We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent mid range choice in CM, good location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tri Yaan Na Ros Colonial House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tri Yaan Na Ros Colonial House
Ranked #471 of 710 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent mid range choice in CM, good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Really nice little Chiang Mai hotel, about 10 minutes southwest of Chiang Mai gate. Excellent caring staff. Breakfast is above par for the price range and very nice service. Good lunch and dinner items too. Pool is small, but fine for a dip. Beautiful layout and decor. Rooms a bit small and the many faux-antique furnishings probably make things feel a bit more confined, but overall the room, bed, and bath are VERY comfortable, so hard to complain. Only gripes are that they usually shut internet service down late at night, which was inconvenient and seemed unnecessary, and bicycles were in very poor condition. But I'm a frequent visitor to CM who has tried many smaller mid-price hotels around Chiang Mai gate (the best area, in my opinion), and this place has been my favorite so far. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Asia_addict_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    39
    16
    15
    4
See reviews for
13
59
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
reading
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We spend 3 nights in this hotel in March 2013. The hotel itself is ambsolutelly amazing, the details of its decorations was astonishing, really enjoyed it. The location of the hotel was a bit strange as no taxi/tuk tuk could find it? there is no map at the back of the business card so make sure that you can somehow give directions, we said next to the silver temple which is right next door to the hotel. The staff were amazing, from remembering exactly what you have for breakfast to putting together a little birthday cake for a friend of ours as a surprise in a space of 10 minutes, it was so nice and we loved it! so big thank you to the staff as they were amazing.
The only drawback was the room, and I must say the rooms were again beautifully decorated and bathroom were very good, but we had the main suite and the bed was so old and creeky it was difficult to sleep on this, and also the room are so dark that it is almost impossible to see what you are putting on each day! but in overall great hotel very unique and I would recommend it to all.

Room Tip: if you chose the main suite check that they got a new bed! :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daria o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Little to add to previous reviews: beautiful colonial building, small pool surrounded by trees (feels more like countryside than city), owner not seen so far, staff friendly but reserved (shy?). Coming from Isaan, this is our definition of a soft matress, but that's obviously due to last weeks' experience.
Please note two things: 1) neighbours have some hyperactive dogs, barking in choir, so bring earplugs if you wish to sleep long and 2) due to weekend Market, the hotel is very difficult to reach on Saturday and Sunday evening (17 hours onwards), you have to navigate very small back alleys, full with parked cars and bikes, where you cannot turn your car. Come either earlier or come with a good navi system. We could not have found it without our TomTom.

Room Tip: Ground floor might have noise from people walking on first floor, I think the building is made of wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda_Op_Reis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

If you want a chain hotel with every amentiy or a luxury room, this is not it.

However, If you want something quaint and unique, this is an excellent place to stay. The buildings are beautiful and our room was spacious and comfortable. There is a restaurant on site that served delicious food at great prices.

The staff are so kind, respectful and eager to help. It is a ~10 minute walk to the old city.

I noticed other reviews complain about the location being unknown amongst the local taxi/tuk-tuk drivers, this is true. It's on a back street just off a main road. Tell your driver to take you to the Silver Temple and the hotel is right around the corner.

My only complaints are that my room was dark (comes with the territory of an old building) and that we ran out of toilet paper all 3 nights. Overall, we loved it and highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mel_W918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Seriously. Going in town to have dinner and no taxies know the hotel,s address. Try to call to give directions (because the business card doesn,t have a map on the backside) and they don,t pick up the phone. I get there and the say that they never got a call... My phone must not work,,, I take it out, I call on the spot and the phone rings. He said sorry. I would be ok with it if it.was the 3rd time that this happened. Besides that, a nice 2 stars place at best.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

The rooms are quaint and lovely...very picturesque. Would recommend, though tiny pool and pillows a bit uncomfortable.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Aot B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugansk
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

The room was small, but really nice with big comfortable bed, antique furniture, simple but nice breakfast. It is close to the main attractions, city center and night bazaar. In the same time, it is hidden from the street noise. It was really perfect for me. Some old people were staying at the hotel whole day enjoying relaxing atmosphere. I guess if you are single, it is not the best place to stay hehe. Most of the visitors were young/old couples without kids, travellers seeking for peace.
The laundry service is too pricy there. I would suggest to go few meters away, ask around and you will find cheap and good laundry service.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Viktoriia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.2 mi away
Yaang Come Village
Yaang Come Village
#47 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#55 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wua Lai Boutique Hotel Chiang Mai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
BB Mantra Hotel
BB Mantra Hotel
#42 of 710 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
1.0 mi away
MO Rooms
MO Rooms
#139 of 710 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#17 of 710 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tri Yaan Na Ros Colonial House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tri Yaan Na Ros Colonial House

Property: Tri Yaan Na Ros Colonial House
Address: 156 Wualai Road | T. Haiya, A. Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #471 of 710 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tri Yaan Na Ros Colonial House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Tri Yaan Na Ros Colonial House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tri Yaan Na Ros Colonial House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing