We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Recommended”
Review of Viangbua Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Viangbua Mansion
Ranked #79 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not Recommended”
Reviewed December 21, 2011

No way can I recommend Vianbua Mansion, nor would I stay at the place again. It is located in a dirt road side street off a main road well away from any central location. The road immediately outside the Viagbua Mansion has no sidewalk/pavement: hence dangerous to walk along as there are always fast moving vehicles especially motor bikes driving at speed up and down the road.

The Viagbua Mansion web site does not accurately reflect the truth about the place. I stayed in a so called deluxe room on the side of the building with what was meant to be a living room, kitchen area and bedroom.
But the living room is just a widened corridor leading to a kitchen top with a sink and some kitchen appliances plus a fridge. The room has one small window which provides insufficient lighting for the room.
Quite frankly I am sure there are prison cells that have bigger windows then there are at Viagbua!
The bedroom is worse as there is no window and thus no natural light coming into the room. And the bathroom is en suite leading with a door the other side and a tiny balcony.
To be able to see in the bedroom its necessary to turn on the lights at all times.
It seems to me whoever designed Viagbua Mansion was not a westerner but an Asian who erroneously thinks they know what western travellers want: hence the odd layout and shape of the rooms in the place and the lack of natural daylight.
The furniture and furnishings in Viagbua Mansion are old and tatty and the web site fails to convey that.
Viagbua Mansion claims to be a service apartment yet the small restaurant closes down every day at 3pm and thereafter if at all there is no room service.
The breakfast on offer if included in the price is a fried egg with processed meats like a hot dog juice, fruit, toast and tea or coffee.
The room cleaning was adequate though I did find a mumified insect on the bedroom carpet. The laundry service is slow.
There is an exercise room the the premises which I never saw being used.
The place uses a key card system for the room and the lift though many people were having problems with it when i was there as as insert in slot system is used when a touch screen would be better.
The staff at the hotel gave me the impression they want to do as little as possible and do not wish the engage with guests . Often in the evenings the reception desk is not manned though in a side room one can see staff resting or playing computer games.

All in all I found the Viagbua a dowdy dreary unprofessional place, where I will never stay ever again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank navigator294217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    74
    12
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
59
46
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

Clean, great location, pleasant staff, nice breakfast---will stay there again next year!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bneedell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koh Tao, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Having just flown up from Bangkok staying at the Rambuttri Village for 1250 per night, the much nicer and bigger room at Viengbua for 900 inc. breakfast was a very nice moral booster on our arrival day here.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelKohTao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

So, the postives: lovely reception area, staff with excellent English, spotlessly clean rooms, good value.

The negatives: it is a long way from the long distance bus station (approx 4/5km) and a good 15/20 minute walk north of the old city (although you can easily catch a taxi if you wish and barter a decent price).

Basically this is a nice place, but for me the lack of atmosphere and charm let it down a bit. It just didn't feel authentically and charmingly Thai as with so many other places we stayed in diferent cities. If that isn't a concern for you then I'm sure you could do a whole lot worse than here!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ExplorerAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Great place to stay. A 5-10 minute to the night bazaar, Saturday or Sunday market. There is a local red taxi car driver who waits outside the hotel- he is absolutely the nicest guy ever! One night, he took us to a restaurant and it was closed, he took us to another and even would wait for us and pick us up after dinner. We paid him 100 baht (which is probably a little too much) but he was so nice. He even ran to help us put the bags in the van when we were leaving!
Go to The Spirit Houses, across the street, ASAP! The food was great and the whole atmosphere and decor of the place is amazing!! The owner couldn't be nicer. We felt so stupid for finally going the day before we left. It would have been great to talk with the owner and get recommendations from the beginning. He also has an amazing story.

The hotel service was phenomenal- especially for the price. The staff were so kind and helpful. They let us store our luggage in their office on 2 occasions and wrote the names of places in Thai for us in case the taxi driver didn't understand us. We would LOVE to stay there again if we ever came back. GREAT value for your money!

The rooms were really nice- and even had a TV area. The breakfast was not a buffet but was still good. They gave you fruit, tea or coffee and you choose the meal- waffle, egg sandwich and I forget the third option.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nwasilus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed at the mansion for 5 nights. The staff was extremely nice. Place was very clean. Rooms were perfect for 2 people, and included a small sitting area. Great rate. They even let us switch one of our reservation to another night when we decided to go to chaing rai last minute and volunteered to hold our bags for us. The hotel is a bit outside the city but it only cost 100 baht for our family of four to get into the city. Great cheap local market around the corner. Would definately stay here again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank swasilus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Douglas, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

My wife and I stayed for a month at Viangbua Mansion in Chiang Mai. We were a little wary after not enjoying Bangkok but all our fears were allayed virtually as soon as we walked through the front door. Reception staff were welcoming (and remained friendly and helpful over the 30 days-spending a not inconsiderable time answering our questions about the way of life here, cultural differences, how to find tourist destinations etc ).
Our apartment was spacious and located with a view from the 7th floor. A hot plate, microwave, fridge and urn allowed us to self cater when we wished. Being serviced 3 times a week meant the apartment was always clean and tidy. The housekeepers were pleasant and hardworking. Perhaps the only improvement would be an updated TV.
In the area is a market (where in Thailand isn't there one?), several restaurants, cafes and coffee shops that provide a variety of food that is always cheap. Our favourite was Spirit House virtually across the road where the specials menu changed every week and both Thai and Western foods were available. Steve was a gracious and knowledgeable host.
The perhaps unofficial taxi driver across the road loves and cares for his car. He is a cautious driver and we always felt safe with him whether it was on the mountainous road to Doi Suthep or around the city in the crazy traffic.
Visit one of the elephant farms, Tiger Kingdom was interesting-although I haven't made up my mind about the ethics of their organisation-and the snake farm was interesting.
We took the opportunity to use the services of Grace Dental 10 minutes away for excellent dental work.
Finally, it is the people who work at Viangbua thta make it what it is and the place is a credit to manager "A".

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the mountains are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AussieOseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grand Wipanan Residence
The Grand Wipanan Residence
#118 of 383 in Chiang Mai
64 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
#48 of 383 in Chiang Mai
549 reviews
0.7 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#24 of 383 in Chiang Mai
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Napatra Hotel
Napatra Hotel
#97 of 383 in Chiang Mai
81 reviews
2.1 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,386 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Opium Serviced Apartment & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viangbua Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viangbua Mansion

Property: Viangbua Mansion
Address: 3/1 Viangbua Road | Chang Puek, Muang, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
#42 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Viangbua Mansion 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viangbua Mansion Serviced Apartment - Chiang Mai, Thailand. Long-stay Serviced Apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viangbua Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viangbua Mansion Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing