We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A serene oasis in the heart of the city”
Review of Yaang Come Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Yaang Come Village
Ranked #44 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A serene oasis in the heart of the city”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We loved this charming hotel, build in the form of small villas surrounded by lush tropical gardens. Being greeted with tea and refreshing towels by traditionally dressed staff in the open air lobby really set the tone for our stay in Chiang Mai. Perfect location for exploring the city, just steps away from the bustling night bazaar. Excellent value for money! We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Urska800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    224
    61
    27
    20
See reviews for
244
397
44
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Yaang Come Village is a lovely hotel to look at. And your time there will be wonderful if what the front desk receptionist says is true: "Maybe one or two mosquitoes in your room." In my room, however, there were about 50 mosquitoes when we arrived, and this put a major damper on my experience.

My girlfriend and I employed insect spray, some sort of vase with a light in it and a type of electrified tennis racket for swatting, all provided by the hotel, and a mosquito net, which we bought to cover our bed, in an effort to get the upper hand on the annoying bugs. Who wants to spend vacation time killing mosquitoes? There were so many in our room that sometimes we'd just wave the electrified tennis racket randomly, without targeting any mosquitoes, and end up zapping and killing one or two of them. We theorized that the cleaning people leave the doors open when they're making the beds and so forth.

Other than that, the hotel is in a convenient location; the food at the restaurant was good throughout the day, but the service was slow; the pool and poolside area were very nice and clean; help from the front desk staff was hit or miss, some people very helpful, others inattentive and careless (such as the woman who wouldn't talk to a thai-speaking taxi driver for us and rudely handed us the phone and another woman who insisted she had sent a driver to pick us up at the airport even though she hadn't); the hotel did a fairly good job helping us arrange tours to play with tigers at Tiger Kingdom, ride elephants, see temples and drift down a dirty river on a bamboo raft.

I'd recommend this hotel overall, provided you have a tolerance for some moderate nuisances. If you want a perfect, pampered hotel experience, though, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Travel with bug spray and be prepared to use it the minute you get to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dino H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA, USA
Level Contributor
187 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

This hotel is outside of the old city and close to the night market. It is set back from the road and gives you a feeling of calm and quiet once you walk in. The grounds are beautifully covered with tropical foliage. The rooms are spread out in several buildings around the pool. The room we had wasn't luxurious (though it is called deluxe) but quite nice. The breakfast is good, especially if you sit there outdoor early in the morning. I couldn't get into Tamarind Village but Yaang Come wasn't a bad alternative.

Room Tip: There is some construction going on in the back, so try to get a room near the front office of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AllanChg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

The decor is very nice and rooms spacious but the we're lacking amenities that did not make sense like a circa 1980s television with minimal reception. The staff was disconnected we counted five people gossiping and standing around in the dining room while people had to get their own drinks while sitting around the pool. Overall beautiful but not personable.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We were told by the lady who met us with our airport transfer that the Yaang Come Village was a "little bit special" and it certainly was. Excellent big clean rooms within a tranquil courtyard setting a decent way back from the road but close enough to the old city, night market and local restaurants to be within easy walking range. It is a bit of a shame that there is no evening atmosphere or bar for a nightcap but there is plenty of that nearby. All in all it ticked the right boxes for us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gumbo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunssum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Beautiful. This will be the recurring word in this review. Every single thing in this hotel was beautiful.

Driving to the hotel from the airport, we would never have expected what we finally saw. The whole place looks like a tropical island paradise, except that it is located right at the beginning of the main street that has all the restaurants, shops and night bazaar. The reception is al fresco, charming, and so are the receptionists, dressed in traditional attire, and smiling and friendly at all times.

Walking to the rooms was just beautiful. Past the cyan blue pool, palm trees (each with an orchid growing from the stem), and many other tropical flowering plants. Even singing birds and squirrels have made this place their home.

The rooms are simply amazingly beautiful. Made up like a traditional Lanna house and decorated with beautiful local objects, each of which is for sale and can be purchased as a souvenir. There are just no words to describe the rooms (and even though they are described as rooms while booking, they are really setup like villas).

The breakfast buffet is not huge but has a nice selection of local and western food to please everybody's taste. The restaurant menu is rich and versatile, reasonably priced, and ample amounts. Oh, and very very tasty!

The laundry service is to be recommended as well! Not only do the clothes come back clean, and ironed, but also neatly folded and every item separately packed in little transparent pouches. The dry cleaning service is to be recommended as well, so bring your expensive gowns and tuxedos! ;-)

Unfortunately we did not have the time to visit the spa, the reason being that there is a full catalog with organized tours. Even though they are not exactly cheap, there is amazing value for money. Comfortable AC vans, complementary (most of the time chilled) drinking water and cooling towels, knowledgeable guide and good driver are part of every package. Day tours (morning or afternoon, as you please) and night tours (starting from 6 PM) are available. We did the temple and museum tour of the old city, the Khantoke dinner (dance show and traditionnal dinner), Craft village tour and Night safari. Except for the dinner show, for which we had to settle for a cheaper package (since the nice one was cancelled due to rain) each tour was amazing.

A stone's throw away from the hotel are numerous very clean and beautifully organized night markets (very suitable for souvenir shopping if you spend your days sight seeing).The local handicrafts are truly beautiful and reasonably priced (especially compared to Bangkok, which is a huge scam and tourist trap).

Good news for smokers, each room has a small private porch to smoke.

In summary, we are definitely going to visit again, and can only give the place our highest recommendation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnweshaBohler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed in there during my trip in Chiang Mai last week, we had the deluxe room. The room size was good and I really liked the bathroom which was spacious, also the hotel is in a quite part of town. However, I was very disappointed by the following:

- I will start with the worst part: As we were checking out and with our cab for the airport waiting, the girl at the reception won't let us go until they had the room checked for any missing items, so we were kept waiting as another person was checking our room thoroughly. I travel a lot, for work and for pleasure and NEVER have I had a similar humiliating experience in a hotel and I have stayed at pretty expensive ones before. this made me so angry, especially given the cost of the deluxe room and how much we have spent at that place.
-the breakfast left a lot to be desired, very limited, the coffee was over-burnt, the juice was not fresh... the banana pancakes were ok. I ended up having breakfast at Cafe de l'amour, a coffee shop/breakfast place nearby.

A friend recommended the place and I was expecting a lot from it, I left with a bad taste and I won't be coming back. For what the hotel costs, I expected much better service!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tralaloula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.5 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#11 of 381 in Chiang Mai
2,060 reviews
2.2 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.7 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 381 in Chiang Mai
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#31 of 381 in Chiang Mai
946 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#26 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yaang Come Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yaang Come Village

Property: Yaang Come Village
Address: 90/3 Sridonchai Rd | Changkhlan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#28 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#30 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Yaang Come Village 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yaang Come Village boasts of Thai architectural buildings amidst verdant greens which shelter various exotic birds and squirrels. It is truly an oasis of beauty surrounded by an ever-increasing area of new high rise hotels. The hotel embodies the charm and elegance of its picturesque surroundings. The traditional Lanna ambiance engulfs you into a peaceful retreat. Guests are ushered in with warm and friendly hospitality. Exceptional accommodation facilities make memorable stay for both business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yaang Come Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yaang Come Village Hotel Chiang Mai
Yaang Come Village Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing