We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice & Comfortable”
Review of Royal Lanna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Lanna Hotel
Ranked #254 of 392 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed July 2, 2012

A very central hotel next to the Night Markets. Close to most things in Chiang Mai with plenty of transport available out the front of the hotel. Was on the 9th floor with great views from the windows. Very comfortable rooms and most importantly a very clean and nice bathroom. This hotel also has the Australian Channel T.V. Great to see. Great pool, nice on a very hot day in Chiang Mai. Breakfast is a buffet style with a choice between western and Thai food. Staff are very good with acceptable English. Highly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Higher floors give a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fozzie_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

151 - 157 of 251 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2012

Booked a one bedroom suite on the 21st floor, 62sq.m in size, and comfortably furnished at first glance. Wifi included was fast and reliable, no room safe, windows that opened, excellent river and city views.

Although the hotel and room itself are a bit tired, the 1500b rate via sawadee was pretty good value (including b/f), with large living space ideal for relaxation.

Bathroom was adequate, water pressure ordinary, and for some reason a very dodgy looking lightswitch attached to the wall within the shower curtain (which got very wet when taking a shower)!

Then came the sleep.... the bed was the worst I've encountered over two decades of visiting Thailand. The AC which blew directly on to the bed (old and broken unable to be directed away) seemed to blow dusty air, which made sleep even more difficult.

I was glad to be getting out of there after a terrible night's sleep, and vowed to myself, that (after many years of loyal patronage, unfortunately) would be my last time at the Royal Lanna.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fourb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

For an average traveler, the room was fine. Nothing special, but with a location like this, you won't spend much time in the room. Right outside the door is the Night Market/Bazaar. There are plenty of places to find great food, and also a spa right across the street. For the price, its well worth it. We stayed here for two nights on our honeymoon. The staff was very friendly, and the desk in the lobby has plenty of things to do (day trips, dinners, etc.)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

The hotel is central to the shopping area but not noisy. The staff are attentive and the rooms very good value. There are plenty of taxis around,so it's easy to get about. The coffee shop is reasonably priced. A bargain for the location.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

This was my second stay in the Royal Lanna. It's not my kind of place–I don't like to be in the center of a tourist magnet, or a multistory hotel–but for what it is, it's good enough. B1500 a night isn't really expensive in Chiangmai, and my room was a decent size. Everything worked: no lightbulbs that needed replacing, WiFi signal was okay (but I actually used my 3G personal hotspot instead, so I can't speak about speed), hot water was reliable, linen clean, and so on. The staff, with the exception of one disoriented woman at the front desk, was prompt and helpful. (The woman at the front desk wanted to be helpful, too, but put so much effort into avoiding mistakes that waiting for her became infuriating.)

I thought the breakfast buffet was sadly lacking: no croissants or other pastry, third-rate bread for toast, limited quantity of undistinguished fruit. The coffee was drinkable, which is the best I've ever been able to say of hotel buffet coffee, seating pleasant. The friends I traveled with said they had an excellent supper in the same restaurant for the absurdly cheap price of B240 (USD 8) for three dishes plus two plates of rice.

If you like the Night Bazaar, or jostling with tourists from every corner of the world, the location is great. It's a very short walk to the Ping River, too, for visitors who like rivers more than crowds. The German restaurant just outside the driveway serves solid, appetizing food at reasonable prices, with extremely friendly and competent service.

Room Tip: Room numbers begin near the elevators. Want a short step to the glass elevator? Go for XX01. Want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights. The Night Market is a stones throw away from the hotel front entrance. The staff are very nice, the rooms might be old, but they are absolutely spotless and spacious. There is a breakfast buffet that is more than adequate.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eric p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Stayed in the royal Lanna for 4 nights in March 2012, rooms a little dated but quite good , nice and clean
Staff very helpfull, great location next to the night market and well placed for transport to old city

Room Tip: Higher rooms are best as they pick up less road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acmaple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.0 mi away
Nap in Chiangmai
Nap in Chiangmai
#40 of 392 in Chiang Mai
244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
#78 of 392 in Chiang Mai
175 reviews
0.0 mi away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#102 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#54 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,365 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#68 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,687 reviews
0.0 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#34 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lanna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lanna Hotel

Address: 119 Loikroh Road | T Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #254 of 392 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $41 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Lanna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Lanna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lanna Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing