We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, decent hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Lanna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Lanna Hotel
Ranked #255 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Location, decent hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

For an average traveler, the room was fine. Nothing special, but with a location like this, you won't spend much time in the room. Right outside the door is the Night Market/Bazaar. There are plenty of places to find great food, and also a spa right across the street. For the price, its well worth it. We stayed here for two nights on our honeymoon. The staff was very friendly, and the desk in the lobby has plenty of things to do (day trips, dinners, etc.)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    83
    83
    38
    18
See reviews for
47
68
46
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lampang Province, Thailand
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

The hotel is central to the shopping area but not noisy. The staff are attentive and the rooms very good value. There are plenty of taxis around,so it's easy to get about. The coffee shop is reasonably priced. A bargain for the location.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Sichang, Chonburi, Thailand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

This was my second stay in the Royal Lanna. It's not my kind of place–I don't like to be in the center of a tourist magnet, or a multistory hotel–but for what it is, it's good enough. B1500 a night isn't really expensive in Chiangmai, and my room was a decent size. Everything worked: no lightbulbs that needed replacing, WiFi signal was okay (but I actually used my 3G personal hotspot instead, so I can't speak about speed), hot water was reliable, linen clean, and so on. The staff, with the exception of one disoriented woman at the front desk, was prompt and helpful. (The woman at the front desk wanted to be helpful, too, but put so much effort into avoiding mistakes that waiting for her became infuriating.)

I thought the breakfast buffet was sadly lacking: no croissants or other pastry, third-rate bread for toast, limited quantity of undistinguished fruit. The coffee was drinkable, which is the best I've ever been able to say of hotel buffet coffee, seating pleasant. The friends I traveled with said they had an excellent supper in the same restaurant for the absurdly cheap price of B240 (USD 8) for three dishes plus two plates of rice.

If you like the Night Bazaar, or jostling with tourists from every corner of the world, the location is great. It's a very short walk to the Ping River, too, for visitors who like rivers more than crowds. The German restaurant just outside the driveway serves solid, appetizing food at reasonable prices, with extremely friendly and competent service.

Room Tip: Room numbers begin near the elevators. Want a short step to the glass elevator? Go for XX01. Want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights. The Night Market is a stones throw away from the hotel front entrance. The staff are very nice, the rooms might be old, but they are absolutely spotless and spacious. There is a breakfast buffet that is more than adequate.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eric p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

Stayed in the royal Lanna for 4 nights in March 2012, rooms a little dated but quite good , nice and clean
Staff very helpfull, great location next to the night market and well placed for transport to old city

Room Tip: Higher rooms are best as they pick up less road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acmaple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

I stayed in this hotel early March 2012. The location of the Hotel is good, easy access from airport, rooms are old need to change the furniture and curtains.
Air conditioner was not very effective.Bathroom is clean enough but towels are worn out. Breakfast was good , Front office staff friendly and courteous. Overall
can rate as a 2 star + hotel. worth the price paid for.

Room Tip: ask for rooms on the highest floors. they are far better than the rooms closer to the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mano S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

staryed 2 nights in jan 2012 . its ok no fancy bits . clean tidy room was everthing we needed could do with a update , but its is ok
breakfast they dont do it very good very shabby breakie room . not good

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank number14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Star Hotel Chiang Mai
Star Hotel Chiang Mai
#117 of 374 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chiangmai Night Bazaar Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Pornping Tower Hotel
Pornping Tower Hotel
#288 of 374 in Chiang Mai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
C H Hotel
C H Hotel
#231 of 374 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#44 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Night Bazaar Place
Night Bazaar Place
#165 of 374 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lanna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lanna Hotel

Property: Royal Lanna Hotel
Address: 119 Loikroh Road (alt 23 Huay Kaew Road) | T Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #255 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Lanna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Royal Lanna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lanna Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing