We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”
Review of Royal Lanna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Lanna Hotel
Ranked #250 of 387 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed March 6, 2006

Good Value Hotel, for the price. Rooms were very big. Air con worked well, and hot water was fine, rooms were nothing spectacular. For the price they where good value. Breakfast was very good value, included in the room price. Location, location, could not get better than this for the price. Right in the middle of the night market. Great German restraunt next door, we ate there each night. The only complaint was they had no child cots at the Hotel, but we managed to get around that problem.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rickyb62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
There are newer reviews for Royal Lanna Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

177 - 183 of 250 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Royal Lanna for 3 nights. The location is great (right across the street from the Night Bazaar, and close to many restaurants.) We had a nice view of the mountain from our room, however there was construction going on nearby, and we could hear the noises of the machinery until late night. It didn't bother us too bad. You would likely have this problem with any hotel near the Night Bazaar.

The room was spacious and clean. The bed was comfortable and had nice sheets. There were nice towels in the bathroom too. Only problem was that there was barely ever any hot water. Most of the time we took cold showers, any hot water we got was very sporadic. The hotel staff did mention something about running the water at low pressure to get hot water, but we couldn't get that to work either.

As soon as you step out of the hotel, be prepared for all the taxi and tuk tuk drivers offering to take you on tours of Chiang Mai. There are many taxis arounds, so you can always check prices and compare with the taxis around the corner from the hotel.

We used the tour agent on the first floor of our hotel to book our tour to the elephant training park, bamboo rafting down the river, and trip to the flower garden. It was a full-day tour, and included an excellent lunch buffet at a resort near the elephant park.

The breakfast buffet was decent. The restaurant had a selection of both Thai and Western foods.

We booked our stay on asiarooms.com, which was the cheapest deal. Good hotel for the price. Just don't expect to get hot water.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank USALove2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2006

When checking in staff refused a safe box on the rationale that my room door had a hasp, and my own lock was sufficient.

My room was subsequently burglarized, with a sizable padlock being broken and cash stolen. Hotel security claimed to be unaware of any noise or activity on my floor (burglary occurred in early evening).

I believe some hotel staff to be complicit. No way would I return to the Royal Lanna.

Stayed: July 1999
8  Thank litefoot52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2005

We chose this hotel for its location near the night bazaar. This hotel is ACROSS THE STREET from the night bazaar. It is very convenient. You're in the middle of all the action. The staff is very accommodating, friendly, and warm. The breakfast was good: pancakes/french toast, omelettes/eggs made to order, ham, sausage, toast, cereal, two juices, milk, coffee, tea, cocoa powder (for cereal or coffee?), as well as Thai dishes such as rice soup, phad thai noodles, pork, and stir-fried vegetables. My husband liked the selection. We would definitely stay here again. Shopping and restaurants all around you. Five minute walk to Anusarn market as well. Can't go wrong for the price. Paid about $22/night and that included airport pickup. Also, I liked the view of Doi Suthep mountain from the room. We stayed at the Suriwongse Hotel the last time we were in Chiang Mai. Suriwongse Hotel is another fine hotel ACROSS THE STREET from the night bazaar. It, too, had a good breakfast, but Royal Lanna has a much better view. It is a highrise hotel whereas Suriwongse is no more than 4 stories or so.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank koiponds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: 10階以上の高層階が良い。基本、事前予約なしでも満室で断られる事は無い。
  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miya2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank SEGURO57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank kkathrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#108 of 387 in Chiang Mai
1,953 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nap in Chiangmai
Nap in Chiangmai
#38 of 387 in Chiang Mai
237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#56 of 387 in Chiang Mai
1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Star Hotel Chiang Mai
Star Hotel Chiang Mai
#132 of 387 in Chiang Mai
330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Night Bazaar Place
Night Bazaar Place
#156 of 387 in Chiang Mai
136 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#66 of 387 in Chiang Mai
1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lanna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lanna Hotel

Address: 119 Loikroh Road | T Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #250 of 387 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $37 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Lanna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Lanna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lanna Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing