We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive hotel with pool and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chiang Mai Gate Hotel
Ranked #116 of 387 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Chiang Mai was nothing great, but it did have a pool, which many of the hotels in city center don't and it was a pretty good location, just outside the Wall on south side. The rooms in the old part of hotel are larger but older than new section. The front desk folks were nice but customer service was only adequate. There was alot available for breakfast but not very tasty. Large tour groups stay at the hotel so if a bus was there, the breakfast room was crowded. It is a long walk to the river or city center, but doable. There were several good, inexpensive restaurants in the same block as hotel so that was a plus!

Room Tip: Rooms in the main section of hotel are larger and older. We emailed ahead of time to ask for adjoin...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oregonirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
There are newer reviews for Chiang Mai Gate Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

253 - 259 of 564 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2012

I travel to Chiang Mai usually before or after I stay in Bangkok. I rent a scooter here so this hotel fits the bill, convenient to travel to the center of town, a few minutes to the airport and nearby to Muslim food. Stayed here for 4 nights and it was great to see familiar faces from the driver who collected me at the arrival hall to the wonderful General Manager Khun Siwach who will smile and welcome me back. Check in was attended by the ever smiling Issaraporn and whatever details that I needed was met in just a few minutes. Was given room 528 I think facing the other side of the street. Noticed the key lock area needed a fix and it was attended to the next morning. Chiang Mai was hazy but my stay and breakfast for the next 4 mornings were a treat as I enjoyed the pancakes with maple syrup. The tour groups were there as The Royal Flora were about to end yet with the rate that I usually pay here, compared to the chaos I have witnessed in Hat Yai or even Bangkok, just wait for a later time to eat and the hot freshly fried potatoes and steaming white rice will be there. One must be patient and smile after all. I even saw Khun Siwach carrying the almost empty rice buffet tray to be refilled as Thais prefer rice and khao tom early in the morning. I miss eating the poached tomatoes though but the Khao Soi has been added as a fixed menu. Thanks to Kinkaew and the others at the dining hall for their service in the morning. My room is immaculate as usual even though it is termed as Standard but it beats many other Standard rooms in other hotels that I have previously visited. The in- room safe is large and accomondating, my toileteries are sufficient and I bring my own toothpaste and toothbrush as with my rented scooter, if you turn left after the entrance, just a short distance are a 7-11 and a Tesco Express ,where you can buy drinks and snacks or even microwave hot meal yet if one turns right after the hotel's main entrance and proceed to cross to the actual Chiang Mai Gate area, the market and the food stalls are open till dawn and for me, the push cart stalls just infront of Kasikorn Bank has 2 Muslim operators selling cheap tasty ox- tail soup, chicken rice, briyani Thai style and khao soi. All priced from 35 baht till 50 baht and the 7-11 nearby is where I buy my drinks. The burger stall just beside sells burgers that comes from Malaysia( Ramli Burger) so that means it is Halal. The Night Bazaar, Tesco Lotus and Chaeronpratet Muslim area are just a slow ride away and when I am back to the hotel, the lobby is usually a haven at night to catch up on the daily English news. I will be back agaim in June, same place that fits my simple needs. Highly recommended for what you need at a simple but trusty hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank norhisham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Just your average hotel room in need of updating. The room definitely smelled very moldy and the hot water was on the fritz. Otherwise, the rooms were clean, the staff were pleasant and it was close enough to everything.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ky_the_canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

The rooms are small (but nicely decorated), hot water not reliable, wifi very intermittent and the breakfast downright disgusting. We were supposed to stay here for 7 nights but managed only 2. It was worth paying to upgrade to another hotel just to get away from this one. On the first night we had noisy neighbours (TV on loud until past midnight) and when we rang reception to complain someone was sent to fix ours!! That was followed by a cold breakfast with staff who seemed totally disinterested in either refilling empty containers or attempting to keep hot food warm. We didn't dare risk the restaurant for other meals. It's a budget hotel, no more and unfortunately we didn't know how much was paid for the room as we were on a package deal booked from UK before we travelled. I did hear some say that they had the room for 500 baht per night (based on staying 30 days). That's about right! Sure the location is good and cheap (and tasty) food can be had 10 minutes walk away. I think the reports on this hotel depend on where else you had stayed in Thailand and we had had MUCH better. The other thing we noticed was that dirty plates and crockery were left in a corridor near the stairway (on the way down to the pool) for the ENTIRETY of our stay there. So much for the cleaning staff! I have to say though that the front desk staff were always helpful, hence the "3" for service. This was the only hotel out of the 10 we stayed in during our month in Thailand which I would not recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in January 2012. Had connecting rooms which was great. The hotel is large enough to cater for tour groups, so you get a lot of these coming and going. This isn't bad as such, it's just if you want a quieter feel, it might not be the place for you. The breakfast is fine - nothing special - it's just that with the volume of people moving through it's probably not kept quite clean enough. Nothing spectacularly bad, just table wipe downs and changes of soiled place mats, stuff like that.
The staff are friendly, and it's in a really good location for access to the old town. They also have a free shuttle to the Night Bazaar which was really useful.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RfsowV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

I stayed here with a friend last summer and we were more than impressed with this hotel. We arrived at the airport with nowhere booked and went to one of the desks that advertise hotels. They offered this hotel at a discount price and our only mistake was not booking for longer. (thinking we would be ripped off, when actually this was a steal!!)
We stayed in a twin room which was beautifully decorated and the hotel also has a lovely pool, although it can get busy... as we were sight seeing this wasn't a problem, but nice to have an early morning/evening dip.
The breakfast was included in our rate and was what you would expect - buffet style with some authentic thai stuff thrown in too.
This hotel is a little out of town, but the free bus goes into the night market each evening and its soooo cheap to get around on a tuk tuk that this wasn't a problem at all.
The staff were all lovely and friendly. My only tiny complaint was the internet facility - often slow or freezing constantly, better to walk down the road and use a local internet cafe.
Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel if it is in your budget, even better to book at the airport and get it for a third of the price!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

In general this hotel has it all: nice and clean rooms (although we stayed in the older part of the hotel, rooms were of a very acceptable level), big swimming pool, VERY friendly and helpful staff, good location (not really in the very busy centre and just outside the "ring road" but centre can be reached by foot or tuktuk easily), bike rental, shops, bars, restaurants close to the hotel, etc...

But showering was really hell! Whenever we took a shower (morning, noon, evening) water went from freezing cold to boiling hot constantly no matter on which level you put the tap... When you stay in a city you want to take a good shower every now and then and I wouldn't even care if the water was not hot enough or not cold enough or whatever, but the constant change of temperature of the water made it almost impossible to shower. When the water was hot it was way too hot and you couldn't stay under the shower. This was a really very bad experience. And it's also very sad because as I said aside from this this hotel has a great potential... Only because of this fact I rate the rooms as terrible... We wanted to make a complaint about this but then we heard from a lot of other couples they were facing the same problem so we did not bother...

As mentioned before the hotel can get really busy when coaches of locals are dropped of. We didn't have noise at night (suppose most of these tourists stayed in another part of the hotel) but breakfast was really busy and very noisy sometimes.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ozrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.1 mi away
Roseate Hotel
Roseate Hotel
#85 of 387 in Chiang Mai
278 reviews
0.4 mi away
WangBurapa Grand Hotel
WangBurapa Grand Hotel
#133 of 387 in Chiang Mai
257 reviews
1.0 mi away
Eurana Boutique Hotel
Eurana Boutique Hotel
#263 of 387 in Chiang Mai
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#51 of 387 in Chiang Mai
904 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maninarakorn Hotel
Maninarakorn Hotel
#151 of 387 in Chiang Mai
652 reviews
0.6 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#55 of 387 in Chiang Mai
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiang Mai Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiang Mai Gate Hotel

Address: 11 / 10 Suriyawong Road,Haiya, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 387 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $25 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chiang Mai Gate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chiangmai Gate Hotel is nicely decorated in traditional Lanna (Nothern) Thai style with 121 rooms ( Standard, Superior, Deluxe, and Suite ). Chiangmai Gate Hotel is centrally located near the heart of the city with approximately 20 minutes walk to historic Thapae Gate, old Temples and only 10 minutes ride to the airport and famous Night Bazaar. Apart from providing clean and nicely decorated in traditional Lanna (Northern) rooms, we also offer wide range of basic amenities, facilities and services including a restaurant, meeting facilities and swimming pool. So, whether you are on vacation or business trip, think of Chiangmai Gate as your first choice and you will ultimately experience friendly & warmth atmosphere, customer care and plenty of smiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chiang Mai Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing