We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just good. Good prices for the rooms”
Review of Royal Lanna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Lanna Hotel
Ranked #255 of 392 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed August 10, 2011

The location of this hotel is absolutely fantastic. Especially if you like shopping. The hotel is laying very close at the nightbazar. It feels also very safe in and around the hotel. There are only a lot of taxi drivers who are screaming at you when you leave the hotel. "tuktuk!!" "sir special price for you, a drive to fight of gibbon" but thats the only danger you get over you. The rooms are clean but a little bit old. It looks like a hotel what is used to be a luxery hotel but that is it not any more. But the beds are good and the price also for what you get. A good view! One negative point is the travel agent. Dont listen to her! She's only trying to sell trip packages wich are too expensive. I recommend this hotel. The staff is friendly and everything is ok.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Svenvanbeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

166 - 172 of 251 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2010

Rooms and bathrooms are clean, I'll give credit for that. However they are also very old and worn out. There is not enough lighting, beds are too soft and bouncy (when you move, your partner will feel it), and the hot water is erratic in the shower (hot,cold,hot,cold.... taking a shower is difficult!). The walls and doors are also quite thin.

The plus point is that when you walk out the front entrance, you're smack in the night market! And what a beautiful night market Chiang Mai has to offer. There's lots of sights to see every night and food everywhere! If local food doesn't suit you, there are 24hr McDonalds and Burger King around the corner as well as a 7-11. There are also many pubs, bars and restaurants geared towards tourists.

Breakfast at the hotel was adequate. For the price i paid for this hotel, I'd say its good value. However if you can afford something abit better, I'd recommend you do.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tequila888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

This hotel is ideally situated in the Night Bazaar, the staff are very friendly and helpful, the rooms are big and clean and the travel service in the lobby is good. The swimming pool is small but clean, but the sun loungers are falling apart and need replacing. The plastic covers get too hot to lie on! Some of the corridors really need repainting. One elevator was out of action when we stayed and we experienced long waits for the remaining two. The worst feature of this hotel is that internet is not available in the rooms - but only in the lobby, which was infested with lots of mosquitoes! The internet service itself was very slow.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chiangmaicharlies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Stayed in Junior Suite (20th Floor). Rooms are spacious, basic, slightly outdated but clean. Hotel corridors not really inviting and some rooms had paddlocks on them. Reception staff were found to be friendly enough. Breakfast was just satisfactory but the main advantage of staying at this hotel is the location of the night market. My only really complaint I had is that they do not offer an airport transfer service before 0700 hours and I ended up using the Downtown Inn hotel service which was half the price of the hotels service. I would consider using this hotel next year when I revisit Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank witty92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2010

We were put up in the Royal Lanna by Habitat for Humanity while in Chiang Mai on a build. The place is in a very safe and nice location in a busy section of the night market. There is ALOT to be said about the restaurants and shopping in this area, but the hotel itself isn't all that.

Being on a humanitarian build, we were not expecting anything great and didn't mind. The place would have been fine (rooms are huge), but we have a few complaints about the overall cleanliness:
1. The air conditioning unit (definately neccesary because of the weather/humidity) seemed to really aggravate sneezing, dryness, allergies - it was super dirty, old, dusty, musty - cobwebs....that kind of thing.
2. The room was only an "ok" level of clean. Bathroom was kind dingy as were the floors throughout. There were no gross smells or anything, but there was all kinds of mysterious dirt on the walls and unfilled holes and weird unexplained grim that COULD be cleaned up.
3. I question the cleanliness of the beds/bedsheets.... not super gross, but just didn't look or feel clean. I dont think they ever wash the quilt/top sheet part.

The breakfast is very subpar here as well. Staff is friendly and helpful. Again, location is great. If you don't mind some cleanliness issues, then it is a good pick based on its location. Its fine for what we were there to do.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank busheyacht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

The transfer by taxi from Chiang Mai airport to the Royal Lanna Hotel which is situated on Loi Kroh Road, right in the middle of the night market only costs 120 Baht (about £2.50). I booked a Junior Suite (£30 per night) and was given room number 2010 on the 20th floor. My large marble floored suite came with a large dining table with four chairs, A/C, two chairs (no sofa) for TV viewing (various local and international TV stations), kitchenette with large fridge/stocked mini bar and coffee making facilities. An ensuite bathroom with full bath and overhead shower was next to the kitchenette and also had a door lading to the seperate bedroom which had a king size bed, dresser, A/C and a large wardrobe. Although the rooms are very plain and echoey due to the marble floor, at least they were spotless and with clean bed linens. The corridors in the hotel are not very inviting at all but they are safe and secure. Being on the 20th floor, I had great views of the city and the elevators always arrived quickly. Smoking is allowed in the rooms (which suited me) but this may cause non-smokers some irritation. Complimentary breakfast was served in the restaurant on the 1st floor and consisted of a choice of western or asian buffet. This restaurant had very limited opening hours but luckily there is a huge selection of wonderful restaurants just steps from the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank echomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

Royal Lanna is very nice and a great relief if you´re coming from some less fancy place. We had been to Chantaburi previously and lived in a kinda awful place when we arrived so Royal Lanna was very good in that way. It is very clean and luxurious and it is not that expensive. We paid 1200 baht pr night because of low season, which I think is very reasonable.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chredda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.0 mi away
Nap in Chiangmai
Nap in Chiangmai
#39 of 392 in Chiang Mai
244 reviews
0.0 mi away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#102 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,998 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
#78 of 392 in Chiang Mai
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#54 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,366 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chiangmai Night Bazaar Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#69 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lanna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lanna Hotel

Address: 119 Loikroh Road | T Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #255 of 392 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $41 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Lanna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Lanna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lanna Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing