We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place,friendly & helpful people” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Libra Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Libra Guest House
Ranked #31 of 710 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Porvoo, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place,friendly & helpful people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Libra was my base in Chiang Mai, the staff made me feel at home right away. I did a 2-day trek which was very nice, people, nature and animals were treated with respect. It made me very happy to see how the elephants lived in the jungle, free to go and roam around the jungle and beautiful river in afternoon and night. Great guides! The trek was really too short, so I have to come back with my sons to do a longer one.. Please continue this way of working guys. Thanks for all this, Warm Regards to all

Room Tip: Just check the rooms before you choose, which suits you best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    78
    35
    15
    26
See reviews for
17
127
75
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Libra Guest House is a great place for those looking for a convenient base in the Old Town in Chiang Mai at very affordable prices. We stayed for 2 nights before heading up to Pai, we then stayed a further 2 nights on our way back.

The owners were brilliant and we're able to answer various questions and give recommendations for excursions we wanted to do whilst in Chiang Mai. They also helped answer questions for our plans for onward travel to Laos.

We stayed in a double room with fan. The room was fine but we did find it really hot despite having the fan on through the night. Also the first room had no power sockets which made it difficult to charge our cameras etc. We also found the WiFi to be poor in our room and had to go down to the kitchen area if we wanted to look anything up.

These issues are minor however and for the price we paid we were more than happy with the room, service and location.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Spent 4 days in Chiang Mai and really loved this guesthouse - extremely friendly, funny and helpful staff who are all a family so they really take pride in the place. Nice room with a hot shower and had a lovely secluded garden with hammocks for relaxing in. Also a short walk to everywhere we wanted to see in Chiang Mai. The guided trek in the jungle they organised for us was excellent and our guide was really knowledgable of the jungle. We woke early to find the elephants on the second day - they let roam the jungle at night, really nice to see very happy elephants! Then to get back we floated down a beautiful river on bamboo rafts - amazing experience!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

I will not repeat the information provided by many other reviewers but I do think that folk who have given less than fulsome reviews of this little gem, may be missing the point. The deal that this family run business offers, includes decent accommodation at good prices. The rooms are clean but very basic. Nice and quiet in the evenings, not a guest house for party animals.

Other GH's may offer similar (if not better) value but the key difference the libra offers IMO is unlimited, spot-on advice on where to go and what to do in Chiang Mai. Another bonus is that they also offer their own outward bound activities. My wife and i went on their two day, one night trek adventure and like every other reviewer, thought it was absolutely terrific. It is a cut above similar offerings elsewhere. A note of caution though, we did the trek in 36 degree heat and found the first afternoon tough. Not for the feint hearted but totally worth it.

Combine all the above with friendly, helpful staff (mostly family) for whom nothing was too much trouble, then you have a winning combination. Well done!

Room Tip: We got a room with aircon and hot shower but to be honest we would have been as happy in one of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank topazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

My son, 12 years old, and I stayed at the guest house across the road from Libra but we accessed their great service and breakfast. I first used the travel agency to book our flight to Australia after our Chang Mai visit and it worked out great. Then we used the tour services offered through the front desk, including a 2 day trek into the mountain villages. She also arranged taxi services for local visits to the temples and museums and local attractions and finally the taxi service to the airport. I wish I could remember her name but she was amazing. She always remembered our names and what we needed without reminding. It was great to have someone to talk to the tuk tuk drivers so that there was no misunderstanding. I can't wait to return to Chang Mai and actually stay at the LIbra Guest House next time.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank P J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

The garden was quite nice with 6 large hammocks. I think there aren't many gardens this big in downtown CM

Staff are very efficient. They were pushing the tours at other guests while I was checking in.
I got a cold shower room facing onto the garden at the back, (wait until the afternoon before showering and it doesn't seem so cold!) / 300bht . It had a large tube style light in the room so was good for reading (they normally have the 12 w energy saving bulb )

I would go back there as I like a garden area to chill In and escape from the tourist chaos

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patch A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magog, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Spent 9 days at libra guest house! Great staff, rooms are clean, the price is good and it is very well located. Quiet area, in walking distance to much of interesting places in chiang mai. Staff is very friendly and will help you plan your trip. A+++

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FraNnNky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
The Britannia
The Britannia
#17 of 710 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Junior Guest House
Junior Guest House
#26 of 710 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baan JaJa
Baan JaJa
#70 of 710 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
PM Guesthouse
PM Guesthouse
#23 of 787 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#18 of 710 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.4 mi away
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
#3 of 787 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Libra Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Libra Guest House

Property: Libra Guest House
Address: 28 Moon Muang Road Soi 9, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 710 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Libra Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing