We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved Chiang Mai :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Libra Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Libra Guest House
Ranked #32 of 720 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Loved Chiang Mai :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had a nice week long stay at the Libra Guesthouse, was recommended by a lady we met on the train journey there! The owners are very friendly, the rooms spacious and very cheap for what you get. Good location too. Thanks for a nice stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyNorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    80
    35
    15
    26
See reviews for
17
128
76
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at several places in Chiang Mai, Libra has been my favorite. Perfect location in the calmer northeast corner of the old city. The owners are great, super helpful and very funny. Be aware that it's high season plus the flower festival, so most places are booked or only have one night available at a time, it's difficult to find multiple nights by walking around, you'll see lots of people trying... Libra's less expensive 400-800 baht high season rate rooms were full, but they had a large 1000 baht room available for several nights, good value, it's just as nice as one that I had paid quite a bit more for in the noisy center of town. Mostly young backpackers but also some families. Nice garden areas and good food. Room 108, so quiet, the only sounds were the birds outside and the refrigerator. I'll be back in a couple weeks to go on their 3-day trek, looks like fun and good reviews.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is a nice family run guest house in a chilled area of Chiang Mai. The family were nice, washing service was fast and cheap. I only ate breakfast there once but it was pretty good. There's a garden out the back. WARNING don't book Room 4, or insist upon not having it. The room is simple but nice but the water from the tap smelt so strongly of rotten eggs it made me feel sick every time i turned it on. Also the owners have put a smoking area/bench outside the door/window of the room which means other people's smoke wafts in.
I'd stay here again but in a different room.

Room Tip: Don't choose room 4!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Libra was basic but it dont matter because in chiang mai your always doing something it was perfectly fine for a bed to stay in ! frendly staff and close to most things in Chiang mai !! You deffo have to go to the ibra guesthouse and book their elephant trekking trip with them its the best and the tour leader toto was the best :) also book a cooking course through libra but make sure you choose 'Thai secret cooking school' thats by far the best :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jazzywright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yosemite National Park, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Libra Guesthouse is an overall great stay, where you can't go wrong!

The guesthouse is family ran, with a great and inviting atmosphere, offering very clean and nice basic rooms, for an inexpensive decent price.
Location is great, right on the edge of old town, and with the city being quite small everything is an easy short walk away - many restaurants, delicious street food, temples, internet cafes (as the wi-fi didn't work there for us) aswell as the night market.

They offer trekking trips through the guesthouse, which they personally run, with lots of fun things to do that are a must while in Chiang Mai, but check around prices of other places first, as we found the same trip for less then half their price!

My only minor complaints would be their uncomfortable beds, broken wi-fi, and no luggage storage after check-out, but besides those small things, easily looked past, this is a great guesthouse I highly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarissaVon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Lanta, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Two nights on route to Laos. Staff are extremely helpful. Location is great, in the old town, nice and quiet at night. Rooms are spacious (we had a double) and theres hot water. Breakfasts are also good. Thai fitness is only 5 minutes by bike away. Go in the morning, much much quieter. Youll struggle to grab equipment in the evenings.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lalacou T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in Libra Family guest house and we also made the 2 days trek, with elephants, bamboo rafting and 4 hours walk. It was a really good experience, friendly people, always happy to help to book another trip, to come to pick up people in the bus station or give information.
It is also a good place to have a breakfast, not so expensive and good.
I highly recommend this Guest House !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auchalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
The Britannia
The Britannia
#17 of 720 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Junior Guest House
Junior Guest House
#28 of 720 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.2 mi away
PM Guesthouse
PM Guesthouse
#19 of 809 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#16 of 720 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yindee Stylish Guesthouse
Yindee Stylish Guesthouse
#39 of 720 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.4 mi away
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
#3 of 809 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Libra Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Libra Guest House

Property: Libra Guest House
Address: 28 Moon Muang Road Soi 9, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 720 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Libra Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing