We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful and clean hostel”
Review of Libra Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Libra Guest House
Ranked #32 of 733 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“beautiful and clean hostel”
Reviewed August 13, 2011

I stayed here in February 2011 for three nights and it was perfect. We had a double room with private bathroom and it was very clean. The staff is very helpful. They even arranged train tickets to Bangkok for us! If you're interested in a cooking course: they arrange alot of cooking courses for the guests! If I'm in Chiang Mai again, I will defenitely stay here again! I can recommend this place to every traveller!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marrigje19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    80
    36
    15
    26
See reviews for
17
129
77
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2011

This guesthouse is a "must stay". The rooms are what you expect from a mid class Thailand guesthouse- AC and hot water, room is clean. The best part of Libra is the staff. The owner/operator, Dao, is the most outstanding person we have met on our trip. She picked us up from the airport, sat us down at a table upon ariving at Libra, took out a map and gave us a 15 min introduction to Chiang Mai, including what to see and what to avoid. Further, Libra has a private company that runs trek's for it, you book at reception, and get picked up from the guesthouse on your day of departure- a definite must do!

Any questions or concerns you have will instantly be answered by Dao with a smile and a joke! She made our trip to Chiang Mai what it was, amazing!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave154995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2011

A very nice and friendly family guesthouse. Nice rooms for a nice price. The lady manager is superfriendly and she has some good tips on trips. The massages are good. Try the gibbon experience, a bit expensive but worth it. We even saw some gibbons...

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janneke_en_died
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed 4 nights in Libra and didn't have any problems.
The hostel is a 2 minute walk to the main Chiang Mai area and only a 10 minute walk from the walking market streets and a 2minute tuktuk to the night bazaar.
The lady at the front desk/owner was amazingly helpful and full of useful tips. She even discouraged me from doing one of the trips she earned commission on because she didn't feel like I'd get much out of it and pointed us towards great dining options.
The laundry service was also first rate and all the trips we booked, like Flight of the Gibbon, were all excellently done.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andysmith96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

My husband and I at 63 and 52 are older than the average guest at the Libra, but we felt really welcome and comfortable here. The guest house is perfectly situated inside the old city moat, in a quiet part of the city, but walking distance from many attractions. The room was perfect, clean and bright, with lovely teak floors, The troptical garden with hammocks and shrines was an oasis and very atmospheric, especially after rain. There is a laundry right at the guest house that is very reasonable. Dao runs an efficient operation, helping guests to plan things to do, making bookings for cooking school, restaurants, etc. I had had my appendix out three weeks earlier but still wanted to do a trek - when we emailed before arriving Dao said don't worry let's sit down and talk about it when you get here. Then on the spot, after assessing that I was fit and could walk a long distance as long as I did not carry a pack (my husband carried for me) she arranged an absolutely wonderful two day trek with a brilliant trek leader, We hiked through jungle, stayed overnight in a hill tribe village (and the Libra guest house did not charge us for that night even though we left all our stuff in our room), then the next day continued on elephants and then on bamboo raft down the river. When we got back on a high from this trip Dao was waiting to find out how things went. She always made time to chat, in between seeing to guests and getting her two children off to school. Chiang Mai was the highlight of our trip, not least because of the home from home that we came back to each day after enjoying the amazing sights and things to do. We would love to return some day.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzy040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2011

This is a family run guest house. I found them to be welcoming from helping me with passport issue to trek/tours. I was most impressed with their trek about 1/3 cost of others and not at all the usual tourist/ type trap. Convientant to walk tot many of the sites and lots of restaurants in the area. Breakfast is also good at Libra.
Room is basic, but they have a nice courtyard and it is very affordable.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deckiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada Flintridge, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

we arrived early morning after the sleeper train from delhi. The Libra Guesthouse is centrally situated, very clean and has well informed, English speaking staff. You can leave all your valuables in your room when you go out as you can lock your room door with your own padlock bedrooms, dining/general purpose areas are constantly cleaned by smiling staff . The guest house is efficiently run, kept clean and is truly value for money. Overall I would whole heartedly recommend both the libra guesthouse.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mailme_marieya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
The Britannia
The Britannia
#17 of 733 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Junior Guest House
Junior Guest House
#29 of 733 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.2 mi away
PM Guesthouse
PM Guesthouse
#19 of 822 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#16 of 733 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yindee Stylish Guesthouse
Yindee Stylish Guesthouse
#42 of 733 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.4 mi away
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
#3 of 822 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Libra Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Libra Guest House

Property: Libra Guest House
Address: 28 Moon Muang Road Soi 9, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 733 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Libra Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing