We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Lanna Hotel
Ranked #257 of 393 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I chose this hotel for its location - in the heart of Chiang Mai's famous "Night Market." I was not disappointed. I have stayed in Santitham, but it is not always easy to get a "baht bus" or tuk tuk there, and the old city is a little too much of "backpack city" for my taste. The staff were very helpful - always a cheerful "Sawasdee krub/kaa" from everyone, and all were very helpful. The room is basic; lacking a safety box (available to the front desk), kind of clunky air conditioning, and a somewhat temperamental hot water system. I enjoyed the cool, gorgeous marble floor. The decor is strictly early 1950's; the mattress in my room is long past its prime. The pool was clean and enjoyable and a lovely place to cool off on a hot mid afternoon. Breakfast is OK - eggs, some Asian dishes, cereal, acceptable coffee, and pleasant staff. The coffee shop was empty for lunch and dinner, but I found it preferable to the pseudo European tourist traps and fast food joints in the night market. It was local food, very moderate prices, and friendly service. Cleanliness was fine, linen was old but perfectly serviceable. It was fairly priced; a little more than the guest houses, and much less than the nearby upscale Le Meridien Hotel across the street. I was not unhappy.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatrickLAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

125 - 131 of 251 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

Old depressing, did not want to go back to the room.
No safe in the room, although it said on their web site. I've complaint to the reception but they did't care at all. The lock for the room is only push button type so it's very unsafe as there are no safe. Hole in the linen, worn out towels, terrible curtains, old aircon,old tv and awful furnitures.
No tea, coffee maker. No Hair dryer in the room, had to ask housekeeper.
No menu for hot food for breakfast, so you don't know what they are, had to ask the staff each time. Not many choices for western. Wall papers were peeling off in the restaurant.
One of the receptionist refused exchanging large note to smaller note. (the other receptionist did exchanged the next day). I needed the smaller note for the transport.
Wifi connection was not good. Took some time to connect and disconnected often and cut off. Other guests were having the problems too as I was ask about it's connection.
On the morning of Check out, I've put the "DO NOT DISTURB" tag on the door handle but it was ignored and they went in and checked the room as I was told by the receptionist the house keeper had already checked the room.
So they don't respect guest's privacy either. So disappointed again.
This hotel has serious management problems.
After reading the reviews and I've booked 2 nights here but moved to the other small hotel with the same price rage for the third night and it was great.
I travel about 3-4 times a year, mostly around Asia but this is the worst hotel for both room and service. I will come back to Chiang mai but never stay with this Hotel.

Room Tip: Loi Krathong festival was great with lots of food stalls and fantastic parade.
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
Thank KLovethebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This review is based on amount paid for a standard room. You can't judge with 5 star eyes when paying 3 star rates. Room and facilities are well kept in clean comfortable condition with sheets changed every day. Excellent buffet breakfast and front desk very friendly. Fantastic location. Would defiantly recommend and stay again. Booking through hotel website at only 1050 baht a night. A real bargain.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amhuman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Firstly the location, right in the center of Chiang Mai, just minutes from the night bazaar, couldn't be better if you are after the hustle and bustle of this vibrant city. For me however, the location yielded a hotel full of faceless foreign tourists as impersonal as a telephone directory. I don't think I have ever visited such a dispassionate and characterless hotel in Thailand. The staff, were far from friendly, though to be fair they were constantly rushed off their feet answering banal sets of questions from the gathered masses.
My wife, myself and our two year old son booked in for five nights. The first three of which were spent in a shabby, outdated room with air conditioning that worked sporadically. The scuffed and worn furniture, would have been grim in the 1980s, the era I guess it originated. In 2013, well a bonfire would be my suggestion. The bathroom was so depressing it is also merits a mention. Chipped ceramic, soiled grouting and a flush that needed three pushes before it could be coaxed into action. Ironically it was the A/C that got us upgraded. Around 9.30 at night I smelt burning from the compressor, and summoned an engineer, who quickly told us what we already knew: The Air Con was dying. No problem a change of room. 2 hours later we were still waiting amidst horrendous humidity to be moved. Not ideal for a two year old toddler. After some very choice words to reception from me, words that I'm not particularly proud of, we were bundled upstairs. At last something good to say! The room to which we were moved on the 18th floor was wonderful, modern, spacious and with great views, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom spotless, even the flush worked first time! Happy days.
Credit where credit's due the breakfast was very good, fresh produce and well cooked, though as the hotel's clientele was 90% non Thai, the breakfast might have had more of a leaning towards western foods rather than Thai. Finally a positive mention for the guys working the car parking area, they were great, very helpful and extremely friendly.
Would I stay again. Sorry No 8/20

Room Tip: Pay the extra. Go for the Deluxe rooms every time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nickthailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Location is perfect in the night bizaar area. Rooms are big, but air con a little noisy. Staff very helpful. Breakfast is good, have a lot of choice. The price was 1250 baht a night through agoda website, which is good value.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bstanton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are basic and out-dated but everything is there. Also the bathroom looks old, but clean. Breakfast was included when we booked. There was enough choice, also for European people. The best about this hotel is the location.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed a few nights at the Royal Lanna between Xmas & New Year. This is a multi storey Hotel smack in the middle of the night bazaar precinct. The Lanna could do with a major refurbishment as it has grown old and tired over the years. Although the rooms are quite spacious, they have very rudimentary facilities. These days most westerners (falang) will find standing in a bath in order to take a shower unacceptable. Equally the quality of the bathroom towels etc is substandard. Also the dining area where breakfast is served could do with a much needed makeover and breakfast itself is of a very modest standard. However, Royal Lanna has some big pluses! Firstly the staff are very friendly and helpful, they changed our room immediately when we requested a double bed rather than two singles and the reception staff were extremely helpful with our enquiries as well. The other big plus for the Royal Lanna is its location. You walk out of the Hotel into the heart of the action where you can have a most enjoyable stroll especially in the evenings with Chiang Mai at your doorstep. There is great value shopping, fantastic authentic food and loads of entertainment spots all within a short distance of the Hotel. The Royal Lanna could be a lot better but the room rates are unbeatable in this area of Chiang Mai and the location is almost perfect.

Room Tip: Reserve a room on the highest floor possible to escape street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0 mi away
Nap in Chiangmai
Nap in Chiangmai
#41 of 393 in Chiang Mai
248 reviews
0 mi away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#101 of 393 in Chiang Mai
2,012 reviews
0 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#34 of 393 in Chiang Mai
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chiangmai Night Bazaar Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Karinthip Village
Karinthip Village
#180 of 393 in Chiang Mai
186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
#76 of 393 in Chiang Mai
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lanna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lanna Hotel

Address: 119 Loikroh Road | T Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #257 of 393 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $40 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Lanna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Lanna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lanna Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing