We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Thomas D
Bangkok, Thailand

Great breakfast buffet

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jul 25, 2012
Nice hotel in the heart of the city. Walking or transport to everything. Old Town close by. The room on the 14th floor was clean and quiet on the East side. The pool on the West side is on the 4th floor. The breakfast buffet is huge and they will make omelets on request. Lots of Asian food also. Huge selection of food. Transportation to anywhere is just outside. Night bizzare offers great number of food selection. No noisy nightclubs close to hotel. Room was clean with a stocked refrigerator. Tour offices up and down night bizzxare street. Internet is in two story lobby only-not in the rooms. Comfortable and convenient.
Date of stay: July 2012
Room Tip: Pool is on 4th floor West for the afternoon sun.
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
$131
  • Priceline
    $124
  • Official Hotel
    $118
  • Expedia.com
    $141
2.2 miles from Royal Lanna Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$109
  • Priceline
    $117
  • Vio.com
    $107
  • Expedia.com
    $121
2.4 miles from Royal Lanna Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$70
  • Expedia.com
    $133
  • Vio.com
    $57
  • Hotels.com
    $133
2.0 miles from Royal Lanna Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$128
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $127
  • Shangri-La.com
    $128
  • Hotels.com
    $127
0.4 miles from Royal Lanna Hotel
$38
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
    $20
  • Priceline
    $39
  • Agoda.com
    $37
2.2 miles from Royal Lanna Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$107
  • Priceline
    $119
  • Vio.com
    $104
  • Expedia.com
    $119
0.4 miles from Royal Lanna Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$45
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $41
  • Agoda.com
    $39
  • Hotels.com
    $50
2.5 miles from Royal Lanna Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Swimming Pool
$17
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $18
  • Trip.com
    $16
  • Expedia.com
    $21
1.8 miles from Royal Lanna Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$63
  • Expedia.com
    $68
  • Vio.com
    $57
  • Priceline
    $71
2.5 miles from Royal Lanna Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$297
  • Expedia.com
    $324
  • Vio.com
    $268
  • Hotels.com
    $324
4.5 miles from Royal Lanna Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviews (285)
Filter reviews
285 results
Traveler rating
22
93
98
47
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
22
93
98
47
25
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
173 - 178 of 285 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Location is great for night markets. out the lobby and into the heart of the markets.
Breakfast buffet was looking very sad and cold.
I walked in one morning as soon as they opened.
food was cold. The staff were busy putting their make up on which was visible to everyone.
They didnt speak or understand English. laughed at you and ran away when asked questions.
they were useless. there was a Thai guy who made coffee, he seemed to be the only one working. the girls were too stupid to work, so busy talking in one corner about the guests that walked in.
lobby reception was the same.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

July 8th my friends were staying there, decided to join. I regret it. First off cigarette burns on bed cover, should have taken a clue. Opened fridge in morning for water. A powerful stench of death filled the room. Bad enough to make one gag. Went to notify staff, they luaghed.... Which of course made me angry. Is this how they treat guests? Apparently it is. I decided to leave the hotel at that point. Was presented with an bill which contained extra charges for bottled water. I ended up paying them but not happily, bad enough to have a bad experience but to tak on extra fees at that point was insult to injury. That fridge was way way nasty and the room was putrid by just opening it. Hotel is in not so great part of town anyways. So with other options why stay at Royal? Lanna Hosmell? My very real experience.

Date of stay: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jbrunoski
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

A very central hotel next to the Night Markets. Close to most things in Chiang Mai with plenty of transport available out the front of the hotel. Was on the 9th floor with great views from the windows. Very comfortable rooms and most importantly a very clean and nice bathroom. This hotel also has the Australian Channel T.V. Great to see. Great pool, nice on a very hot day in Chiang Mai. Breakfast is a buffet style with a choice between western and Thai food. Staff are very good with acceptable English. Highly recommend a stay here.

Room tip: Higher floors give a great view.
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fozzie_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Booked a one bedroom suite on the 21st floor, 62sq.m in size, and comfortably furnished at first glance. Wifi included was fast and reliable, no room safe, windows that opened, excellent river and city views.

Although the hotel and room itself are a bit tired, the 1500b rate via sawadee was pretty good value (including b/f), with large living space ideal for relaxation.

Bathroom was adequate, water pressure ordinary, and for some reason a very dodgy looking lightswitch attached to the wall within the shower curtain (which got very wet when taking a shower)!

Then came the sleep.... the bed was the worst I've encountered over two decades of visiting Thailand. The AC which blew directly on to the bed (old and broken unable to be directed away) seemed to blow dusty air, which made sleep even more difficult.

I was glad to be getting out of there after a terrible night's sleep, and vowed to myself, that (after many years of loyal patronage, unfortunately) would be my last time at the Royal Lanna.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fourb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

For an average traveler, the room was fine. Nothing special, but with a location like this, you won't spend much time in the room. Right outside the door is the Night Market/Bazaar. There are plenty of places to find great food, and also a spa right across the street. For the price, its well worth it. We stayed here for two nights on our honeymoon. The staff was very friendly, and the desk in the lobby has plenty of things to do (day trips, dinners, etc.)

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews