We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Nearby Hotels
Sirilanna Hotel(Chiang Mai)
$113
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
$86
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$96
$84
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamarind Village(Chiang Mai)
$176
$143
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$192
$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$545
$252
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$373
$340
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$132
$55
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
De Naga Hotel(Chiang Mai)
$96
$76
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
BED Phrasingh(Chiang Mai)
$59
$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,002)
Filter reviews
2,002 results
Traveler rating
1,152
612
169
44
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,152
612
169
44
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnight marketorange boxstudio suiteclub floormodern hotelold citywelcome drinkturn down serviceour honeymoonbreakfast buffetegg stationfantastic locationstayed here for nightstuk tukgymthailandmoxies
Filter
Updating list...
834 - 839 of 2,002 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We found the Dusit D2 to be a wonderful oasis in Chiang Mai. The standard rooms are spacious with very comfortable beds. I love the energetic orange color everywhere. Location is perfect for exploring the night market and riverfront. As far as attention to detail, every day we had fortune cookies and snacks in our room (just watch out for the Durian flavored candy!), room was made up immaculately, staff were exceedingly friendly and helpful. Pool was deep and a bit on the cool side but fine after a day in the hot sun. Food and drinks here are more expensive than those in other restaurants nearby. However we treated ourselves to a cocktail our last night. Made with flair by the bartender with Thai ingredients like lemongrass and ginger, they were exquisite and memorable. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jplapis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatcha R, General Manager at Dusit D2 Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

dear value guest,

delightful day to you from dusitD2 chiang mai !

thank you for taking time to share your great experiences at dusitD2 chiang mai.

glad to know that you had a good time with us during your trip in Thailand and we thank you for all your positive comments that we have already share with the entire team

thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

Delightfully and best regards,

tatcha riddhimat
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I stayed in the hotel for 5 nights a couple of weeks ago in March. Its great value for money. Friendly, helpful and sexy staff, good food, nice decor. Rooms are small but for a solo traveller it was all I needed. The gym and steam room were great and the pool is ok. I have no hesitation in recommending it if you're after a relaxing time in a nurturing environment.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rrrick2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatcha R, General Manager at Dusit D2 Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

dear value guest,

delightful day to you from dusitD2 chiang mai !

thank you for taking the time to share your comments here. I am pleased to hear that you found the clean and comfortable room, great location and great gym, pool & steam.

i sincerely hope you will have many more chances visiting our fun and funky hotel again in the near future

Delightfully and best regards,

tatcha riddhimat
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We were expecting quite a lot as we had been recommended this hotel by family. The lobby looks the part and the interesting welcome drink showed the D2's quirky side straight away which we liked. We also enjoyed the novelty of present in the room even though some of them were a little tacky/not something you would bother to take home.

The first room we had on the 4th floor was little tired and shabby, and I always felt a little grubby in there, like i didn't want to walk around barefoot. I think this was in part due to the aircon being on full blast when you left the room even if you didn't want it to, so it was always freezing and the carpets felt damp. It was quite chilly in Chiang Mai when we were there, so coming back to a freezing room was not ideal. The shower was in a bath, which i don't have an issue with normally, but it was a very tall/wide sided bath so it was quite an effort to get out when wet and I'm young and fit. Our second room was still a little tired, but felt much cleaner and had a walk in shower - maybe request this if you think this will be an issue for you.

Service was very good and breakfast was better than some, but the tea was very weak. It would be better to supply tea bags and hot water so you can make it how you like. Location was ok, but I think I would have preferred to be within the walls of the old city.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melbo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatcha R, General Manager at Dusit D2 Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

dear value guest,

delightful day to you from dusitD2 chiang mai !

thank you for taking time to share your great experiences at dusitD2 chiang mai.

glad to know that you had a good time with us and we thank you for all your positive comments that we have already share with the entire team.

please accept my sincere apologize for your inconvenience in regards to the inconvenience of equipment in room & bathroom, we do wish to extend our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused here and kindly rest assured that our housekeeping manager has been informed for further improving to avoid similar occurrence in the future.

Delightfully and best regards,

tatcha riddhimat
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We arrived late into Chiang Mai and checked into the D2 just after midnight. We had room 810 and our friends had room 803 - club level rooms. This is our second occasion to stay at the D2 - the first time was nearly eight years ago when the hotel had just opened. The entrance to the hotel is undergoing a remodel and guests are directed to the Moxie Restaurant entrance a few steps away. Unfortunately, our rooms turned out to be smoking rooms even though we requested non-smoking rooms. We didn't really notice the smell until later when other guests were smoking in their rooms. When I brought this to the attention of the staff they were happy to move us but we felt it would be too much trouble to move all of our things for one more night. The hotel and our room were showing some obvious signs of wear and tear (our room and club lounge). The bar has a fantastic selection of drinks! I recommend trying as many as possible - all have their unique flavors and styles. We didn't have the opportunity to use the full size gym upstairs but it looked to have all of the usual equipment. We had no time for the pool either. We used the restaurant, Moxie, for breakfast each of our three days. There is a great selection of western and Asian dishes. One night we dined at the Moxie for dinner and it turned out to be delightfully tasty and good. The Club room had a good assortment of light appetizers and snacks during happy hour. The staff were extremely helpful with all of our requests! Overall our stay was average to very good. My title of this posting is "borderline" because of the of the wear and tear which is close to bringing down my overall rating - the staff really made up for the rating. I would recommend this place with my comments noted.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geoff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatcha R, General Manager at Dusit D2 Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

dear value guest,

delightful day to you from dusitD2 chiang mai !

thank you for taking the time to share your comments here. I am pleased to hear that you found the hotel is located in a great location with a good service.

i apologize for your experience regarding the smell in the room and kindly rest assured that our housekeeping manager has been informed for further improving to avoid similar occurrence in the future.

i am happy to hear you enjoyed our club lounge service as well as staff, location and breakfast.

your special mention for the front desk team have been noted and forwarded to them for further encouragement and we thank you for your kind words.

thank you again for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

Delightfully and best regards,

tatcha riddhimat
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

The setting is not too posh -- just cool and the atmosphere is friendly and "mixed". The bartenders are "flair bartenders" and toss a great cocktail. There seems to always be a promotion going on and a great mix of people to chat with.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank grgwild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatcha R, General Manager at Dusit D2 Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

dear value guest,

delightful day to you from dusitD2 chiang mai !

thank you for taking time to share your good experiences at dusitD2 chiang mai.

i am pleased to hear that you had a really good cocktail experience and glad to know that you had a good time with us and we thank you for all your positive comments that we have already share with the entire team.

thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

Delightfully and best regards,

tatcha riddhimat
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews