We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wanted to move in...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tri Yaan Na Ros Colonial House
Ranked #404 of 776 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 10, 2007

This hotel was wonderful. The rooms were beautiful, the staff was so very hospitable and it felt like you were not in the middle of the silver district. To get to the night market, the staff will call a tuk tuk, which was very cheap. The breakfast was lovely. The only problem we had was that on Sundays, the main street is blocked off for the market. We did not know this, so instead of getting off at the hotel. the tuk tuk driver dropped us off a few blocks away. This was no problem, other then us trying to understand why we were being dropped off - we did not realize that was the street the hotel was on. Bonus, though, we were able to peruse the market and picked up some more trinkets to take with us.

  • Stayed: October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SheridanInLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
There are newer reviews for Tri Yaan Na Ros Colonial House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 76 of 131 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2007

Beautiful hotel indeed BUT..
1. NOt close to the center unless you wish to walk for 20 mins, further the road has very few tud tuc driving pass
2. Staff very kind BUT not at ALL useful
. COuld not direct me to a trekking company (only to the room where they have brochure which was not useful anyway!); and could not get me a tuc tuc to and back from the airport for a non rip off price (their contact asked for 180 bat, I tuc tuc I found on the street charged me 100 bat to drive me there, wait and come back...)
All in all v. beautiful but as a turist I would have preferred a more central location and more helpful staff.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Finsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2007

A beautiful small hotel, where the owners have clearly made a lot of effort and successfully created an old-fashioned style that must be very rare these days. The room was beautifully furnished, with silver dishes and ornaments and beautiful silks.

Service was excellent, with staff eager to help out with our travel arrangements, and any questions we had.

The only real disappointment was the restaurant. As with the rest of the hotel, it was beautifully furnished and the service was excellent, but the food at dinner was extremely disappointing. Our food (all Thai dishes) had clearly come from the freezer and been heated up (not very successfully in some cases). A shame, since it would have been such a nice environment in which to eat, but not a disaster, with there being so many great restaurants in the rest of the city. Breakfast was basic, but quite sufficient and very enjoyable.

Apart from that, as noted by other reviewers, mosquitoes are indeed a problem. Using the bed's mosquito nets and sprays/incense seemed to do the trick but, foolishly, we didn't do this until after the first night, which we regretted for several days (and many bumps) to come.

As an oasis of peace, and exceptionally good value, it was a pleasure to stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simonbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2007

This boutique hotel was beautiful and the people working there equally so, but.... the bed was so hard it was almost unbearable and the rooms are too dark and cramped. Still, it was lovely in many ways.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank smorov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2007

Wow! What a great little boutique hotel. Having been bored by the usual generic brand name hotels we decided to try something more homely.
This place is an oasis in the middle of Chiang Mai, in fact, once in the compound you feel a million miles away from the city.

The rooms are fabulously decorated in old Thai/Burmese style tradition and have a good sized bathroom with rainforest style shower heads.....great!

The swimming pool, though small is more than adequate for a dip and a couple of lengths to cool down. The breakfast in the morning is a little disappointing considering the restaurant but more than adequate....and Thailand is full of great places to eat every 100 yards or so anyway.

We had a car, and I feel if we didn't, it could have been an inconvenience getting to and from the hotel as it's not located centrally in the tourist hotspots.

Overall, I would heartily recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank cardiffnoddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2007

We booked this hotel on a recommendation from a friend as there are so many hotels in Chiang Mai and we had no idea. This is a fabulous place located a 10 minute walk from the old town area or a 60 baht tuk-tuk ride to most places.

Staff are very accomodating and speak excellent English. They were happy to make reservations and enquiries on our behalf and even have a whole room full of tourist information related to trecking tours and other activites.

The decor is amazing - heavy teak furniture in traditional Lanna style with statues and old photographs everywhere. Everything is quaint, from the restaurant and afternoon tea areato the litle pool. Rooms aren't massive but most people travel to CM for the outdoor pursuits and probably don't spend much time in the room. The shower was lovely with massive rainforest head and lovely big bath. The four poster bed is surrounded by mosquito nets (we didn't experience any problems with mosquitos but then again we were there in the dry season) and there are old-fashioned shutters to keep out unwanted light and noise.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Steve_Amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2007

This little gem was truly a wonderful experience. This great little place has only eight wonderful rooms. It is located just outside the city walls in the silver craft area. You can walk to the city in about 10-15 minutes but tuk tuks are readily available along the main road outside the front of the hotel or you can use one of the free bicycles the hotel will loan you. The property is beautiful and well maintained. They have antiques everywhere and demonstrate a beautiful history of Chiang Mai. Upon check in, they serve you flavored water (hibiscus, I think) in hand made silver bowls made down the street. Mosquitoes can be a problem, but the hotel burns candles and citronella in the courtyard and around the rooms at night and has mosquito netting on the doors and beds if necessary. The staff is extremely friendly and accomodating. The little cafe up front served the free breakfast which we thought to be good. They didn't offer a huge variety on the tiny buffet, but would fix other things (egg, sausage, bacon) upon request. The free internet in the library / information room was nice although unreliable. Rooms were very good. All look out onto the pool area. Staff was wonderful. They made reservations and provided excellent service. They went out of their way in many regards, such as heating up some food for us in the cafe after it closed or taking mail to the post office for us. I can't say enough nice things about this place. We were totally relaxed just hanging out inside this little complex. It was everything and more that we had hoped for.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank halo36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.1 mi away
BanThai Village
BanThai Village
#43 of 387 in Chiang Mai
670 reviews
0.1 mi away
Teeraya Boutique Hotel
Teeraya Boutique Hotel
#144 of 888 in Chiang Mai
140 reviews
0.6 mi away
Viang Dara
Viang Dara
#236 of 776 in Chiang Mai
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tadkham Village
Tadkham Village
#80 of 776 in Chiang Mai
335 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baan Ratchiangsaen
Baan Ratchiangsaen
#44 of 888 in Chiang Mai
119 reviews
1.4 mi away
Baan Kaew Guesthouse
Baan Kaew Guesthouse
#137 of 776 in Chiang Mai
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tri Yaan Na Ros Colonial House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tri Yaan Na Ros Colonial House

Address: 156 Wualai Road | T. Haiya, A. Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #404 of 776 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $35 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tri Yaan Na Ros Colonial House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tri Yaan Na Ros Colonial House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tri Yaan Na Ros Colonial House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing