We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable clean well cared for”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Tepin 'Baan Lek 1'

Tepin Baan Lek 1
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tepin Baan Lek 1
Our little elephants. Our little monsters
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Tepin Baan Lek 1
Our little elephants.
Our little monsters
Your Hosts
Great for families.
Front door
Pool.
Balcony
Take in the sun
Towards the house.
The waterfall, good to massage your shoulders
Pool steps and hand rail.
Family sized table.
Room view interior 1
Large 6' Bed
Fridge
Wardrobe
TV
Bathroom view 1
Bathroom view 2
Bathroom view 3
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Chiang Mai

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Trisha H
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Comfortable clean well cared for”
Reviewed May 29, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
5
people found this review helpful

We enjoyed our stay, the pool was so close Keith enjoyed his swims, easy to do most things, and Pin took us shopping for the first half of our stay which was a great help as we did'nt understand the food, very different than we expected, next half Alan took us to a large shopping centre and let us wander about freely, that was wonderful, we even went off for coffee ? Did agood shop, I developed toothache whilst away but nope did'nt go, good job to had to have an op on my tooth.
It is hot this time of year, we had no idea it was so hot, that was our mistake, stayed in the Apartment quite a lot of the time, no trouble with Pin, sunny happy nice person, and she helped me sort the washing machine out, we were situated quite away from the Bazzars and had to ask pin or Alan to take us in each time, which though we paid we felt was not fare on them, but the Markets was the reason we'd gone there. The price Pin asked was cheap, so for a few visits I think it's very reasonable and definately kind of both of them to do it,
The home is so clean, it's lovely, I never once found a bug, just Turmites which no one can
stop and some huge snails on the wall as well as skinks which are all over the world so no nothing, When Pin can she gets into the room and sorts it out bless her, I shall miss her alot

Date of stay: April 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 5, 2014
Dear Trisha and Keith.
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your kind review. We enjoyed your visit.
Best Wishes

Alan and Pin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BangkokLo...
Podimore, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
385 reviews
277 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
“Excellent stay out of the city”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed for a week at Baan Lek and it proved to be an excellent choice. The separate accomodation is spacious and well presented with free daily water and a small welcome pack. There is a great little swimming pool and the use of an attched kitchen which we found excellent.
We were picked up at the bus station by Alan, who next day helped us to fix up a motor bike. He was very kind and offered on a daily basis to give us a lift but as we had the bike this was not necessary. Both he and Pin were very discreet and although this is their house they were not intrusive at all.
This is a great place if you don't mind, as we didn't being out of the city. Their house is modern and large and on a quiet gated community. Public transport is very limited so you will need to sort this out if you want to go into town and around. A good tip however, is that there is a free shuttle to town and back that runs from the local Promenada Mall which is about a 10 minute walk.
There is a 7/11 and small Tesco Lotus within 5 minutes and a whole variety of food stalls in the evening outside them.
We enjoyed the place and the chance to swim in the afternoon. It is very reasonably priced for what you get in our opinion.
Recommended.

Date of stay: January 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 19, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. We hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel V
Edmonton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Private, Relaxing and Comfortable”
Reviewed February 11, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Alan and Pin are very helpful and will go to any lengths to make sure you have an enjoyable stay, including recommendations for activities, places to eat and anything worth doing in Chiang Mai in general.
The accommodations are private and spacious, with a western bathroom and hot shower.
There are food stalls nearby, and there are plenty of western food places in the mall just down the road. Pro Tip - The Duke's is awesome, try the 'Cubano' sandwich.
The location is 10 mins outside the city, but there are cabs from the mall, tuk tuks's everywhere and plenty of scooter rental options if you haven't got a car.
We had an amazing time during the month we stayed and if we're ever in Thailand again we will absolutely be coming back.

Date of stay: January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 19, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and writing your review. Much appreciated. We hope we can welcome you back some day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancerato...
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home away from Home”
Reviewed December 30, 2013 for a stay in December 2013
4
people found this review helpful

I had a wonderful stay at the very charming Baan Lek... Situated at a perfect intersection just a few km's outside the havoc of the city center, this guest house is quite an oasis. A wonderful bed, spacious living area and an amazing pool all provided to keep you feeling cozy and well rested. Alan and Pin are truly gracious hosts always willing to go out of their way to help you with anything you need. Wifi, fridge, hot shower...these only add more to this already amazing place. I have never written a review before, so that should count for more than the words themselves. Thanks Baan Lek -- you really made my one month vacation seem like i was never far from home!!!

Date of stay: December 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Solo
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 5, 2014
Many thanks for your good review, we value it very much. Hope you will return in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great relaxing accommodation in Chiang Mai”
Reviewed December 26, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Fantastic independent accommodation. Great for early morning swimming as the pool is right by the accommodation. The accommodation has great AC and bathroom facilities. Best of all the hosts, Alan and Pin made us feel very much at home. They also helped us book days out mountain biking and white water rafting. They gave us great information on local eateries and bars. We stayed during the annual full moon festival and our hosts advised us for the best places and times to experience the festival.
All in all a great experience for independent travellers

Date of stay: November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 31, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review, we hope we can welcome you back some day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise T
Guam, Mariana Islands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding host and accomodations - I'll be back”
Reviewed December 23, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
3
people found this review helpful

I stayed at Baan Lek with my 80-yr old mother, adult son and preteen. We were able to also have an additional room in the main house. Both Alan and his wife were friendly and willing to assist in making the most of our stay in Chiang Mai. They met us at the airport with two vehicles to transport our family and luggage to the residence. Although not located in the city, it provided easy access to all the sites we wanted to visit and except for our cooking class, we were able to arrange our tour pickups directly from Baan Lek. If Alan did not know the answer to any of our questions or requests, he was quick to research it and get back to me with information. Alan actually provided us with transportation most days and helped us to keep to and adjust our itinerary, which we worked out with him in advance of our stay. By the time we left Chiang Mai, we felt as if we had been friends for some time. My children actually wanted time to just stay at Baan Lek and enjoy the refreshing pool. If you want a home away from home, this is the spot!

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Our hosts' helpfulness in making the most of our trip
Liked least: There are not too many places to within walking distance
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 31, 2013
Many thanks for your detailed review, much appreciated.
We would love to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJJ_IoW
La Union Province, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very, very pleasant place to stay”
Reviewed December 22, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

A tidy, self contained, nice place to stay. Good air-con (quiet), large bathroom, and best of all right by a swimming pool. The owners, Alan and Pin are very good hosts and the property is kept spotless. Close by are a new shopping mall and even closer a Tesco Lotus, so very close to get provisions. However the immediate neighbourhood to the property is very quiet.

Date of stay: November 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location next to the pool
Liked least: Wi-Fi took a little fiddling to get working correctly
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 31, 2013
Many thanks for the review, we appreciate it. Hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing