We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best of the temples in Chiang Mai Old Quarter” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wat Pan Tao

Wat Pan Tao
Ranked #16 of 241 things to do in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
730 reviews
471 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,118 helpful votes
“Best of the temples in Chiang Mai Old Quarter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

LOGISTICS
Wat Pan Tao is located in the old quarter of Chiang Mai, which is a 1km squared area surrounded by a moat. There are around 36 temples in this area alone. The best way to explore them is by foot and I would recommend seeing this temple as a part of a walking tour of the temples going Wat Phra Singh > Wat Chedi Luang > Wat Phan Tao. The whole thing would take maybe an hour or so.

REVIEW
The beauty of this temple is that it is composed of old teak wood rather than 95% of temples in SE asia which are made of stone or concrete. Therefore, it is slightly different and appeals to the tourist who is getting a bit over the temple trail. It also easily accessed as a part of a walking tuor of the old quarter and requires little effort to get to.

CONCLUSION
Definitely worth a look particularly in combination with other temples in the old quarter.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Rowan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    180
    33
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Classic wood temple with a nice backyard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

We were there on Sunday of December 2. The wood temple is small and classic. Beside it there is a backyard, where candles were placed all over the place, some floating in water, some on the ground. The setting is very nice, with a statue of Buddha under a tree across the water. There was candle-lighting ceremony from 8-10 pm, but I am not sure if they do this every day or just because of Loi Krathong festival started few days ago.

Helpful?
1 Thank WongYL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Small but Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Wat Pan Tao is probably my favourite wat in Chiang Mai as it looks different from the rest. It is made out of teak and is simple-looking. I was there during Yi Peng, and the temple organised a Yi Peng event where the prayers were held before the Khoms were released to the skies. It was a beautiful time :)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChristineMayYong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ceske Budejovice, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
88 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nice wooden temple”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

It is very nice wooden temple and quite different from other Lanna temples in Chiang Mai. We found it by accident when we went to Chedi Luang.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JiriHruska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
116 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Beautiful Wooden Lanna architecture”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

There are more than 300+ wats (temples) in Chiang Mai city alone, but this small wat is a gem. On the same side of the road & adjacent to the much grander & massive Chedi Luang, this Wat is definitely worth a visit. The wat is largely made of wood (I understand, teak) & above the main door is a mosaic of a peacock standing over a dog. We understand that this represents the astrological year of the former royal resident's birth.Inside the wat, teak columns frame a large golden statue of Buddha.

One of my two favourite Chiang Mai wats

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Angshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wat Pan Tao also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Wat Pan Tao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing