We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like staying with old best friends and everything was taken care of”
Review of Seven Suns

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Seven Suns
Ranked #96 of 801 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We can't say enough good things to do the Seven Suns justice. After a week of rigorous traveling, Seven Suns arranged for pick up at the airport, gave us drinks upon arrival, and even treated us with their standard complimentary appetizers with our happy hour beers. That was just for starters!

After taking a nice hot shower in the huge bathroom in our spacious suite, we headed back down to their beautiful street side patio to watch the locals pass by on this well located yet quaint little avenue. We had dinner on the patio with Lester, Sahn, and Michelle, which was superb. After dinner we hung out with some other guests trading travel stories and advice. With that advice, we decided to go see the tigers at Tiger Kingdom the next day.

After an amazing breakfast, Seven Suns arranged a tuk tuk to get us to the shopping mall so that we could replace a lost smartphone and then a taxi to take us to the Tiger Kingdom and wait for us for the return trip. Unbelievable service!

But the service is just part of the excellent experience; the location of Seven Suns is ideal in Old City, and the rooms are better than most peoples' apartments. The furniture is modern, the bed was big and comfy, air conditioning worked as it should, little kitchenette area with French Press and local premium coffee, fridge and big bright windows made for a super place to stay.

It was sad to leave as we were so relaxed and happy staying there. With big hugs good bye, we hopped into the arranged taxi to the airport.

We look forward to our next stay stay at Seven Suns and highly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: We had the second floor corner suite and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhewDogAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 44 of 94 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2014

I stayed at Seven Suns for two nights and all i can give is a full recomandation for this place. Lester is a really nice guy and this staff is very friendly and helpfull. Even the transport to the Airport was not charged I'm sorry that i had to leave that fast.

Therefore: If you are looking for a quite and place to stay in the center of Chiang Mai, this is your place to go! You are in walking distance to the Night Bazaar without having a noisy bar or club next door.

Hint: Try those Wholeweat Waffles for Breakfast!!

Lester, my best to you, your family and your staff! Michael

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
Thank Micha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

+ Excellent location near Wat Phra Singh, just southwest of the center of the old city (if the taxi / tuk-tuk / songthaew driver doesn't recognize the location, just tell them to go to the BP Chiang Mai City Hotel, which is a two-minute walk down the block)
+ Clean, spacious, comfortable space with powerful A/C, free bottled water each day, and real coffee grounds for a French press in the room
+ Check-in was a breeze
+ Communication with the owner, Lester, was good before I arrived
+ Lester has good knowledge of and recommendations about Chiang Mai and life in Thailand in general

- The only thing missing is breakfast included with the price of the room, which you can find, for example, at the Gord Chiang Mai in the same price range (approx. $50 USD / night).
- The food in the restaurant downstairs is good and well-prepared but overpriced. Any number of restaurants offer comparable food for less.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

What stood out the most was the owner, Lester, and the staff really know how to make their guests feel welcome. Prior to arrival Lester was quick to respond to any questions I had about the place and Chiang Mai in general. Once we got there, he and the staff were just as helpful and really seemed to be interested in helping and getting to know his guests, whether it was showing us where the night markets were or giving suggestions on Thai food to try.

Rooms were very clean and comfortable, and the location was a very short walk from the Night Bazaar and the Sunday Night Market, which was probably the best market I've been to. I did see some cheaper places on several websites, but all had pretty serious complaints about service or cleanliness. Seven Suns definitely had no such problems. My wife and I agreed that we'd definitely return if we go to Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmoses79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

True to the other reviews, our driver initially had a difficult time finding this place, but a quick phone call cleared it up and he located it with little time lost (see our “tips” for how to locate the hotel). The owner, Lester (an expat from California who has lived in CM for many, many years), greeted us when we arrived and showed us to our room. He proved to be an invaluable source of information and advice throughout our trip. The room was larger than we expected, with a sizable bathroom, living room area and kitchenette. We never ran out of hot water in our shower. We had AC, but didn’t need it at night. The beds, while pretty firm, did not keep us from having a good night’s sleep every night. The place is fairly no-frills, but always clean and comfortable. The staff at the hotel is superb—very helpful and attentive. For a very reasonable fee, they wash and dry your laundry. They also helped us repair a piece of luggage that had lost a wheel. The food here was great. You can get Western food or local food—whichever you prefer, do not leave here without trying the mango-banana pancakes. :) The location of the hotel is great, too. We were walking distance to a 7-Eleven gas station (for toiletries and an ATM) and a short walk to an area with lots of restaurants and local spas. The local “bus” (an open air red truck with benches in the back) stops just in front of the hotel, and you are only about 8 mins away (by “bus” or tuk tuk) from the local night market. All in all, one of the warmest and most hospitable places we’ve stayed. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Tell your cab or tuk-tuk driver that Seven Suns is about two minutes past “BP hotel” on the right-ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marco172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We have had an excellent 10days at Seven Suns in Chiang Mai. This is our second time here and it was just as good if not better than our last trip. Lester and his lovely wife and beautiful daughter made us very welcome and their fantastically friendly staff could not do enough for us and were always smiling:0)
The food is totally excellent and incredibly good value for money we cannot recommend this place highly enough. The rooms are immaculate and very comfortable with everything you could need.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I can't speak highly enough of this place and the owner Lester. We've been in Thailand for over a month and this is absolutely the best hotel we've come across. As I write this, we are staying in the big room 302 that is in the main photo on Tripadvisor. Huge and spacious and an excellent value, my girlfriend and I couldn't be happier about coming home after a long day and kicking back in our wonderful room. Lester and his wife are the friendliest people and have abundant information regarding anything you might want to know about Chiang Mai.

Highest recommendation for Seven Suns.

Room Tip: 302 is enormous with many windows to open and let in the cool Chiang Mai breezes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.7 mi away
Roseate Hotel
Roseate Hotel
#91 of 392 in Chiang Mai
287 reviews
0.3 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#12 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,479 reviews
0.3 mi away
C Hotel Boutique and Comfort
C Hotel Boutique and Comfort
#119 of 801 in Chiang Mai
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
G2 Boutique Hotel
G2 Boutique Hotel
#89 of 392 in Chiang Mai
91 reviews
0.8 mi away
Baan Hanibah
Baan Hanibah
#26 of 801 in Chiang Mai
351 reviews
0.3 mi away
The 3 Sis
The 3 Sis
#14 of 801 in Chiang Mai
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Suns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Suns

Address: 155 Ratchamanka Rd. | T Prasingh A Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 801 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $45 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Seven Suns 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven Suns is a green oasis in the urban jungle. Close enough to get to everything, but you can leave it all behind and relax. Clean rooms with eclectic themes, great, friendly, helpful staff, excellent selection of Western and Thai foods served 0700-2300. All tour arrangements can be made on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Seven Suns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing