We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastisc Place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 784 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We booked Baan Orapin based on high rating on trip advisor. We couldn't have made better choice. 10 min walk from the city centre (night market), it is a special place, with great atmosphere, rating on trip advisor well deserved.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaja_Thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (759)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

244 - 250 of 759 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

We had a teak room upstairs at the front of the property. Beautiful room, very clean, nicely decorated. We didn't hear any street noise. Lots of windows for natural light and looking out at the electrical storm one night.
Bed was comfortable. Fantastic shower- really hot water with great water pressure. Soaps were handmade and shampoo, etc also supplied. Big, efficient fridge, comp water, reasonably priced minibar. Aircon struggled, as it was turned off during the day it would take many hours to get the room cooled. However, it was 38, 39 degrees when we were there.
Staff friendly.
Breakfast was really nice.
Pool refreshing.
Good wifi.
Hotel very well located- cafe across street wonderful, lots of little boutique style shops around.

Room Tip: Bring some tea bags/coffee if you like to have an early morning/evening cuppa, we were given a hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We booked Baan Orapin based on the high rating on Trip Advisor, and we are glad we did. The high rating is well deserved. As soon as we arrived we knew we were staying somewhere special. Everything about this property is just right. The grounds are beautiful, the staff lovely, and the location perfect. Walking distance to the night market, lot of wats, and restaurants (try Regina down the street!). We booked a Junior Suite in the rear wing. It was large and very comfortable. They do such a good job with special touches (incense burning on our patio) and little details. Night time dips in the pool were heavenly. And the breakfasts were delicious. We would definitely recommend this awesome B&B. A little spendy, but well worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfhyatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Are you considering visiting Chang Mai, Thailand? Are you looking for a quiet, relaxing, friendly place to stay, close to the centre of the city and reasonably priced. Somewhere that has a flavour of the country? Then Baan Orapin is for you.

I can't recommend it highly enough. The staff are friendly, helpful and attentive. The situation is almost perfect, being just over the river from the centre/old city and within walking distance or a short tuk tuk ride. Even though it is near the bustling centre it is quiet. An oasis of calm amoung the bustle of Chang Mai.

There are some aspects of the place being a little in need of repair (from a European, US point of view), but that only adds to the atmosphere. It is clean and you are not going to 'slum it' in any way.

I have stayed at Baan Orapin twice now. I was not disappointed on the second visit, it is just as lovely as it was the first.

I can't finish before mentioning the breakfasts. For western tastes they provide the prettiest little fried breakfasts you will ever see and I haven't had a better coffee anywhere. For those that want to try a Thai breakfast the spicy rice soup was one of several yum options. And for the super health conscious the bowl of fresh fruit with yoghurt was mouth watering and I finished it, twice, despite it's huge size.

Enjoy your time in Chang Mai and Baan Orapin. We did.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidBrittain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Baan Orapin a couple of weeks ago and it was faultless. It is number 1 on Trip Advisor and it is well deserved. Our room was lovely, old fashioned and charmingly decorated. The place is surprisingly quiet considering it is on such a busy street. The breakfast is really nice and so enjoyable when taken by the swimming pool. We thought the man that welcomed us (I do not know whether he was the owner) was absolutely lovely, smiling and so very helpful. I have no negative comment to leave about this place whatsoever and will happily return again when I come back to Thailand.
Quick tip: there is a little coffee shop in front of the hotel that serves delicious iced coffee and chocolate and a fantastic coconut cake, that is not too sweet, which is a nice change to the UK; give it a try and enjoy it by the swimming pool!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClairettedeLondres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We agree with all of the positive comments below, this really is a beautiful compound, with fascinating buildings and great service. Breakfasts out by the pool were varied and excellent, the staff helped us book a car with a driver for the day (the way to go if like us the idea of a scooter and all that traffic terrifies you! ) and the rooms were charming, quiet and spotless. We shared the junior suite, with the day bed converted into a perfectly comfortable bed. Would have no hesitation about recommending Baan Orapin to anyone.

Room Tip: The rooms at the rear of the property are probably slightly quieter, but all are set back from the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MelbourneTedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We recently had the pleasure of staying four days at this amazing property just outside the heart of Chiang Mai Old Town district. This is a very busy and pretty crowded city so to have such a peaceful gated property so close to everything was so much more than we expected. The location couldn't have been better. We stayed in two different rooms since our plans changed last minute and we came a day earlier than expected. They were very accomodating and made it very easy to welcome us a day early. Both rooms were very spacious, the decor was perfect old word charm but very functional and VERY clean. The grounds of the property were beautiful and a very good breakfast was served every morning by the pool. The staff was incredibly friendly with amazing service.

We rented a scooter for a few days which I would highly recommend. It made it very easy to take the loop up into the mountains to see many of the attractions that you would otherwise have to do with a tour operator. We preferred this way so much more. We got to pull over for every little thing whenever we liked. It made for a perfect day. Anyway, the hotel arranged the scooter with a local australian guy I believe. He delivered and picked up the scooter and helmets right to the hotel for $7/day. Can't beat that.

We would absolutely recommend this place with zero hesitation. We absolutely loved this place.

Room Tip: We stayed in two of the rooms on the front of the property which to my understanding were the cheape...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dustin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.6 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#15 of 388 in Chiang Mai
2,096 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 388 in Chiang Mai
2,431 reviews
1.4 mi away
BED Phrasingh (Adults Only)
BED Phrasingh (Adults Only)
#4 of 388 in Chiang Mai
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.9 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#12 of 388 in Chiang Mai
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast

Address: 150 Charoenraj Road, | Wat Gate,, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 784 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $36 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Orapin, built in northern Thai (Lanna) styled architecture, surrounded by tall longan trees, is within easy walking distance of the Night Bazaar, Thapae gate, riverside restaurants along the Ping river, local handicraft shops, and Warorot market. It boasts an inviting residential ambiance that combines an authentic neighborhood vibe with the modern comforts. Baan Orapin is where you will find genuine ambience of a northern Thai home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Baan Orapin Hotel Chiang Mai
Baan Orapin b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing