We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”
Review of Viangbua Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Viangbua Mansion
Ranked #93 of 388 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I stayed at Viang Bua Mansíon some time ago and liked it. It is a bit pricy and old style, but it has STYLE, charm and calm.

I had a spacious corner apartment which was clean and really nice. I saw another room which was smaller and more simple. I will recommend the bigger rooms.

The staff was smiling and very helpful.

The GYM had a treadmill and a few dumbbells and that's it.... wouldn't call it a gym though.

The food is nice, but around the corner there is a market where you can buy the most tasty food for almost no money.

It is a bit out of the town center so you need to rent a motorbike. Or be prepared for other kind of transportation

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Søren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 158 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed here last month, having decided to give it a try after recommendation from friends who stayed here before. It is located outside the old city centre, which means either a long walk to, or a red-bus "taxi" or tuk-tuk ride to get to "the moat" which surrounds the old city is located.
The establishment is well maintained, clean, and well-run.They had records of my booking and had no problems with my checking-in before the official 2 pm time (I e-mailed before-hand to ask if it is ok to be there before 12 pm).

I had booked a one-bedroom apartment which is very spacious, comes with a kitchenette ( a microwave, 2 electric cooking "rings",pot and pan, cutlery, an electric water kettle, a big fridge, and 2 tv's (one flat-screen in the sitting room area, and one old box tv in the bedroom). It is spacious, with room for dinning area, sitting area, and the bedroom is huge with plenty of storage, not to mention the large bathroom with a separate glassed in shower, on one side, and a big bath on the opposite side, and a separate w.c.

A word of caution about hot water shower: not sure what the reason is, but the shower water takes a long while to heat, and then it comes suddenly in a big hot flow for several seconds before it starts all over again. It is also not possible to regulate the temperature of the water.

There are 2 airco's - one in the living and dinning area, the other is in the bedroom. I did not turn them on as the room temperature suits me fine. I did hear however, the rumbling noise of the air-co in the apartment next door. There is also a noise factor, that is I could hear my neighbour-guests opening and closing wardrobe doors, and when they are talking to each other.

House-keeping is efficient, done on a daily basis, and 2 bottles of water per day are placed in the fridge, which is handy for when one returns to the apartment. Breakfast is complimentary for short stay guests (on daily or up to a week's stay) . Longer than a week ? - you are on your own. The small restaurant serves breakfast and lunch (but closed from around 3 pm). We had sandwiches and Thai food which are well prepared. They do very good omelette and fried rice or noodles.

There are many elderly expats (westerners) as guests, many staying long term, and they are rather decent and quiet folks.Thus this is more a place for those who wish to be away from the touristic places and action-centred old city. The location does provide a taste for local rural life, with a big and colorful wet market nearby, several eateries serving local and western dishes and reasonable prices lower than in the city, a few laundry places (cheap and reliable, doing wash and ironing ) steps away from the hotel, if you do not use the washing machines in the hotel for DIY laundry.

In summary, I am very satisfied with the hotel, in terms of the spacious and well-kept apartment, the way my booking was handled, the good house-keeping, available laundry and eating facilities and quiet location. I do not mind having to walk into the city, do not mind the staff not speaking good English, and do not miknd not having swimming pool.

Room Tip: You should tell them - when booking - if you prefer twin beds or a double bed room, to avoid having...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Silverlucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at Viangbua Mansion in November 2013. We chose this place based on recommendations from trip advisor and we weren't disappointed. Whilst the hotel is a 10 minute drive from the old city, there are several markets and restaurants close to Viangbua that are nice to check out. The main road is only a 2 minute walk, where you can hail a red taxi to the old city or Night Bazaar market. The rooms are very spacious and clean, lots of cupboards and a full size fridge. The bathroom was clean, shower nice and air conditioning effective. The room and hotel in general was very peaceful, with not much noise or traffic, so slept well.

The staff at the reception were always very helpful and willing to answer any questions we had regarding tours on offer or general travel info regarding Chiang Mai.

I recommend this hotel if it's in the vicinity of the activities you're after.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank savvytraveller358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Viangbua Mansion is a 10 minute drive from the old city, but is a 5 minute walk from a local market which offers plenty of food options. The staff were very helpful for all our enquiries such as tours, travel options and general directions. The rooms are large, with lots of cupboards. A full sized fridge, bathroom and good air conditioning. There is a cheap self-service laundry area that only costs around 40 baht per load. To get a tuktuk or a red taxi, you might have to take a 2 minute walk toward the main road. For dinner, another nearby food option is Nu's Place which is right beside the hotel.Overall, it was a good experience. We'd stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bushid0kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I recently had my third stay at Viangbua, and, as usual, it was superlative. The rooms are large, clean, and comfortable. The included breakfast is generous, and quite tasty, with a nice selection. The staff is friendly, competent, and helpful. The location, although slightly distant from the old city and the moat road (perhaps a ten minute walk), is convenient, with pretty much anything you would need within walking distance. I had a small problem with the safe in my room, and the manager attended to it herself, with an excellent attitude, and was quick, courteous, and more than helpful. I highly recommend Viangbua. It is an excellent value for the price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Spent a whole week here and would go back in heartbeat! The two sisters (A & Off) that run the hotel are first rate and they can assist you with almost anything. We had a king bedded room on the 6th floor with a view of the mountain. The room was basic, but had everything we needed. The bed was firm, there was a TV and rattan love seat in the "lounge" side of the room and they have plenty of storage space. There is a decent sized fridge as well. The bathroom has a shower, no tub, but all was kept clean with the daily maid service. They give you 2 bottles of Chang Spring water daily and they offer more bottled water (and other refreshments for sale) in the lobby. Our rate included breakfast daily and they offer 6 choices of a set breakfast menu from the extremely friendly waitresses. The coffee bar off the lobby was great and I thoroughly enjoyed a daily iced coffee from the smiling guy that mans the counter. The manager, "A" helped us arrange a car and driver twice during our stay at a very reasonable rate. Her sister "Off" was very helpful in trying to get us flights. There are many American ex-pats that frequent the hotel, so you will feel very much at home. This hotel offers 5 star service at a very reasonable rate.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leftyonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed here for 3 weeks and enjoyed our stay.

I can understand some other comments, it must have been a most wonderful place once, but the neighborhood is a bit of a hassle nowadays. There are construction works going on in the opposite building (they should be done in a few months, though) and there is quite some traffic at night. But.. this is true for most areas in Chiang Mai.

There are some very good reasons why I recommend this hotel
- the staff (everybody, from the cleaning women to the manager) is incredible friendly and helpful
- rooms are spacious and clean, well furnished
- lobby is nice and breakfast ok, every story has its own wifi
- value for the price is unbeatable

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Markoff_Chainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Chiang Mai
Mercure Chiang Mai
#71 of 388 in Chiang Mai
1,020 reviews
0.7 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#26 of 388 in Chiang Mai
681 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Wipanan Residence
The Grand Wipanan Residence
#117 of 388 in Chiang Mai
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Peaberry
The Peaberry
#18 of 388 in Chiang Mai
259 reviews
2.1 mi away
Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel
Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel
#156 of 388 in Chiang Mai
1,010 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Opium Serviced Apartment & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viangbua Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viangbua Mansion

Address: 3/1 Viangbua Road | Chang Puek, Muang, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
#42 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $0 - $1 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Viangbua Mansion 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viangbua Mansion Serviced Apartment - Chiang Mai, Thailand. Long-stay Serviced Apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Viangbua Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viangbua Mansion Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing