host took the time to show us a map of the city and points of interest. Our room was not ready so we left our bags and left to explore Chiang Mai.

When we returned our host guided us to our room where our bags awaited. Very spacious, clean air conditioned haven from the noise of the city. But also close enough to walk to the action. Well worth the money.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank remiremi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I recently stayed Baan Orapin and loved every moment of it. The main house is just beautiful set in amongst lovely gardens. I stayed in one of the smaller garden rooms but found it plenty big enough . Every morning you greeted by the friendly staff in the breakfast room with a big smile.
The breakfast is lovely and huge. The location is great , walking distance to the night market and into old city only takes about 15-20 min by foot.
I would definitely stay at Baan Orapin again next time I visit Chaing Mai and wouldn't hesitate recommending it to anyone looking for a peaceful oasis .

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blingi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

pos: beautiful grounds
pos: beautiful rooms with wood floors
pos: well-managed, v clean
pos: big mosquito nets on windows and screens on doors and windows - very rare.

neutral: no front desk. one is left alone. I enjoyed this, but some people prefer more attention.

neg: internet patchy. sometimes almost nothing.
neg: perhaps a tiny bit further away from the centre of Chiang Mai. easy by tuk-tuk but not so easy to walk (in the heat).

stay again: yes

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Wasn't really sure what to expect before arriving at Baan Orapin....I knew it was the sort of place I was either going to love or hate......I LOVED IT! As soon as we arrived behind the gates of Baan Orapin I knew all the amazing reviews were right. This is a charming B&B set in its own grounds. It's a little oasis in the middle of a bustling city, on the chic side of the river. It's old Thai traditional style, maybe not to everyone's taste, but it's really charming and much more character than the big chain hotels. Believe all the great reviews, you won't be disappointed!!

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank somewheresun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.6 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#15 of 388 in Chiang Mai
2,096 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 388 in Chiang Mai
2,434 reviews
1.4 mi away
BED Phrasingh (Adults Only)
BED Phrasingh (Adults Only)
#4 of 388 in Chiang Mai
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.9 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#12 of 388 in Chiang Mai
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast

Address: 150 Charoenraj Road, | Wat Gate,, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 784 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $36 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Orapin, built in northern Thai (Lanna) styled architecture, surrounded by tall longan trees, is within easy walking distance of the Night Bazaar, Thapae gate, riverside restaurants along the Ping river, local handicraft shops, and Warorot market. It boasts an inviting residential ambiance that combines an authentic neighborhood vibe with the modern comforts. Baan Orapin is where you will find genuine ambience of a northern Thai home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Baan Orapin Hotel Chiang Mai
Baan Orapin b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing