We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average rooms with exceptional service.”
Review of Roong Ruang Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Roong Ruang Hotel
Ranked #172 of 393 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great location with the Sunday market across the street, night bizarre 5 mins away, and plenty of great restaurants within walking distance. The room upstairs was spacious and clean. Ended up staying here 3 nights. The activity lady and younger receptionist are the nicest people you will meet in Thailand.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeanOmai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 50 of 82 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

The location of this hotel is very convenient, located in the center near the Thapae gate. We loved the girls working at the hotel, they were very funny and friendly to us and helped with everything we requested - making us feel right at home. The tour guide working at the hotel was also of excellent help. The breakfast offered in the hotel is also very good. The only downside to this hotel is the rooms are a bit dated.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CosmicShrimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Most of the places that we were hoping to get into that were listed in the guide books were fully booked. We lucked out by finding this small hotel that was very good value. This hotel was located in a central location just outside the main city wall gate with all the Chiang Mai highlights within easy walking distance. The hotel itself was very clean and quiet and well run. We had a room in the new block. The decor and furnishing were dated but functional. They had good selection of cable TV and free wifi. We had to ask the housekeeper to clean out the plugged shower grate as it was disgustingly filled with hair and soap scum from previous guests before we took possession. There was also a 5cm ledge/step running across the floor just outside the bathroom door which was an issue of a serious tripping hazard. Most of the clientel were Asian it seemed with very few of the front desk staff capable of speaking anything but the most basic English. They were mostly very youthful and inexperienced. There was one older lady there that ran the tour bookings desk for side trips who was reasonably fluent and she spent long hours at the front desk 7 days a week it seemed. She was very helpful and friendly. This lack of English by other staff made ordering breakfast or other services challenging if you wanted to ask anything about the menu when this lady was not available but this did not spoil our stay in any way as I do not expect staff to be able to speak English when staying at a small hotel like this one. Breakfast was included but limited. My wife and I each lost a piece of clothing (top and a quick dry t-shirt) from the laundry service but did not notice till we were in Laos. I would recommend using Laundry service outside of the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the newly renovated area looking towards the inner court away from the street noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mooniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

These are the Pros and Cons of the hotel -

Pros:
1) Good budget hotel which is centrally located near the Thapae Gate
2) Due to the central location the hotel is not far off from the Airport and the Rail station
3) There are good restaurants or eateries of all budgets near by
4) The hotel is close to the Night Market
5) Though the hotel is on the main road but due to the unique design the rooms are free from traffic noise
6) Friendly staffs

Cons:
1) The hotel is old and some ameneties may not work, e.g, the hot shower was not working at the washroom

Room Tip: Try to take a room facing the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Satty2060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I stayed here for three nights in Novemeber for the festival of light, the hotel is situated at a perfect location near thai Pai gate and we were able to wath the festival parade from the hotel entrance. As the hotel was situated so centrally, it made travelling around Chiang Mai very easy. The tour guide that worked in the reception was extremely helpful and friendly, so much so that we brought three trips from her.

Aside from the hotels location, another reason i booked was because it had breakfast included, but it really wasn't anything to shout about, the breakfast was very basic, on one of the days we had a trip booked, we left at the same time as breakfast started, so we asked if we came 10 minutes early, if they would be able to do ours now. I didn't think this would be a problem when we arrived half an hour early and the staff were all there working, but we were told that nothing is done until 7. Therefore left for our trip on an empty stomach, i was very disappointed with the lac of service, especially when i'd paid for it.

I had also booked a double bed, but on arrival was given a twin room, although this was sorted straight away, after a 7 hour bus journey i really could have done without the hassle... Another thing was the air con kept freezing over, so we had to turn it off and endure a hot night, with the sound of a dripping, defrosting A/C unit

My stay here was average, but i wouldn't stay again,

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guzenda1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

started staying here about 2 years ago after my 20+ year standby hotel went spa and started pricing for spa ambience. roong ruang has, over the last couple of years begun renovating and have a full selection of rooms from 550 to 750 (prices do change by season but last new years i paid 850 for the new rooms...so still cheap)

the new rooms are basic, clean, safe and the staff are always helpful and nice. the location is perfect for my mix of business and pleasure. breakfast has improved since last year now that they have a proper lobby with restaurant. the serve yourself instant coffee and tea along with toast is now augmented with a hot entree....eggs a few different ways. its nothing fancy, but when you do the math, you get a clean a/c room and simple breakfast in a desireable part of town for 2 for about 20 bucks...it aint bad.

if you're looking for a destination resort, this isnt it. if you're looking for a value play in thapae area, this is a good choice. lastly there seems to be a healthy mix of young, old, asian, farang so no single group is taking it over. i like that

Room Tip: room 314 has no view, then again its not that kind of place...but its very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank apaimanee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is a very nice and clean hotel that you can find in Chiang Mai. The place is very close to the Chiang Mai night market. It is a nice family run hotel that's been established for a very long time. It was very comfortable and relaxing place to rest at the end of the long, hot day.
Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Thapae Boutique House
Thapae Boutique House
#132 of 393 in Chiang Mai
199 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mali's Room
Mali's Room
#145 of 393 in Chiang Mai
102 reviews
0.3 mi away
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
#173 of 393 in Chiang Mai
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Miami Hotel
Miami Hotel
#214 of 393 in Chiang Mai
22 reviews
0.3 mi away
Northlands House Hotel
Northlands House Hotel
#130 of 393 in Chiang Mai
37 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Royal Guest House
The Royal Guest House
#266 of 393 in Chiang Mai
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roong Ruang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roong Ruang Hotel

Address: 398 Tha Pae Road | Muang, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 393 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $26 - $39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Roong Ruang Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A compact, quiet hotel,centrally located, on Tapae Road,close to historic Tapae Gate and the sunday market. Convenient place to stayfor night bazaar, various restaurants and 'book street'. It is the place to stay for all festivals as exhibitions and parades are heldclose to or in front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Roong Ruang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing