We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little oasis!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mountain View Guest House
Ranked #91 of 802 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2012

The staff was absolutely wonderful and the rooms are very comfortable for the price! Breakfast was delicious and served every morning starting at 7am. This guest house was the perfect place to stay for some peace and relaxation in Chiang Mai (if you are looking for something a little more private than a hostel). They happily stored my bags for me for over a week while I traveled to the islands for some sun. I can't wait to return!!!

Room Tip: You have your choice of single rooms, bunk rooms, king beds, and other various combinations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mtupper70115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 96 of 178 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2012

My review is really more 3.5 rather than 4. Mountain View's appeal is that it has a great location in the old city, very near where Walking Street happens on Sundays. It is right by the North Gate. There's a 7/11 and street food right across the moat. Within walking distance are good spas and massage places. Right across the street is also a fantastic place to hang and listen to good music, the North Gate Coop.

The rooms are spartan but good enough. There are no frills at all apart from a small fridge in which you get large bottles of water everyday. One negative thing is that the bathrooms can get sauna-like in the afternoons.

There is a certain charm to the place since it is filled with plants and has a rustic feel to it. That said, it is like a mosquito central as well so load up on Off if you decide to stay. The price you pay for the place is good. There's a good restaurant as well. Laundry is cheap too.

They messed up a little on some charges to our room but that was sorted out okay with the staff.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sleepyinsomniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

this place was a haven for my crew during our visit to chiang mai. safe and quiet, with some delicious lunch options, mountain view will remain in my great memories of the city. friendly staff. the fact that it is a 4 minute walk from the Northgate Jazz co-op doesn't hurt either!

Room Tip: tell them ahead of time the kind of setup you're looking for, and they'll be willing to acco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muminmimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

I got the cheapest room I could here; a fan only room. It was damn hot even with the fan on, but for just 300tbt I can't complain. The room was simple, spacious and clean. The place itself is actually quite pleasant, though for some reason I always struggled to find it at night (on my moped). It was nothing special, but I stayed in the cheapest room so I have complaints at all.

Room Tip: A fan only room only works if you're used to very hot places!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

From your arrival you are welcomed into a safe haven built aroung a central garden and resturant. In the Old City opposit the Northen Gate. Mant great attractions withn walking didtance, many Wats, boutique shopping, many beautiful resturants in the surroundingsoi. Mangemnet very friendly and obliging. Every room had a very private position.and is very quiet you don't see anyone unless you want to. No stuffy coridors but lots of open spaces and multiple outdoor sitting areas. somerooms have a private balcont. Great value for money. The place is rather old but extremely clean and homely. Rustic, solid furnature. The airconditioner is silent.

Room Tip: Rooms are fan or airconditioner. For most of the year in Chiang Mai a fan is sufficient. April - Jun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

This guest house is located at the north gate, not as busy as the other places but still have very easy excess to anywhere and everywhere. Just take a tuk-tuk or songtaeaw.
I stayed at this guest house with my parents and my sister. This guest house has basic facilities and it is extremely clean. The room cost 550 baht per night, and it comes with an air-con, tv (with english movie programmes too), hot and cold shower, fan, two beds, free wifi and etc. There was four of us so we took 2 rooms.

This guest house also have very nice courtyard and dining area. The guest house restaurant was also good and reasonably priced. But we ate at the hawker stall across the road. There were many shops that only open in the evening. There was especially one that serves pork stew rice (a beautiful lady wearing a cowboy hat), I can say that it was the best ever, My family and I ate 6 plates and each plate of pork stew rice only cost 30 baht! and we also ate there consecutively 3 nights. There is also another shop that sells dessert just in front of 7-eleven. The stall is very basic you can see that she sells some kind of a white soup it is soy bean soup. eat it with the fried brown thing. Very good MUST TRY OR YOU WILL REGRET IT!!!!

There are also some souvenirs sold at the guest house lobby. Those necklaces and bags are made by ex prostitudes which were given a chance to live a new life. They were taught how to make bags and necklaces to make a living. Do support them, your little purchase can help them go a long way.

About the internet, if you did not bring any devices that could go online, they also have an internet cafe you could use with a little fee.

There is shopping mall located nearby reachable by walking. Just ask the lobby for a map and ask them to show you. There is also a 7-eleven and Tesco express located across the road.

I would definately return here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelAbiMsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Guest house located at the north gate, though not very busy but still very have easy access to authentic local street and shopping mall. For three nights we ate at the hawker stall across the road. We ate pork trotter rice (very beautiful lady with a cowboy hat selling this rice, the best pork trotter rice ever, must try!!!) and dessert.

The room is extremely clean. The rooms have air con, water heater, tv, fan, fridge, en-suite bathroom and etc. The rooms only cost 550baht a night. Mountain view also have free wifi facilities. Mountain view's restaurant is also very green, and clean. We could also hear birds chirping cheerfully in the morning.
They also have laundry services which is very cheap and the washed clothes are also very clean.

We also took a song tiao (the modified pickup truck used as taxi) to tiger kingdom for 300baht for 4 person. The tiger kingdom is a must go, very well kept!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KualaLumpurHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.2 mi away
Hollanda Montri Guesthouse
Hollanda Montri Guesthouse
#81 of 802 in Chiang Mai
178 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baan JaJa
Baan JaJa
#84 of 802 in Chiang Mai
304 reviews
2.0 mi away
Swiss-Lanna Lodge
Swiss-Lanna Lodge
#9 of 802 in Chiang Mai
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bon Ca Va
Bon Ca Va
#49 of 802 in Chiang Mai
145 reviews
2.1 mi away
Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai
Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai
#12 of 802 in Chiang Mai
324 reviews
2.9 mi away
Baan Kiri
Baan Kiri
#43 of 802 in Chiang Mai
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Guest House

Address: 103 - 105 Sriphum Road | opposite Chang Pheuk Gate, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 802 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $15 - $22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mountain View Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the charm of Northern Thailand in our beautiful wooden guesthouse with balcony, comfortable atmosphere, quiet garden, convenient location, where trained staff serve with a smile. We have 37 bedrooms plus one function room suitable for up to 30 people. All rooms have a private bathroom with hot shower. Located at 103-105 Sriphum Road opposite the historic Chang Pheuk Gate it is easy to find by foot or local transport. Mountain View opened in 1991. Run by a friendly couple, Dr. Jaroon and Mrs. Krisna Jittiwutikarn, Mountain View offers not only a pleasant place to stay but also the following facilities for your complete convenience: Restaurant, eat in or take away Laundry at very reasonable price Tours, trekking, cultural events & dinner bookings Car & motobike rental Flight & hotel booking Thai massage schools nearby Medical consulting and accupuncture with Dr. Jaroon Postal & overseas telephone call services Internet Cafe ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Mountain View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing