We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful place, great location”
Review of Yaang Come Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Yaang Come Village
Ranked #40 of 392 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2014

A local friend suggested this place for our family trip (2 adults, 2 teen kids). We booked the 'family room', which is two connected rooms. Not guest-house cheap, but affordable at a little over US$200 per night for 2 rooms and 2 bathrooms. The place has lovely architecture, with a great open feel to it. The location cannot be beat, a few blocks away from the daily night bazaar and a 5 min tuk tuk ride into the old city. The pool is really lovely and very very swimmer and kid-friendly with deep and shallow areas. The two knocks I have on them are the breakfast and their spa. We have been to 5 hotels in Bangkok and Myanmar during this trip and this is the worst breakfast of them all. The selection is very limited and the service is pretty bad. This morning we were alone in the dining area and the 4 waiters were standing in a corner chatting away. Had to ask for tea, coffee, etc every time and we felt we were interrupting their conversations. On the spa, their 60-minute massage was about 5X the price of very similar places literally 30 meters away. Maybe their spa has nicer facilities, but hard to justify such a big price difference. In general, the place is amazing, and if they improved on the breakfast selection and service, I would definitely give it 5 stars

Room Tip: The family room is 111 and it is great for 2 adults and 2 grown kids!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabriel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (961)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

246 - 252 of 961 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

From pulling of the Main Street into the quiet side entrance it looked impressive. The welcome that we received was great, no rush and everything explained and a pocket sized map given to make sure we didn't get lost.

The room was wonderful, had an issue with the air conditioning not working but that was fixed in a very prompt manner.

The surroundings are great and you feel like your in your own little rain Forrest. The pool was great, too warm in our opinion.

The only thing that let it down in my opinion was the service in the restaurant, it was slow and not overly helpful. For breakfast there are eggs but it's not made clear whether you make your own or what, we asked on the 2nd day but it was not offered.

Reception is wonderful and the ladies there are only too willing to help and always polite.

Loved the hotel and not too far away from the huge night markets.

Stayed: June 2014
3  Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

i have stayed at Yaang Come Village in Chiang Mai many times. The deluxe rooms offer better views of the property than superior, but all are excellent! The beds are firn, but not hard and I always sleep well.

It is a short five to ten minute walk to the night bazaar, shopping, restaurants and massages.

the staff go out of their way to assist, and the front desk staff speak excellent English. the on-site restaurant has excellent dinner at a fair price (avoid the restaurant Whole Earth next door).

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WhereUg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in June. We arrived late in the evening but check-in was quick and efficient. The Superior room was spotless and quite large. We settled in for the evening and found the channel selection good. This is not always the case at smaller hotels in Thailand. The TV was surprisingly small in size, maybe 20". The bed was a true queen-size, very clean and the typical Thai hard bed.

In the morning we were treated to the view of the truly beautiful grounds; similar to Bali but not quite. Breakfast was ample and delicious with a large selection of bread and fruit but with lesser choices of other selections. The restaurant grounds near the pool is absolutely beautiful and spending a day here relaxing would be an excellent choice.

At one point in our stay we needed help with our logistics and the front desk reception went out of tree way to help. They were so helpful and pleasant in the very best of Thai tradition.
Thank you ladies for your help!

We highly recommend the Yaang Come and would recommend it to anyone visiting Chiang Mai.

Room Tip: Great central location....an easy walk to the center of town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Banuwati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Not a horrible place to stay but for the price we expected better. The grounds a beautiful and the rooms are pleasant but there's enough niggles to put me off going back. Air con broke down and was leaking quite badly. One member of staff came to have a look, pressed some buttons and said "fixed". It wasn't. He seemed a bit short when I asked him to come back. He then said he'd have to get an engineer. It was after midnight and we wanted to sleep so I asked about moving rooms. We were told there were "no more rooms". There were. We'd only seen 3 other parties staying at the hotel. 10 minutes later we were in a new room. The next day we were up early for an excursion and we were asked to move our bags to the new room as we weren't allowed 2 rooms. I tried explaining it was their problem but the language barrier meant it was easier just to change rooms. We were then told we were missing two towels. We weren't. I told them we hadn't taken any towels out of the room and then they checked again and said they were mistaken. I'm getting sick of my own complaints so very quickly, the breakfast is poor, there's a building site next door and we were asked to pay again after complaining a gin and tonic was flat. I'd be fine with all of this if we were paying less for our stay, which was nearly £80/night

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShaunNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

I chose this hotel for its combination of entral location and gardens with pool. For tihs it was perfect. Once inside the grounds you feel miles away from the busy streets. My 'superior' room was large, spotless, usually quiet and very comfortable, The staff proved extremely helpful with special requests and booking activities. The hotel is taking steps to control its mosquito problem. On request they sprayed my room and provided a zapper lamp. As a result I didn't suffer at all.
.
Travelling alone, I felt safe walking back at night. The old city is a 15-20 minute walk or 20bht in a red songathew (more in a taxi or tuk tuk). What makes this hotel shine are the friendly caring staff and beautiful surroundings/pool, its local character and small touches like providing drinking water and fruit. The reason for not giving five stars was that some details were overlooked -- dead mosquitoes on the walls of my room, average breakfast and weak water pressure in the bathroom (water not enough to use the bathtub). . The airport driver also didn't show up to meet my flight, but this could have been a communication problem. Overall my experience at Yanng Come greatly enhanced my stay in Chiang Mai. I would definitley stay again.

Check prices online, which may be cheaper than booking directly. If you plan to be at the hotel much during the day, you may want to note that there's construction work nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carpediem70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

My wife and I were booked here for 3 nights by our travel agency Journeys Within and found it to be a very comfortable hotel far enough off of the busy street to be very pleasant and quiet. The pool was great after long days of sightseeing in the area.

The breakfast room adjacent to the pool was also good. Not a very large assortment of food, but good coffee and juices and enough of a variety to satisfy both eastern and western tastes.

There is also a very good restaurant with an extensive menu and a good wine list next door.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AhabofLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.2 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.7 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#32 of 392 in Chiang Mai
989 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#36 of 392 in Chiang Mai
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#29 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,214 reviews
0.6 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#35 of 392 in Chiang Mai
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yaang Come Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yaang Come Village

Address: 90/3 Sridonchai Rd | Changkhlan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#28 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#28 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $121 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Yaang Come Village 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yaang Come Village boasts of Thai architectural buildings amidst verdant greens which shelter various exotic birds and squirrels. It is truly an oasis of beauty surrounded by an ever-increasing area of new high rise hotels. The hotel embodies the charm and elegance of its picturesque surroundings. The traditional Lanna ambiance engulfs you into a peaceful retreat. Guests are ushered in with warm and friendly hospitality. Exceptional accommodation facilities make memorable stay for both business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yaang Come Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yaang Come Village Hotel Chiang Mai
Yaang Come Village Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing