We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy, but relaxing”
Review of Royal Lanna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Lanna Hotel
Ranked #260 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Copenhagen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Busy, but relaxing”
Reviewed September 13, 2009

Royal Lanna is very nice and a great relief if you´re coming from some less fancy place. We had been to Chantaburi previously and lived in a kinda awful place when we arrived so Royal Lanna was very good in that way. It is very clean and luxurious and it is not that expensive. We paid 1200 baht pr night because of low season, which I think is very reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chredda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    86
    84
    39
    18
See reviews for
47
70
47
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2008

I went with a group of people and we loved the Royal Lanna. We did a lot of sight seeing and it was very easy to get to and from places. The rooms were great and very clean compared to the other hotels we stayed at. The only real problem was with the elevators, the doors did not have any safety features so they would continue to close even if you were walking through. It was very scary and stressful trying to get in there.

  • Liked — Location!
  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travel_bug9211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2008

After a 1 night stay at a small guesthouse on the outskirts of town, we looked at several other hotels and chose the Royal Lanna - were were very pleased with this hotel, and stayed here for 4 nights.

The rooms were very large, and easily accommodated our family (2 adults and twin toddlers aged nearly 2). The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and took great care in setting up mattresses on the floor (at our request) for our little ones to sleep on (too small for proper beds).

The reception staff were really friendly, and helpful when we needed to know where to find some western baby amenities nearby! (There's an international supermarket within walking distance). The room rate was very reasonable (which we knew having shopped around in this area) and included a great brekkie, with huge variety and really quality dishes. And proper coffee!! A real highlight for us, easily the best coffee we found at any of our hotels/resorts in Thailand! There are highchairs in the restaurant too, which was handy, and staff here were attentive.

The hotel's location was perfect. We found that when we were staying 10mins drive from the night market, in a more quiet street/area, it was hard to get to places (to restaurants, shops etc), with 2 children in tow. The Royal Lanna's location right near the night market was ideal, as there was a huge array of great restaurants/bars within a minute or two's walk. (We took a fold up stroller, which was a god send!) There's also a childcare centre for occasional care on the street behind the market (towards the river) which we used at times, and our kids loved.

We were pleased that there was no noise at all from the market/street below, and the pool was a nice touch.

Housekeeping was friendly (catered to our kids' nap times!) and professional.

We'd recommend this hotel highly as a great value hotel, particularly for families (saw quite a few others!) and would definitely stay here again!

  • Liked — Location and huge rooms
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JulesTwinMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2007

10 steps to night barzaar, good for me to shop around and safe with many tourists walk around.

  • Liked — good location
  • Disliked — not thing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank konthaitours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2006

Quiet, with great views of the mountain on the west side of the building. Good location if you want to be right at the heart of the night market, but a pain if you want to get away form an area jammed packed with tourists and everything is geared toward them (at prices to boot) and not much is left of the Thai side of the city. Feels like having landed in post-global warming northern Europe. Average rooms. Friendly service. Other than that, nothing special. One nice touch: if you have a late flight out, they let you keep your room all afternoon for only 300 baht extra.

Stayed March 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank 112609h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2006

Checked in and stayed for 2 nights in Mar 06. My commends on this hotel:

1. great location -- you are at the middle of night bazaar. Just step out of your hotel, there you already can find the hawkers.

2. Room is clean -- real clean. For those Asians, if you do not want to wear shoes in the room, it is OK as your feet can feel the floor is clean.

3. Room is big -- bigger than any average hotel rooms.

4. Others -- bath room is clean / air cond etc all in good and working condition.

5. TV -- the reception is not good and even the satellite programs are not very clear.

6. breakfast -- simple and basic, but is acceptable.

7. pool -- No commend. I did not try it out.

8. price -- walk in may be charged at 1200 bath. better to book through internet. Value for your money if you pay < 1000 bath.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tansui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
86 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2006

Good Value Hotel, for the price. Rooms were very big. Air con worked well, and hot water was fine, rooms were nothing spectacular. For the price they where good value. Breakfast was very good value, included in the room price. Location, location, could not get better than this for the price. Right in the middle of the night market. Great German restraunt next door, we ate there each night. The only complaint was they had no child cots at the Hotel, but we managed to get around that problem.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rickyb62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Star Hotel Chiang Mai
Star Hotel Chiang Mai
#121 of 381 in Chiang Mai
326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nap in Chiangmai
Nap in Chiangmai
#37 of 381 in Chiang Mai
224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#108 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#55 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pornping Tower Hotel
Pornping Tower Hotel
#268 of 381 in Chiang Mai
402 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chiangmai Night Bazaar Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lanna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lanna Hotel

Property: Royal Lanna Hotel
Address: 119 Loikroh Road (alt 23 Huay Kaew Road) | T Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #260 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Lanna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Royal Lanna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lanna Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing