We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay”
Review of Royal Lanna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Lanna Hotel
Ranked #258 of 380 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Hotel is ageing a bit but service is good, staff polite.
Breakfast good if you're not vegetarian. Usual Buffett style, western and thai food.
Location right next door to night markets. Right in the Centre of the district and pleasant stroll to other attractions in the area.
For the price happy with our stay

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thom005F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    86
    83
    40
    18
See reviews for
47
71
46
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This hotel is ok for a short stay, but the rooms are dated (its been a while since I have seen such an old tv with a remote that only has a few buttons left that work), but clean and comfortable. I stayed in a deluxe room which is no better than the cheaper rooms - they are on a higher floor but a view into the next hotel is the same whatever floor you are on.
The pool and pool area are small - not really for spending time, but the pool was very clean and inviting for a quick dip.
The breakfast is terrible - if you are a vegetarian or do not eat eggs prepare to skip the breakfast.
The wifi was non existent.
Its a great location in the night bazaar and its pretty quiet considering that its in the centre of the market.
Its a cheap hotel so you get what you pay for - good for an overnighter and a shop but there are better places to stay if you are spending a few days in Chiang Mai!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilp33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We chose this hotel based on location and price, both of which were very good. We booked for 4 nights but left after 1 due to two problems: (1) internet out for 2 days (Christmas eve & day) and (2) hallway noise. Our floor (12th) had tiled hallways (no carpet) and hard closing wood doors, so the hallway noise was tremendous....we could hear every door closing, every person walking down the hall, etc. The first morning we were woken up at 04:30 am by family way down the hall who was packing up with their door open and their kids were making a racket; it sounded like they were outside our room. Staff was nice and friendly and breakfast was good, but we needed facilities which would let us rest.

Room Tip: If they have a floors without a tiled hallway, take it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenBayALLtheWAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We moved to this hotel from one reasonably far out of town purely to be within walking distance of anything worth doing. It certainly gave us that! Location is great, you are in the middle of the city. Great access to night markets, restaurants and shops.

We found out very quickly thought that unfortunately that was all that we were going to get!
We struggled with our own bags while the bell boy stood there and watched with a sullen look on his face.

Breakfast was for lack of a better word, disgusting. We found better food from the street BBQs. Even the unknown meats were atleast warm from there! This was the first place that included breakfast that I simply could not stomach.

I found it hard to believe this was a 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: Stay at one of the nicer hotels just down the road. A little more cost but more than worth the money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I have visited this excellent hotel, sited near the Night Market, a number of times. It is excellent value for money ($50/night including breakfast*)
*and cheaper if you can get deals through agents.
The rooms are clean although sparse with minimalist decoration; the beds a little hard and there is no choice of pillow. I have no need of carpet so the tile floor is great. A plus - there is a bedside light making reading in bed possible without getting up - it is these little things that count. A/C quiet and efficient. TV from the Dark Ages with poor reception.
Wi-Fi distinctly variable - on one one visit it was fast; on my last visit it was a disaster and I had to use the Lobby. Action urgently needed to up-grade it.
The bathroom is in need of a major up-grade; the grout is acquiring a permanent black patina. There is hot water at the basin and tepid bath water. Supplies minimal - soap so small you can easily lose it. Good shelf space around the basin. Plumbing from adjacent rooms noisy. Towels - good quality
Laundry good and prompt with a bit of chivvying.
Breakfast average to good overall but need for greater variety of fruits given the range available in the market. Eggs, fried, tend to be cooked non-stop and put on a serving dish to cool off to congealed and soggy. Wait until a fresh batch is cooked to get hot eggs.
Staff friendly but obviously some are still under training. It seems the majority of guests are from other Asian countries and working with Europeans needs more attention.
Tour Desk - extremely helpful lady who will provide excellent service and advice.
Check out slow because the hotel staff insist on the mini-bar being checked despite my off repeated assurance that I do not use the mini-bar. Major annoyance factor, particularly given the paucity of supplies.

Room Tip: Try to get odd numbered room; the view is better and you may miss the early morning prayers to call...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scorchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotts Head, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

This hotel is a reflection of poor owner attitudes and reinvestment plan. Staff, rooms and location are all good, but owners have failed to provide proper WIFI service but still promote same service as free. Will be good when this is fixed PROPERLY.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
151 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Good Facilities like Swimming Pool,wifi at all places and good hospitality and services,Good food served during Breakfast,and it was also complementary.Staff were polite and helpful to us.The view from the hotel was quite enjoyable and the hotel is 22 storeys tall which makes view of the city even better.Night Market located just near the hotel.

Room Tip: Great location,situated very near the Night Market which is awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akshay23493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Star Hotel Chiang Mai
Star Hotel Chiang Mai
#115 of 380 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chiangmai Night Bazaar Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#106 of 380 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
C H Hotel
C H Hotel
#183 of 380 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#44 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#55 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lanna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lanna Hotel

Property: Royal Lanna Hotel
Address: 119 Loikroh Road (alt 23 Huay Kaew Road) | T Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #258 of 380 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Lanna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Royal Lanna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lanna Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing