We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveler rating
69
18
8
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
18
8
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old city minute walk sitting area sunday walking market good size lester ac couch tuk
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 99 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Once again, Seven Suns provided me with the perfect getaway from the concrete beehive in Bangkok. Owners Lester and Sahn Smith are the epitome of guest house hosts.

Their huge comfortable suites keep visitors from having that "I've gotta get out of this room" feeling. On Sunday morning, I opened all the windows. sipped coffee I made with the french press pot provided in the room and actually enjoyed reading the newspaper.

During my 4 day stay, I met people from England, China, Belgium and beyond. The rainy season isn't necessarily the low season at Seven Suns.

Every day, a few expats would creep into the patio restaurant to enjoy a quiet cappuccino or healthy lunch. It appears this place is becoming a favorite with locals.

Perhaps the little known secret about Seven Suns is the quality of their food. My favorite breakfast is the whole wheat waffle piled high with tropical fruit and served with local honey. This trip I discovered a new favorite mid-day hunger stopper ... the co-tee-ow Laos. Spicy and sour noodle soup with chicken, fresh herbs and vegetables. Sanh is from Laos and proudly offers this culinary jewel (See picture).

I woke up this morning back in Bangkok craving one of Lester's famous fruit smoothies.

Comfortable, friendly and professional ... Seven Suns is what a guest house should be.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, but this 4 floor guest house has no lift. If you are on the top floor, the view is great, but remember you'll be walking up those stairs a few times.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barton W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

We found the Seven Suns by accident and what a find!
The Seven Suns is owned and operated by Lester and Sanh Smith, an American and his Laos wife. Both were wonderful, and the staff were delightful - nothing was too much trouble.
The rooms were great - large, clean, and with state of the art plumbing in the bathroom - obviously a lot of attention to detail in the recent refurbishment.
The location, within the Old City walls is ideal for mooching around, and again Lester & Sanh came into their own with great hints and tips of where to go and what to see.
They have an obvious love for what they do - so do yourself a favour and go there if you are in Chiang Mai. You will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I had the pleasure of spending a week at the Seven Suns Hotel in Chiang Mai. I stayed in one of the large rooms and it was HUGE! This hotel has been recently renovated by the owners and they have done a superb job. The bathroom is the best I have seen in Thailand. The bathroom would be at least twice the room of any other hotel I have been in. The rooms have all the mod cons and are very clean. The staff are very friendly and do an excellent job. The owners are there every day and were very helpful with any question I had and were only too willing to help with getting a tuk tuk or a taxi or booking a tour. Transportation in Chiang Mai is very cheap, so being in the Old City is no problem when it costs you only 20 baht to get to the night bazaar. This hotel is in a quiet part of Chiang Mai, so there is no problems with outside noise.

Staying at this hotel was like staying with family and is easily the best hotel I have stayed in whilst travelling in Thailand. next time I travel to Chiang Mai I will definitely stay at the Seven Suns.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The owner and his wife recently renovated this guest house. Amazing modern features and a inexpensive rate. I'd go again in a heartbeat!! The owner, is American and his Thai wife are both very accommodating.

Room Tip: Guarantee your room with a credit card to avoid any complications
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KatiexKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Great place to stay. Lester & Sun make you fell right at home as soon as you arrive. Rooms very clean and spacous, water, soda & beer in the fridge. They are happy to help in whatever you need - directions, recommendations for things to see, places to eat, laundry. Great food and welcoming staff. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KathyMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews