We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too expensive for a little service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
People Place (1st Building)
Ranked #157 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
“too expensive for a little service”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed for 2 night in Peoples Place I, booked at the airport as 3 star hotel for nearly 30 USD. The hotel very old and have dirty carpets and facilities. Wifi only in the lobby. All in all better stay away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Idur G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    14
    30
    5
    4
See reviews for
4
18
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed here as part of a tour.
The night market and restaurants are within a 100m of the hotel. I felt safe walking back on my own at 10pm at night as it was so busy. My room was basic to the back of the hotel facing the road. Could hear Karaoke being played on the 1st night and was dreading it until I put my earplugs in. It solved the issue.
There was only 1-2 english channels which I enjoyed watching just before bed.
Bathroom was clean, just beware the step from the shower area in front of the toilet and basin.
The sheets were seen to be old. Clean but bobbling.
I didn't have the breakfast about 69baht as it was basic and didn't cater for my gluten or dairy free diet. Couple of the others had it and was quite happy with it.
7-eleven around the corner for cheap and convenient food and toiletries.
Staff were not friendly but not rude either. Young and disinterested.

Room Tip: No lift. If you want Air conditioning or hot water, there are switches just under the controls in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Nice budget hotel. Its in the centre of town and near the night market. They clean your room everyday. Clean, quiet and good price. They also have hot shower and continental breakfast is available for 99 baht. Not bad!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank DianaSan85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Although well located I wouldn't recommend this hotel. Dated, damp and not particularly friendly I was pretty glad to only stay one night. It's a bed for the night but don't expect any style or atmosphere, it's decidedly lacking.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugene, or
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The best thing about this hotel was the location. You're within walking distance of the night market and also lots of shops and restaurants. The hotel room was okay. It was very basic but clean. There are two People Place hotels and they are right next to each other. I didn't realize that until I walked into the wrong hotel and wondered why nothing looked familiar. At first I thought I had just gone into a different part of the same hotel but the hotel clerk said there were 2 hotels and this was a newer one. I stayed at the older one. As far as amenities go, there wasn't much but that didn't really matter to me since I was out sightseeing most of the time. You can buy breakfast at the hotel which was pretty good. I loved Chaing Mai though and I would probably stay here again just because of the location. All I need is a clean room in a safe location with the basics and air conditoning to make me happy and this hotel provided that.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pippi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We originally planned to stay for 7 nights but checked out after 1!

Our room was dirty and grim, the sheets hadn't been changed and the hotel staff refused to do anything until the following morning. By 11:30am there was still no sign of a clean sheet despite them offering to sort it at 8am.

The windows do not shut properly and there isn't a safe in the room. To top this off the bathroom has little to no ventilation and stinks of sewage.

We noticed on arrival there are 2 people place buildings unfortunately we got the older building named; People Place Lodging which is in need of renovating!

I would avoid this place at all costs as there are much better hotels available for similar prices.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Emerson, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

On a trip through northern Thailand our last stop before returning to Bangkok our group spent two nights in Chiang Mai. On the other nights in the tour we had stayed in guesthouses and a homestay. So going back to a hotel was a bit of a change for us.

First of all, there are two People Place buildings (1 & 2), we were in building 2. Not sure what the exact differences were. Check-in was fine, there was a little lobby for breakfast and behind the counter was a bunch of safes for personal items. Laundry and breakfast were both relatively expensive so we went to places just down the street. Laundry was down the alley and right on Sridonchai Rd. and there was a nice little coffee place right on Sridonchai Rd. In general the location was pretty good. Very close access to the night market, but relatively far from the city center and on the other side of Chiang Mai from the zoo and Doi Suthep.

If there was an elevator we didn't see it and used the stairs. We were on the third floor. Room was rather bare and characterless, but roomy. Bed was two twin beds pushed together to form a king and firm like all the beds in Thailand we encountered. Bathroom was functional and water warm. The one plus was the small balcony. It allowed us to dry some wet things outdoors which was nice, but there really wasn't room for sitting. A/C worked well. Wished we could have just had the windows open as it got somewhat cool at night.

A rather run of the mill hotel. Good place to sleep and hold your stuff, but not really a destination.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LandisD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.0 mi away
C H Hotel
C H Hotel
#205 of 386 in Chiang Mai
288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chiangmai Night Bazaar Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Tawan Court
Tawan Court
#102 of 386 in Chiang Mai
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Star Hotel Chiang Mai
Star Hotel Chiang Mai
#126 of 386 in Chiang Mai
329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Khum Jao Luang Boutique
Khum Jao Luang Boutique
#306 of 386 in Chiang Mai
39 reviews
0.1 mi away
People Place (2nd Building)
People Place (2nd Building)
#447 of 758 in Chiang Mai
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to People Place (1st Building)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about People Place (1st Building)

Property: People Place (1st Building)
Address: 9 Soi 8 Charoen Prathet Road, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — People Place (1st Building) 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your People Place (1st Building) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
People Place Hotel Chiang Mai
People Place Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing