We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rocky Start, but Strong Finish”
Review of Winner Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Winner Inn Hotel
Ranked #322 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rocky Start, but Strong Finish”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 days in Chiang Mai, with 1 night at the Winners Inn. When we checked in, our original room was infested with ants. The management was quick to put us up in an another room, this time with no ants. The room was clean, perfect place to refresh after a long train ride, and after a visit to Tiger Kingdom. Great value for the money, but nothing that will knock your socks off. Close to the night bazaar

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Grey97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    38
    38
    35
    47
See reviews for
4
81
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights, in between a Jungle Trek.
The day time reception lady was really helpful and nice, other staff did not have good English which was a little hard at times.
Breakfast is very limited, I preferred the muesli and yogurt rather than toast and fruit. I bought extra cereal and they didn't mind providing milk/bowl.
We had room 414 which was on the corner of the building, the room was huge and the bathroom was clean. Some other rooms are quite small or next to the lift.

The restaurant across the road 'Sa-Thang' is a must! We went there at least 3 times, best Thai food we had all trip. Cheap food and a lovely family.

We would stay again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I didn't want to stay in a hostel but still needed something on a travellers budget and this was perfect!

+ Affordable
+ Clean
+ Secure rooms, safe location.
+ Located in the centre of Chiang Mai between the new and old city.. perfect for visiting temples or going to the night markets!
+ Friendly staff
+ Air con
+ Free breakfast

- No windows in room
- Hard mattress

Can't really complain, if we wanted a 5 star hotel then we'd expect to pay 5 star prices... We got what we needed and didn't pay over the odds! I'd recommend!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alibella88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are cleaned daily, which was a nice surprise, and you get free water. There's a small fridge, tv, vanity, and closet. My bathroom didn't have a shower curtain causing a fair bit of water to get on the floor but it was manageable.

The staff at the front desk tended to be gruff and generally unhelpful. The continental breakfast is mediocre. All in all, okay for someone who is only spending time in the room for sleeping.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Erica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is well located in a quiet area not far from the night bazar. Parking is available in case you like to rent a car (i suggest u 2 do it). The rooms are clean, the air cond system is new and not noisy, the bed is big not soft with wood net to support the matress i sleept well. Bathroom is ok tv with cable. Cost x night 800 bath that in my opinion is appropriate. What I disliked is the behaviour of some guest who showted and party on the middle of the night... The door of the room are light and you will have the eco of what is happening outside... I will be back ????

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Diego G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The lobby and dining room look quite grand but the room we had was almost a cupboard. No window but a few glass blocks in the wall, right beside the lift. Very limited breakfast menu.
Staff were very good, friendly and helpful. No other facilities available but if you just want somewhere to sleep it is fine.

Room Tip: Ask to see your room before you book in, avoid the one with no window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustraliaMarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

If your just looking for somewhere to stay in Chiang Mai, this place is fine. Everything was just average; service, food, location. Limited menu for breakfast, but just ok. No carpet in the hallways makes for rather noisy accommodation, but it's in a fairly quiet spot so it wasn't too bad. No view to mention. The staff weren't rude but they weren't particularly outgoing. Not a bad place to stay, but that's all it really was.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ash B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Lai-Thai Guest House
Lai-Thai Guest House
#301 of 386 in Chiang Mai
365 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vipa House
Vipa House
#248 of 386 in Chiang Mai
34 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Royal Guest House
The Royal Guest House
#253 of 386 in Chiang Mai
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Miami Hotel
Miami Hotel
#196 of 386 in Chiang Mai
22 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wiriya House
Wiriya House
#151 of 386 in Chiang Mai
87 reviews
1.0 mi away
Centro CNX
Centro CNX
#187 of 386 in Chiang Mai
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winner Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winner Inn Hotel

Property: Winner Inn Hotel
Address: 19/1 Sridornchai Road, Soi 2 | Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #322 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Winner Inn Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Winner Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winner Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing