We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breakfast was delicious”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 718 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Breakfast was delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

The room had a dining room table, lounge with day bed, balcony, four poster bed and a bathroom with a shower. The breakfast was delicious and of a good quality. I especially enjoyed the French toast. If you are looking for a convenient location, comfortable and spacious accommodation, look no further.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeremy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    104
    20
    3
    1
See reviews for
158
396
32
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

From the moment we were picked up from the airport, I knew we were in good hands. Comprising of 5 ladies on a girlies weekend, we were shown to our very comfortable rooms amidst quiet oasis within the town. The B&B was just minutes from the old town of Chiangmai, and we even walked to the night bazaar. Opas was very helpful in a professional manner and we were treated so well by Pepsi. Opas helped organise a lovely cooking class with Pom, and arranged for a very comfortable minivan for a day trip with driver/guide. Absolutely no complaints at all. As mentioned, we would return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OMalleyHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

This was the perfest place to stay. There was an amazng old temle, great boutique shops, and a wonderful restaraunt all within a couple a blocks. Super easy to get a tuk-tuk int town too. This was a honeymoon and the price just can't be beat. Thank you Bann Orapin for the trip of a lifetime.

Room Tip: room in the back is more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trickytriangle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Republic, Washington
Level Contributor
141 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

My husband and I spent 5 nights at Baan Orapin in April, 2013. Based on TA reviews, we gave it a try. One of the things we definitely wanted was a quiet place to sleep. Baan Orapin is truly a small oasis in a busy city. I didn't look in any other rooms, but ours was a junior suite on the ground level in the back. The room had its own bath, a small drybar with frig area, and its own little covered patio. Everything was clean and in good condition, although the tv was an older model with dodgy reception.

The furnishings in our room were not luxurious, but very nice-some traditional style Thai pieces including a 4-post bed with mosquito net. Unlike some other commentors, we didn't have a problem with mosquitos in our room. Our room was located in the building in the back of the property, all the buildings being connected by pathways and lovely landscaping. The pool was located somewhat in the center of the central courtyard area, and adjacent to the main building where they also served breakfast. One disappointment was that the pool was closed for two days right after we arrived, while they were cleaning it. Those were two of the days that we had available to 'hang out by the pool.' It would have been nice to have some advanced warning that it would be closed.

The staff at Baan Orapin was very helpful in recommending several things, including a dentist. The one Opas recommended did an excellent job (Dental 4U). Also, Pepsi was extremely helpful with a number of our questions. It was really great to stay in a place where we felt comfortable and secure as well.

I would definitely recommend Baan Orapin as a quiet place to stay in Chiang Mai, the main con being that it's somewhat more expensive than many other places there. We would absolutely stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the rear of the property are quieter. Also, rooms on the second floor probably have better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in July 2012. Loved it and would go back! The room was- a tiny villa! No kitchen but a nice sized bathroom, little sitting area with a tv and free wifi. Breakfast was delicious and I highly recommend trying the northern breakfast but you'll need to order it a day ahead. It was in a quiet location but lots to do in walking distance. My husband left some of his wallet contents in the room and they express shipped it to us- no problem. Talk about service! The lobby has flyers if you're looking for more to do. Stay here. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tkap_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

This is our third stay here (last time five years ago). Delightful family run place in the grounds of the old family home. All of the rooms we've stayed in were very comfortable. This time we had a deluxe junior suite which had a separate shower & bath, a large seating area overlooking the pool area,and a comfortable four poster bed. We were made to feel very welcome and would highly recommend staying here. Breakfast is served in the original house and on the deck by the pool.All freshly prepared. Situated near the river with lots of good places for dinner within easy walking distance. Hope to stay again very soon.Stepping through the gates is like entering an oasis-very calm,quieter and cooler than outside.

Room Tip: All of the three rooms we've stayed in are lovely and comfortable ,beautifully appointed in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo County, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

I recently stayed here solo for 4 nights, and once again, Tripadvisor pointed me in the right direction. From start to finish, it all went smoothly. They are very prompt in returning emails and detailed. Everything everyone says about the peaceful, tropical grounds is correct, and the property is even prettier in person. The fresh made breakfast is divine by the pool, with different tasty options to choose. I'm going to focus on the rear wing "superior single room," as I could find little specific information on it before arriving. First, on Baan Orapin's website it kindly advises that this room is best suited for one person because it is small. But I can confidently say that it is large enough to accommodate a couple traveling together, and it was absolutely ample space for lil' ol' me! The room was immaculate in cleanliness, and the bed was the most comfortable I had in Asia (downright plush and luscious). The room has comfortable AC, which you control, a television where I found random English movies at night ("Tenacious D" anyone:), decent wi-fi for staying in touch, and even a minibar (40 baht Singha). I also loved the interior decor, and bathroom doors, with a large walk-in shower that was always warm with very good water pressure. Incense was lit on the room's patio porch every evening, and it was lovely to return to after long, hot days of sightseeing. The property is decently located near the night market too. Yes, the streets can be dim and a little hectic with the scooters, but I felt completely safe and comfortable as a lady alone walking to it (I'd say 10 minutes walk, turn left outside Baan Orapin, turn right when you see the river bridge, walk over it and go straight until you see the night bazaar on your left:) I feel like I got more than my money's worth, and I would not hesitate to recommend Baan Orapin again and again to all. It was an absolutely perfect stay.

Room Tip: The Rear Wing Superior Single Room was perfect (and even big enough for two)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skullatone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.8 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,290 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
0.6 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#11 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#20 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
1.4 mi away
BED Phrasingh Hotel
BED Phrasingh Hotel
#5 of 375 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.2 mi away
137 Pillars House
137 Pillars House
#1 of 375 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast

Property: Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast
Address: 150 Charoenraj Road, | Wat Gate,, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 718 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Orapin, built in northern Thai (Lanna) styled architecture, surrounded by tall longan trees, is within easy walking distance of the Night Bazaar, Thapae gate, riverside restaurants along the Ping river, local handicraft shops, and Warorot market. It boasts an inviting residential ambiance that combines an authentic neighborhood vibe with the modern comforts. Baan Orapin is where you will find genuine ambience of a northern Thai home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Baan Orapin Hotel Chiang Mai
Baan Orapin b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing