We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mountain View Guest House
Ranked #91 of 776 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The website makes this place seem a lot better than it was in my experience.

Negatives:
The staff wasn't really helpful and didn't tell me anything about what the hostel offered.
They accept credit cards but there is a 2% surcharge added.
My room was cleanish but rather ugly.
The beds were not very comfortable and the pillows smelled mildly of wet dog


Positives:
They have computers available and charge only 10 baht for 30 minutes.
Relatively good location right by the north gate.


Not horrible but I won't be back given that there are so many other places to stay in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chingu2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
There are newer reviews for Mountain View Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 93 of 177 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

I arrived with a booking confirmation for a double room arranged by e-mail. When i got there, the women at the reception didn't even check the agenda or the computer, she said she had no trace of my booking and bring us to a twin room, with a massive dead cockroach in the bathroom. I know those insects are everywhere, but still, when you arrive in a new room, you expect it to be clean. She finally got us a double room when she saw we were disappointed by the first room.

In the morning, we decided to take the breakfast, but no one came to take the order. We I got to the counter, the women told me that she could have come, we waited for more than 15 minutes. The staff was never friendly or welcoming, the owner never said hello or good morning to anyone. He was just wandering around and winked at me weirdly once.

We decided to go on a 2 days trek in the jungle. We asked if it was possible to book the room to get it after the trek, the women said it was ok. Then, after the trek, the women told us that our room was taken (AGAIN), she got us a another room which we (and our neighbour) got no privacy at all. The walls were just there so that you don't see the people, but you can enjoy their conversation if you want.

I think there are a lot of hotel in Chiang Mai, and that you can get better for the same price. My advice : go away from that place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaxyG87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

The staff was absolutely wonderful and the rooms are very comfortable for the price! Breakfast was delicious and served every morning starting at 7am. This guest house was the perfect place to stay for some peace and relaxation in Chiang Mai (if you are looking for something a little more private than a hostel). They happily stored my bags for me for over a week while I traveled to the islands for some sun. I can't wait to return!!!

Room Tip: You have your choice of single rooms, bunk rooms, king beds, and other various combinations.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mtupper70115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

My review is really more 3.5 rather than 4. Mountain View's appeal is that it has a great location in the old city, very near where Walking Street happens on Sundays. It is right by the North Gate. There's a 7/11 and street food right across the moat. Within walking distance are good spas and massage places. Right across the street is also a fantastic place to hang and listen to good music, the North Gate Coop.

The rooms are spartan but good enough. There are no frills at all apart from a small fridge in which you get large bottles of water everyday. One negative thing is that the bathrooms can get sauna-like in the afternoons.

There is a certain charm to the place since it is filled with plants and has a rustic feel to it. That said, it is like a mosquito central as well so load up on Off if you decide to stay. The price you pay for the place is good. There's a good restaurant as well. Laundry is cheap too.

They messed up a little on some charges to our room but that was sorted out okay with the staff.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sleepyinsomniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

this place was a haven for my crew during our visit to chiang mai. safe and quiet, with some delicious lunch options, mountain view will remain in my great memories of the city. friendly staff. the fact that it is a 4 minute walk from the Northgate Jazz co-op doesn't hurt either!

Room Tip: tell them ahead of time the kind of setup you're looking for, and they'll be willing to acco...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muminmimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

I got the cheapest room I could here; a fan only room. It was damn hot even with the fan on, but for just 300tbt I can't complain. The room was simple, spacious and clean. The place itself is actually quite pleasant, though for some reason I always struggled to find it at night (on my moped). It was nothing special, but I stayed in the cheapest room so I have complaints at all.

Room Tip: A fan only room only works if you're used to very hot places!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

From your arrival you are welcomed into a safe haven built aroung a central garden and resturant. In the Old City opposit the Northen Gate. Mant great attractions withn walking didtance, many Wats, boutique shopping, many beautiful resturants in the surroundingsoi. Mangemnet very friendly and obliging. Every room had a very private position.and is very quiet you don't see anyone unless you want to. No stuffy coridors but lots of open spaces and multiple outdoor sitting areas. somerooms have a private balcont. Great value for money. The place is rather old but extremely clean and homely. Rustic, solid furnature. The airconditioner is silent.

Room Tip: Rooms are fan or airconditioner. For most of the year in Chiang Mai a fan is sufficient. April - Jun...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.0 mi away
Siriwan Guesthouse
Siriwan Guesthouse
#61 of 776 in Chiang Mai
76 reviews
2.0 mi away
Swiss-Lanna Lodge
Swiss-Lanna Lodge
#12 of 776 in Chiang Mai
224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bon Ca Va
Bon Ca Va
#49 of 776 in Chiang Mai
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hollanda Montri Guesthouse
Hollanda Montri Guesthouse
#94 of 776 in Chiang Mai
172 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pha-Thai House
Pha-Thai House
#64 of 776 in Chiang Mai
274 reviews
2.1 mi away
Baan Kiri
Baan Kiri
#42 of 776 in Chiang Mai
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Guest House

Address: 103 - 105 Sriphum Road | opposite Chang Pheuk Gate, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 776 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $15 - $20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mountain View Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the charm of Northern Thailand in our beautiful wooden guesthouse with balcony, comfortable atmosphere, quiet garden, convenient location, where trained staff serve with a smile. We have 37 bedrooms plus one function room suitable for up to 30 people. All rooms have a private bathroom with hot shower. Located at 103-105 Sriphum Road opposite the historic Chang Pheuk Gate it is easy to find by foot or local transport. Mountain View opened in 1991. Run by a friendly couple, Dr. Jaroon and Mrs. Krisna Jittiwutikarn, Mountain View offers not only a pleasant place to stay but also the following facilities for your complete convenience: Restaurant, eat in or take away Laundry at very reasonable price Tours, trekking, cultural events & dinner bookings Car & motobike rental Flight & hotel booking Thai massage schools nearby Medical consulting and accupuncture with Dr. Jaroon Postal & overseas telephone call services Internet Cafe ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Mountain View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing