We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$19
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/16/21
Priceline
$18
View deal
Agoda.com
$14
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/18/21
Booking.com$18
Hotels.com$19
eDreams$18
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveler rating
9
17
37
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
9
17
37
6
4
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 73 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We originally planned to stay for 7 nights but checked out after 1!

Our room was dirty and grim, the sheets hadn't been changed and the hotel staff refused to do anything until the following morning. By 11:30am there was still no sign of a clean sheet despite them offering to sort it at 8am.

The windows do not shut properly and there isn't a safe in the room. To top this off the bathroom has little to no ventilation and stinks of sewage.

We noticed on arrival there are 2 people place buildings unfortunately we got the older building named; People Place Lodging which is in need of renovating!

I would avoid this place at all costs as there are much better hotels available for similar prices.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LukeR68
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

On a trip through northern Thailand our last stop before returning to Bangkok our group spent two nights in Chiang Mai. On the other nights in the tour we had stayed in guesthouses and a homestay. So going back to a hotel was a bit of a change for us.

First of all, there are two People Place buildings (1 & 2), we were in building 2. Not sure what the exact differences were. Check-in was fine, there was a little lobby for breakfast and behind the counter was a bunch of safes for personal items. Laundry and breakfast were both relatively expensive so we went to places just down the street. Laundry was down the alley and right on Sridonchai Rd. and there was a nice little coffee place right on Sridonchai Rd. In general the location was pretty good. Very close access to the night market, but relatively far from the city center and on the other side of Chiang Mai from the zoo and Doi Suthep.

If there was an elevator we didn't see it and used the stairs. We were on the third floor. Room was rather bare and characterless, but roomy. Bed was two twin beds pushed together to form a king and firm like all the beds in Thailand we encountered. Bathroom was functional and water warm. The one plus was the small balcony. It allowed us to dry some wet things outdoors which was nice, but there really wasn't room for sitting. A/C worked well. Wished we could have just had the windows open as it got somewhat cool at night.

A rather run of the mill hotel. Good place to sleep and hold your stuff, but not really a destination.

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LandisD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Location is what this place has going for it. The People Place is incredibly convenient to the night market. During the day, there were lots of great stores and restaurants within easy walking distance.

The rooms were pretty bad -- out of the three rooms we stayed in at different parts of our trip, one was tiny and lacked any view to the outside, one smelled (very strong) like sewage and cabbage, and one was okay (think prison cell). The wifi was pretty fast, but not free. The service was fine.

Everything was reasonably clean.

I can't imagine staying here again unless everything else in town was booked. There were so many inexpensive hotels and guesthouses in Chaing Mai, it just seems like you could find something better for the price.

Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheInternationalLine
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Great Location. We got the room for about £13 a night between two of us. Rooms are clean and basic. Close to all the ameneties. Would definately go back.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank v_patel_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

I have been staying at people place since 2003, maybe earlier. I love the location, and the staff and the rooms. I cannot add much to the other reviews except to say that I have never had a bad experience there, and the fact that I keep on returning should speak volumes.
It is probably true there may be slightly better hotels for the price in Chiang Mai, but not ones that have such a good location to the night Bazaar and newer Anusarn market and food court.
I have stayed in both building one and 2, and building one has standard Asian beds(hard), while 2 has softer beds but they squeak. I actually prefer the hard beds so I stay in building one.
If you are planning to come to Chiang Mai more then one time, ask for their "bonus card". It is a business card that gives you 200 baht discount on subsequent stays.
I agree the breakfast and internet and wi-fi are overpriced. About the lack of an elevator in building 1, the staff will always be more than happy to carry any bags if you ask.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottsnew1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews