We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing place, would recommend it to anyone”
Review of Libra Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Libra Guest House
Ranked #32 of 802 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 6, 2011

This has to be, by far, one of the best guesthouses i've stayed and will ever stay at. Libra is a family-run guesthouse, and it shows in every way, which is a very good thing. Owner Dao (who's english is excellent btw) made us (three 24 year old belgians) feel right at home. We had only planned five days of chiang mai, but ended staying up to two weeks, in no small part because of libra! First and foremost: Dao and her family. They have a great sense of humor and helped us out with anything we asked (of) them. For example, just to show you how much of an effort they make: when we wanted to go from chiang Rai (not mai! this a week after we stayed at libra's) to bangkok, we had to take a bus to chiang mai and transit to the nighttrain there. Thing is, we didnt understand a thing about the nighttrain website, so we called Dao who immediatly booked the tickets for us and had them ready at the counter for us to pick them up. Long story short: she's amazing, and so is her family. They taught us how to make kratongs and how to say some stuff in thai, and their cooking (there's a restaurant connected to the GH) is very very good! As for the rooms: We ended up staying in three or four different rooms during our two weeks, but it all came down to 150 baht per person per night, which is very cheap imo. The rooms themselves were lovely: a bed and furniture that actually looked as if it was quite expensive, a nice and clean hot shower/toilet room and a decent sink. There's also an extremely relaxing garden in the back, with about six or seven hammocks, and they have a laundry service for 25 baht/kilo. And let's not forget the libra trekking tours! We went on a two day hike through the mountains with them, including a waterfall visit, hot springs, great hike through mountains, jungles and numerous villages, a night in an authentic hilltribe village (happy water!), elephant riding, bamboo rafting and white water rafting. Libra also offers a range of other tours and stuff but we didnt do any of those due to budget constraints. Oh, and they pick you up from the airport/busterminal/trainstation when you arrive :) ANYHOO, words cant describe how much i love this place. Best guesthouse i've been so far, that's all that needs to be said

Room Tip: rooms on the north side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lapalux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (455)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 455 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2011

this place is so good, friendly people they help you as much as they can. I recomend the trekking they have a great guide "Toto you rock" Abujhaaa!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dansim71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

We stayed at libra the last 4 days of our trip. This was one of the best places we have stayed in the 6 weeks we have travelled! Dao and her sister run the place and they are crazy! They can book all kinds of trips for you and we really recommend the trekking they offer. The guide they hire, Toto, is a great guy who also is a bit crazy but at the same time very serious and learns you a lot of things about the nature.
At the end of it all we even got a free taxi ride to the airport!
In one word: ABUJAAAAA

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BartAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

The Libra isn't the best place we've stayed in terms of comfort. The mattresses are a bit thin, but the sheets are spotless and the rooms pretty clean. We arrived at 11pm and were shepherded to a twin room (we are a couple and had emailed to book a double), but were too tired to argue. The next morning we met Dao, a lovely lady who speaks excellent English and runs the place. She was apparently arguing with her staff about whether we were a couple or two guys - they decided on the latter. She apologised and immediately moved us to a nicer double room on the first floor (which I would advise, as the ground floor can get very noisy). We then got given a 20 minute guide to Chiang Mai as Dao gave us a map and circled all of the important places to visit and sights to see. She could not have been more accommodating. Breakfast wasn't included, but was 75B for a continental breakfast which was filling and reasonably priced. We also booked a 2 day/1 night trek tour with Libra which we paid 1800 for, and another 700 on top for whitewater rafting. This included elephant trekking, a village stay, and bamboo rafting. I cannot rate this highly enough. We didn't see another tourist on the trip other than our group, as Libra use a local Karen villager and trek a little off the beaten path which was refreshing. You'll find cheaper treks, but for an extra 16 quid or so, it's worth going with Libra. Dao is always on hand for a joke and to answer questions, and at 350B per night, it's a decent place to stay at a great location in the old city.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sparkyrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

The first impression is not so good, and maybe the rooms are not the best you ever experienced, but the Libra is a very nice place for several point of views: the quality-price rate, the kindness of the staff, the availability of excursions you can book. They arranged two days of trekking in the jungle for us, that were the best adventure we had in Thailand. And also they gave many useful information about the twon and other places to visit. Then it will be hard to leave!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberto R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Stayed down the back rooms, which unfortunately is where all the huge bottomed Euro females where staying. Each night they trickled back tanked from 12:30am to 3:30am. Loud loud loud. Slamming doors continuously. The doors are so so loud when they close!!! Loud Skype wifi calls regularly made back to Europe out in garden near my room. Awful obnoxious travelers. Cleaners or whoever then attend to turning on water taps,washing, bins, whatever around 5:45am. More noise. My room had no TV. When questioned as to why..... silence... Upon arrival I was greeted by many school kids and their family I suppose, all milling around the reception area. Nice, but not for me. If ya love late nights and big bottomed girls - and can sleep through their wailing. It's for you! Me thinks ya might have a chance at pickin up here ...... ewww

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank yousonofabeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Our room was extremely hot at night, we appreciate it was only a fan room but it was a lot cooler outside! The guest house had a nice garden with hammocks. The senior staff as not very welcoming senior staff and seemed to complicate the wi-fi password process. It is a little way out of town but is a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.0 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#49 of 392 in Chiang Mai
933 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#1 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,373 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#19 of 392 in Chiang Mai
3,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 392 in Chiang Mai
2,074 reviews
1.2 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#26 of 392 in Chiang Mai
684 reviews
0.9 mi away
Maninarakorn Hotel
Maninarakorn Hotel
#158 of 392 in Chiang Mai
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Libra Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Libra Guest House

Address: 28 Moon Muang Road Soi 9, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 802 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Libra Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing