We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun, quirky and still luxurious - very friendly engaging, young staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Ranked #28 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Waynesville, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun, quirky and still luxurious - very friendly engaging, young staff.”
Reviewed January 2, 2010

Rooms were delicious and there is a plastic box that the housekeeper leaves a token gift in each day and we used to leave her tips in. One morning one of the items of food ran out and when I looked sad, the cook immediately went and made more for me. Since we were eating late, I doubt he had been planning to refill that particular item. This hotel is also steps from the Night Market which is a total blast - for many nights. It is also walking distance to lots of massage places and a great new Garra Fish spa that looks out over the street as you soak.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gale500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,036
    532
    145
    40
    18
See reviews for
313
810
127
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2009

13/14/15 Dec:
Wow was this hotel trendy! We felt very scruffy when pulling up to this hotel but the staff made us feel very welcome. They greeted us at the door and then asked us to take a nice comfy seat to check in. We checked in and was given a nice refreshing drink in a wobbly glass (this amused my partner for ages). We were offered a breakfast upgrade (as we didnt pay for breakfast upfront) - 1300 baht per day per couple and you got a buffet breakfast plus free booze between 5pm-7pm every day alongside 45 minutes of free wifi and free soft drinks/small snacks all day every day. We did this deal and it turned out to be great value!

The room was also uber trendy but also very comfortable and clean. It was a first for us to have glass around the bathroom with blinds (open!).

The Bar and restaurant were lovely. Breakfast food was very nice. Staff were extremely friendly. They also had a DJ in the lobby every night from 7pm playing funky tunes.

They even had an outdoor bar across the road. This was all lit up and they had outdoor BBQ's. We were also right next to the street night market. We found our favourite cocktail ever here too - Lychee and Absolut Mandarin!! YUM!

The only problem we had was that it was so quiet. Perhaps we went at a quiet period but it seemed dead. No one in the hotel bars and the staff looked very bored.

Would have loved to have been there peak season but apart from that everything was lovely.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sazza777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2009

After staying in Chiang Mai for a while we wanted to escape to a bit of luxury in the mountains. About a 400THB taxi ride to the resort - it is stunningly beautiful. Great design - contemporary concrete, lots of water, rice fields, gorgeous views. The room was a great design with fab bathroom and open plan (with sliding doors so you could section off the bathroom if you want). Gorgeous infinity pool and restaurant with views of the mountains. Escape for a night (or two) to this haven!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KunKun2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZP83
Level Contributor
54 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2009

This was another hotel that I came across on trip advisor. Given the choices in Chiang Mai at the time for a very nice hotel there was not very many. I have stayed at W's previously and would best describe it as the Dusit Hotel Corp's attempt at diversifying their image just as Starwood has with W's. I can say that the D2 has got it when it comes to location and service. My mother and I wanted to go to Chiang Mai for the night market and the hotel location was far enough away from the noise and yet a short walk to the action. In other words if you went to Chiang Mai for the night market this hotel is ideal for that. The Four Seasons we looked at was far more expensive and much more removed from the night market. I would recommend if you are willing to spend a small fortune and want to get a good rub down. The room we booked was perfect for the two of us. It had a great view, two wonderful beds, and an excellent bathroom all with very modern decor but warm touches. Some hotels that want to be modern and hip lack comfort, this hotel did not. The hotel also provided a shuttle service from the airport to us which I believe was free because of the room that we booked. We primarily ate most of the time at the hotel's restaurant for lunch and dinner which were both very good but not outstanding. When traveling abroad I think I get a little cautious about food that is cooked on the streets and will only go to restaurants recommended by the hotel staff. During the time we stayed here, the hotel arranged for us to go to a wonderful buddhist temple up on the hill because it was lent and it would be memorable for us to experience. The concierge was right on and provided transportation for us. Overall our 3 night stay at $80 per night with breakfast, free hotel transport from the airport, and a room with two double beds was excellent and a great value. Please consider this hotel when you book your journey to Chiang Mai. I believe it is great for those who want to be in the action of the incredible night market.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZP83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 7, 2009

This hotel was superb, absolutely fantastic. It is clean, contemporary and literally on top of the night market. The staff were amazing, fantastic English and nothing was too much trouble for them. We checked out one night as we thought we might stay over night at an elephant park and they stored all of our stuff including valubles in a safety deposit box, as it happened we came back as we decided we didn't want to sleep with the elephantsand they got az room for us straight away and made us feel just as welcome as they had the first day we'd arrived. The pool area was great, some part of it got the sun pretty much the entire day and we found it to be very quiet, one day we had the whole area to oursleves so we just hoped beds as the sun moved, if we'd have let him the pool attendant would have given us clean towels every time we moved, another example of the super efficient, super friendly staff. We moved hotels to a 5* hotel in Chiang Mai which was booked before we'd ever seen the Dusit and we should never have left the Dusit, the staff were 100% better than at the so called 5* hotel and thepool area was better in fact everything about the Dusit was better. I was definitely recommend this hotel to everyone, I really can't rate it highly enough. On our last night in Chiang Mai we ended up eating at Moxie the restaurant inside the Dusit and the food was AMAZING, it easily rivals any top end Western restaurant. All in all this place was fab, if you're considering it I'd say go with it you won't be disappointed, and if you're not considering it why not??!! You should go it's great. Only citicism and it's a small one but internet should be free if you've got it why charge?!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank information12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 1, 2009

The D2 is a fantastic hotel in the center of Chaing Mai. the first thing you will notice is the impressive lobby with the orange highlights (which are continued in the rooms). Front office staff are excellent and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are beautiful and large. Look out for the treats in orange cube and at turn down. Breakfsat had a wide selection. The food in the day, while not cheap, is some of the best Thai food you will eat anywhere The bar in the lobby plays cool tunes at night and has a great snack menu, as does the outdoors bar. Can not recommend this hotel too highly.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarin58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur, malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2009

A staylish, modern, comtemporary and an EXCELLENT hotel in all aspects ! Worth for money with 5 stars services. Stayed from 21 Nov - 25 Nov 2009. Staff are very polite and can communicate in English at all level. Difficult to find fault at this hotel. The turntown service with little gesture (small gift) gave you a little surprise every single day and making sure your room was clean, neat and tidy always. If you're looking for quality services, great location and value for money, see no further (about THB3060 per night with breakfast). Me and my family members are very happy staying at D2. Looking forward to return to D2. My personal thanks to all the friendly staff especially Anthony for your great hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwmok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#55 of 375 in Chiang Mai
1,265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 375 in Chiang Mai
2,879 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#11 of 375 in Chiang Mai
2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#46 of 375 in Chiang Mai
1,185 reviews
2.0 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 375 in Chiang Mai
1,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit D2 Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit D2 Chiang Mai

Property: Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Address: 100 Chang Klan Rd | Chang Khlan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#14 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#18 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#18 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#20 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dusit D2 Chiang Mai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
guests are welcomed by a warm chic interior that represents the refreshing urbane face of contemporary thai design, the deluxe, club deluxe, studio suite and D'suite accommodations are decorated to provide sanctuaries of comfort, privacy and delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dusit D2 Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit d2 Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Dusit d2 Hotel Chiang Mai
Dusit Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Dusit d2
d2 Hotel Chiang Mai
d2 Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing