We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity Now”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 776 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Baan Orapin is a delightful bed and breakfast located near the hustle and bustle of Chiang Mai while maintaining a peaceful ambience. It reminded us of going home to grandma's house without having to deal with the family! The owner has done a wonderful job of keeping up the property in a classic Thai style without compromising on modern-day amenities. We split our stay between a standard room and a suite (once little sister joined the trip). The standard room is quite roomy and would have been a beautiful place for just the two of us. The suite was surprisingly spacious for the price, especially since we've seen small rooms in these areas. The bathrooms are also spacious and clean, so one does not feel cramped and uncomfortable when trying to clean up for a relaxing evening after a day of strolling about town.
The location is on Charoen Rat Rd. just across the river from the old city, a pleasant 15-20 minute walk from all the markets, temples, and dining options that Chiang Mai has to offer. It is actually quite nice to sit at any of the restaurants (we recommend Regina, just a couple minutes heading south on Chaoren Rat) and watch the occasional boat passing or the lights and movements of the Warorot Market.
Breakfast at Baan Orapin is a good way to start the day. Again, sitting on the veranda next to the pool and amidst the tropical garden, we feel very much at home. There are both western and eastern options for breakfast, although we never ordered traditional Thai breakfast in time (day prior). A cup of well-brewed coffee, fresh orange juice, fruit, with eggs and bacon or perhaps fried rice, put enough calories in our system for long days of walking. Ok, we didn't always walk everywhere. The shared taxis around town are a nice option. Just flag down the driver of those covered trucks and explain where you would like to go (a map is indispensable) and expect to pay 20-30 baht for the basic trip. We asked the staff questions frequently at Baan Orapin, and they were very helpful with tips, such as which markets to visit on particular days, which restaurants had the most authentic food, how to get to various landmarks, and where to get our laundry done cheaper (just a couple minutes up the road!) At the end of each day, we were glad to return to Baan Orapin, our Thai home away from home.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GogoTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (756)
There are newer reviews for Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

264 - 270 of 756 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2013

Fantastic B&B. Gorgeous architecture in a fantastic neighborhood. Rooms were beautiful and clean and the staff was attentive and courteous. Easy walking distance to old city and night market. Nearby restaurants that cater to both Thai and Western tastes within easy walking distance. Make sure you walk up the road (away from the night market) and visit the Khao Soi ghetto. Go to Lam Duan--packed with Thai's, it's not easy to get a seat and you have to sort of point your way around the menu, but it's well worth it. Also, the Hinlay curry house is about a five minutes walk and serves up amazing curries. If you're adventurous, go for the ghost pepper curry.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gabriel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This gem of a boutique hotel (B&B) is situation just minutes away from the old city. We did tons of tours out of the hotel, all of them pick you up directly from within the gates. The manager's name is Pepsi - a truly kind hearted man. He provided help any time we needed to confirm our bookings with local companies for tours by calling them on his cell phone.

The staff are working non-stop to keep guests happy and the grounds as spotless as they are. It really was a special stay. My wife and I were thoroughly impressed. The breakfast options are extensive and the coffee is DELICIOUS. Rooms are clean and big. You will experience guaranteed happiness with your stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We were in Chiang Mai for Christmas with our children ages 9 and 11. After reading many reviews on TripAdvisor, we decided to try Baan Orapin. What a dreamy oasis in a busy city! The grounds, house and bungalows are beautiful. We stayed in a two room bungalow near the pool. Our accomodations were so comfortable and roomy, the breakfast served by pool was delicious and the staff was always so friendly. After very busy days visiting elephants, seeing tigers, learning how to cook thai food, it was always so nice to return to Baan Orapin. Tuk tuks are easy to find right outside the door and it's a quick walk over the bridge into town. Great restaurants, shops and cafes are right outside the main gate doors. We'll be back!

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong, but it's probably quieter at the back of the property.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MominBoulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We spent our stay in Chiang Mai at Baan Orapin and we would definitely do it again. The place is outside the city walls, and positioned along the river next to several bars and restaurants. It's also a quick 15 minute walk into the city walls.

The estate is lovely and calm, with colonial-style architecture with lots of teak wood. We stayed in the junior one-bedroom suite and it was very lovely. I'm an early riser, so I could close the door to the bedroom while my wife slept, and not disturb her while watched the news.

The staff was very lovely and pleasant, and very detail-oriented. Breakfast was amazing, western and Thai, and very tranquil next to the swimming pool. They even provided guests Thai candies as a gift for the new year. I would definitely recommend this place to friends, and would return on any future trips to Chiang Mai.

Room Tip: We had the junior one bedroom and it was lovely. Given the price for the place was very affordable...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kyerionp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I am currently sat in Baan Orapin writing this review having read the other reviews. Let's be clear, this is bed and breakfast and not a hotel - so there is no 'reception'. Throughout our travels in Thailand we have manged, but in nearly every hotel, resturant, taxi or tuk tuk there has been a slight language barrier. My Thai is none existent but their English is 10 times better than probably the majority of those making average reviews on this B&B (in response to the negative comment from another reviewer).

The property is set back away from the main 'hub bub' of the city, but still in close proximity to the city that you can walk or take a short tuk tuk ride. One word of advise be clear with your driver that he/she knows where you want to go, show them your tourist map if necessary and agree a price before you get in.

You enter Baan Orapin through a gate or small door way into a traditional Thai style property, which is well kept. There are several small dwellings on the plot and we stayed in the one at the rear of the property. We had a large living area with tea/coffee facilities and mini bar (which is very cheap), there is a tv and a lovely bench style seat with mosquito net plus a small balcony. Then through some double doors into the bedroom with a four poster Thai style bed again with mosquito net. The bathroom had a shower, toilet (obviously) and basin with plenty of room for my wife's toiletries!

The room was clean, the garden well manicured and the staff very polite (although the majority of staff do not speak fluent English, this wasn't a problem for us). This is a calm little haven, a stones throw from the city and one we would highly recommend. Thank you to Pepsi and Opas for making our visit to Chiang Mai that little bit more authentic.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank sbjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This place was great. Right when you pull up you can tell it isnt an ordinary hotel. The staff was very friendly and everything had a personal feel to it. Breakfast was cook to order right by the pool. The rooms were VERY spacious for a small price. I enjoyed the fact we were right nest to the city center so everything was a walk away for the most part. I am not a fan of hotels do this worked out great!

Room Tip: Just get a regular room. no need to upgrade.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LivingtheDream241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.6 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#13 of 387 in Chiang Mai
2,092 reviews
1.4 mi away
BED Phrasingh
BED Phrasingh
#4 of 387 in Chiang Mai
766 reviews
1.6 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 387 in Chiang Mai
2,421 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast

Address: 150 Charoenraj Road, | Wat Gate,, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 776 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $36 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Orapin, built in northern Thai (Lanna) styled architecture, surrounded by tall longan trees, is within easy walking distance of the Night Bazaar, Thapae gate, riverside restaurants along the Ping river, local handicraft shops, and Warorot market. It boasts an inviting residential ambiance that combines an authentic neighborhood vibe with the modern comforts. Baan Orapin is where you will find genuine ambience of a northern Thai home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Baan Orapin b&b
Baan Orapin Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing