We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
People Place (1st Building)
Ranked #158 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“good spot”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

good location as described by others. we were in the older building but used the internet in the lobby of the other building. our room was clean and on the 3rd floor and it is a bit annoying not having a lift. aircon worked fine. it is so close to the night market and has lovely friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmc001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    14
    30
    5
    4
See reviews for
4
18
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Our tour group used this as buget accommodation. We were in the older & cheaper of their two sites so there was no internet and no elevator. The layout of the rooms seems to differ so you may want to ask for one of the rooms that has a small balcony.

The rooms do have the basics - a mini-fridge (noisy), air con, shower, and a Western toilet. It wasn't too noisy but climbing up and down the non-air-conditioned stairs was a little annoying.

Going out of Reception and turning left takes you onto one main road. To your left is a 7/11 and a karaoke bar that's really a brothel. To your right it's a short walk to see a kangaroo sign across the road marking a good internet cafe. Keep walking up that road and you can turn right into the night markets or keep going straight ahead for 20 mins to reach the Walking Street Market on the weekend.

Going out of Reception and turning right takes you into a carpark which you can shortcut through to be in the Night Markets within a couple of minutes.

It's also possible to walk from the hotel to the Old City; it takes about an hour allowing for casual browsing along the way.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NixieNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

I was first introduced to People Place hotel along Sridonchai Rd by a group of cycling friends in May 2011. I found it to be a gem of a place, so it was an obvious choice for me when I went again in August 2011. I opted to stay in their Building 2, which was newer and had an elevator. Excellent location, less than 5 minutes walk to the famous Night Bazzar, an excellent Chinese restaurant nearby, with many amenities like a Seven-11, laundry, and a nice noodle shop all a short walk away. And the price was really good value. Rooms are clean and spacious, with a comfy bed. For a hundred baht, you could get a decent buffet breakfast at their Building 1 cafe. Everything worked - aircon, hot-water, TV, lights etc. Efficient reception svc.
I may be asking too much considering the price of the room, but it would be great to have free wifi (it's now 15B for 15 mins), more movie cable channels, and in-room safe (free lockers available at the reception counter now). I've actually booked 8 rooms for November for my cycling group.
Chris de Souza

Room Tip: Their Building 1 rooms cost 100 Baht less than the rooms in Building 2, but I found the aircon a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris5_0Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

reasonable priced . paid about 700bhat per night.close to night market. there is a corner restaurant with nice food nearby.
u can take tuk tuk or taxi to nearby tourist destination.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

This place has a great location near the Night Market. There have been muggings (according to the poster hanging up in the hotel) nearby... so just be extra careful when walking around solo. Breakfast is good and in the new building. They charge for WiFi. (annoying) and it's not in both buildings - just the newer one. Good location for visiting hill tribes or taking a cooking class.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresainsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We stayed at the People place hotel while we mountain biked around Doi Suthep. The hotel is off the main road, so it does not get much street noise. My room overlooked typical Thai side road suburbia. We were housed in the New Wing.
Rooms are clean, and cosy. Toilets are simple shower, sink, loo affairs, but well-maintained. Rooms may not have a direct window views. There is a small balcony where the air con compressor is housed.
Nearby are the night market, laundry service, massages Starbucks and 7-eleven.
Overall, a value for money hotel to hang out in Chiangmai.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Right round the corner from the night bazaar. Basic hotel but for a short stay all you need. Nice friendly staff, great location.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bodazodpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.0 mi away
C H Hotel
C H Hotel
#203 of 386 in Chiang Mai
288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chiangmai Night Bazaar Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Tawan Court
Tawan Court
#100 of 386 in Chiang Mai
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Khum Jao Luang Boutique
Khum Jao Luang Boutique
#306 of 386 in Chiang Mai
39 reviews
0.7 mi away
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
#74 of 386 in Chiang Mai
446 reviews
0.1 mi away
People Place (2nd Building)
People Place (2nd Building)
#445 of 757 in Chiang Mai
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to People Place (1st Building)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about People Place (1st Building)

Property: People Place (1st Building)
Address: 9 Soi 8 Charoen Prathet Road, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — People Place (1st Building) 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your People Place (1st Building) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
People Place Hotel Chiang Mai
People Place Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing