We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect oasis of calm”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 777 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I stayed in Baan Orapin Bed & Breakfast for 6 nights and had a lovely, relaxing stay. The Junior Suite (at the back) was tastefully decorated, clean and a good size. The pool and the lovely garden is well maintained. Many choices available for breakfast which is freshly made. If you like to order something special from the menu listed, such as the local Chiang Mai breakfast, you need to order a day in advance. Suggest you try it once, it's yummy! Staff were helpful and polite. The whole place was a wonderful oasis of calm in the bustly city which is Chiang Mai these days. Would highly recommend. p.s. Do bear in mind that it is a B&B so no other meals available.

Room Tip: Rooms/suites at the back are quieter.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nomad88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (756)
There are newer reviews for Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

271 - 277 of 756 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

Husband and i had the pleasure of staying at Baan Orapin for a glorious 4 night's. We stayed in suite 2 which was very spacious. The room had a dining room table, lounge with day bed, balcony, four poster bed and a bathroom with a shower. The breakfast was delicious and of a good quality. I especially enjoyed the French toast. The coffee was great too! If you are looking for a convenient location, comfortable and spacious accommodation, and a hearty breakfast to get you going for the day then look no further! Thanks to Pepsi for being so welcoming and for giving us such great tips on what to see in Chiang Mai. We will be back!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank ReneSol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Great location, nice breakfast and sweet staff. Someone was sent to pick me up from the airport and welcomed me upon arrival. It is in a great location, within walking distance to restaurants, temples, night bazaar and Sunday walking street. The grounds make you feel as if you are staying in the middle of a garden oasis, and the rooms are super comfortable and decorated Thai style. I couldn't have asked for a better introduction to Chiang Mai.

Room Tip: I stayed in two different rooms and loved them both.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dancingobroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

A fantastic B&B.
Chiang Mai is a busy and noisy city, however, Baan Orapin B&B lets you be in the middle of the action, while resting in a restful and peaceful oasis,. The garden surrounding the bedrooms is magical with beautiful flowers and trees. Every morning, the pet rabbit waited in front of our door to be petted. Many attractions are within walking distance, the Sunday market offers unique and original art, worth to buy. The Sunday market,is located around many beautiful temples, I would suggest to visit the temples first since some of them close around 6pm.
The owner had arrange a taxis to pick us up at the airport, his staff was very helpful and greated us warmly. The breakfast, served around the pool, is great, just a little slow, if you have booked a tour, just make sure you leave plenty of time for breakfast.
We will definitly return to this little gem.

George & Danielle

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the garden are quieter
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tsoklis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Baan Orapin really is a gem. I stayed here with my girlfirend for 4 nights in November 2012. I booked directly through the website and was given advice on taxi prices from the airport prior to our arrival. We booked a junior suite in the rear wing.

We arrived early morning and were warmly greeted by the owners who took us through the paperwork and stored our luggage. We were given a map and told the best route into town. They advised that our room would be ready for us ahead of schedule. We set of to explore the city. It is a good 25/30 min walk to the main city gate, but lots of little shops/cafes to get lost in on the way! Only a few mins into town by tuk tuk and it was easy enough to hail one on the road outside Baan Orapin.

We checked into our room and our luggage was there for us. The room was lovely! Very traditional wooden style furnishings, hairdryer, safe, air con, shower gel, shampoo, fridge and mini bar (cheap prices!) Pool towels were available FOC by the pool. Of an evening they would come and light incense on our little porch.

We had breakfast by the pool each morning and it was freshly prepared with a good choice of cooked/non cooked. The staff were so humble and friendly. The whole place had a sense of clam and peacefulness. We did not hear any traffic noise from our room. The grounds are beautifully kept and the staff are always working away. The pool is very refreshing after the humidity of the city.

It was an easy 15 min walk to the huge night market...a must see! Some nice restuarants line the riverside, just along from Baan Orapin. We recommend Deck 1 for a nice evening meal, they do get busy though!

On the morning of our last night, the owners told us about a huge Budhist festival about 45min out of town. They had arranged a taxi for the two of the guests and they offered us the last two spaces. We were so glad they told us. The festival was amazing, and the sight of thousands of chinese lanterns drifting up into the night sky is something I will never forget. It was a warm up for Loy Krathong, well worth the taxi ride if you get the chance. The driver waited in the same spot for us so we found him easily but it was very busy getting out!

On our return back to the guest house, the owners met us by torchlight as there was a power cut. They saw us to our room and lit candles for us. It only lasted half an hour but their concern for the guests was genuine. Some of the other guests were visiting Baan Orapin for a second time, so that truly is a measure of how good this place is.

This was my favourite city accomodation during our 3 week trip in Thailand.
Our room was on the main walkway through the grounds and although we were not disturbed by any noise, the curtains do not really cover the whole of the windows...lots of gaps! But that is the only constructive feedback I would like to mention.

5 out of 5 for the gorgeous Baan Orapin and the wonderful staff!

Room Tip: Junior suite in the rear wing, set back off the main road. No noise pollution.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Previous reviewers say it all really. Baan Orapin is located in a great location by the river with lots of lovely restaurants within walking distance and close enough to town and night bazaar to walk.

Upon arrival we were given a map of the town and recommended eating places, would highly recommend Reginas, the gallery and the riverside.

Staff were fantastic, breakfast lovely, would gladly stay again!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gigglybebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Everything about Baan Orapin is wonderful......even the pet white rabbit ! Opas and his staff exude true Thai friendliness and their service is impeccable. We stayed for one week and loved every moment....yes, the other reviews say it all. One suggestion - although breakfast is beautifully prepared and served and the choices are certainly adequate the menu does become a little 'restricted' feeling if one is staying more than three or four days - this is not really a big problem, just a 'selfish' reaction on my part !

Room Tip: All the rooms looked good to me.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.6 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#12 of 388 in Chiang Mai
2,092 reviews
1.4 mi away
BED Phrasingh
BED Phrasingh
#4 of 388 in Chiang Mai
766 reviews
1.6 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#9 of 388 in Chiang Mai
2,420 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast

Address: 150 Charoenraj Road, | Wat Gate,, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 777 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $36 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Orapin, built in northern Thai (Lanna) styled architecture, surrounded by tall longan trees, is within easy walking distance of the Night Bazaar, Thapae gate, riverside restaurants along the Ping river, local handicraft shops, and Warorot market. It boasts an inviting residential ambiance that combines an authentic neighborhood vibe with the modern comforts. Baan Orapin is where you will find genuine ambience of a northern Thai home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Baan Orapin b&b
Baan Orapin Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing