We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Wat Suan Dok
from $42.56
More Info
from $31.52
More Info
from $48.33
More Info
from $34.11
More Info
Reviews (897)
Filter reviews
897 results
Traveler rating
462
342
87
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
462
342
87
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old city main chedi buddhist temple meditation replica donation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 897 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2019 via mobile

I found the wat itself less attractive than many in Chiang Mai. There is a lot of coloured glass inside the temple, so it is bright and rather gaudy. It was quiet when we visited.

The monk chat was great. We spoke to two monks from Nepal studying at the local university and living on the mountain. Their English was good, and we had a great conversation.

Date of experience: June 2019
2  Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2019

Essentially a resting place for the faithful departed, this is a lovely, almost all white set of monuments. Think of it as a very elaborate and fancy graveyard. It was lovely and I'm so glad we go to see it.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank heyjudithz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2019

This Wat has a beautiful hall, as well as the Stupa with the cremation remains of various monks, or kings? I don't remember the entire history, but this Wat has a very interesting one, and is one of the oldest ones in Chiangmai. I recommend going and walking around, absorbing the beautiful location, and at the same time being respectful of all of the monks and novices that live and study there and at the next-door Buddhist University. Also, go to the Monk Chat! It's a great opportunity to learn more about Buddhism and Monk's lifestyle from the monks there, and for them to practice speaking English and learn about Westerners as well.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank artxtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2019

This is a beautiful Wat inside and out, but the surrounding grounds are full of chedi (or stupa if you prefer), which make this an interesting visit visually. Although the chedi were roped off due to repairs, we were able to walk through. The workers didn't seem to mind our presence.

Date of experience: March 2019
2  Thank lightroomguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2019 via mobile

A nice stop. Not large but the temples of Chiang Mai are very different than Bangkok, so interesting to see. We also were able to see the older monks training children going to school to be monks in the assembly hall.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Twwhit72
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews