We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful restaurant on the river!”

The Edge Chiang Mai
Ranked #703 of 2,723 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Price range: $2 - $4
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: A local chill/hangout area with a great outdoor garden along the river. Nicely priced fruity cocktail delights, wine and beer. A marvellous space to hire for events. Usually for social gatherings and occasionally has food on offer. Live bands and markets are also on here from time to time.
Reviewed July 24, 2015

The Edge is a fantastic restaurant! I came here for my first time on a Wednesday when they have a 60 baht wine special and board games! The owner Lauren immediately came over to our table and was incredibly friendly to us. The Edge feels almost like eating at home in your backyard on a nice summer evening. I was so happy with my first visit to the Edge that I decided to celebrate my birthday there the following week. It was wonderful! Lauren was super accommodating and all my friends had a blast! The food is also amazing! I definitely recommend the panang!

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank lkmills
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 59 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2015 via mobile

What an awesome location, right on the riverside you can't go wrong. The atmosphere, food & service is great!
Sunday Sessions with DJ's & bands is the perfect way to spend a lazy afternoon!
The Burgerholic van can be spotted there too, serving up variations of burgers.

Be there or be square!

Date of visit: July 2015
3  Thank Leanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2015 via mobile

This is a lovely restaurant right by the river but you may have a few problems with finding it. If you have a map you would be advised to show the restaurant location to your tuk tuk driver.

Having located the restaurant my wife and I were greeted warmly by Lauren who seated us and offered us cocktails. I chose an apple mint cocktail and my partner chose a blue river drink, both of which were really good.

We chose to share a papaya salad, which was delicious and not too spicy. My wife then ordered sweet and sour vegetables with pork while I had the yellow noodles with chicken. Absolutely fantastic food, very tasty with good quality ingredients.

We had a few more cocktails then paid the reasonable bill.

Well worth finding this little gem!

Date of visit: July 2015
3  Thank Sam_Moore1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2015 via mobile

After finding this gem on a map of Chiang Mai we found this fantastic restaurant along the river. Although the taxi driver had issues finding it once there it's totally worth it. Friendly staff, great cocktails and amazing food at unbelievable value totally recommend this place!!

Date of visit: July 2015
2  Thank Hobbit1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2015

Great little place on the river. It is perhaps a little tricky to find but we didn't have too much trouble really - its right near the fruit and vegetable markets.
Very friendly owner who was lovely to have a chat with. Nice food and drinks menu and great to have some contemporary music for a change.
We really enjoyed this place either for a casual meal or just for a few drinks - its a great little find and I would definitely recommend it.

Date of visit: June 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank JulieH6061
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Edge Chiang Mai also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to The Edge Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.