We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great New Hotel in Chiang Mai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Ranked #28 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great New Hotel in Chiang Mai”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We checked in to the D2 for 3 nights, and were very pleasantly surprised. We had been travelling for almost 40 hours when we arrived and the staff were just awesome. Even though it was late, the doormen immediately unloaded our bags from our taxi and had them taken to the rooms. The check in process was quick and easy. We were given a nice room on a higher floor away from the elevator, which was very much appreciated.

The hotel itself has a very modern and refreshing design. They still had their Christmas decorations up, which gave the place a funky holiday feel. The lobby is very open and the bar is right there as well. We didn't eat at the restaurant while we were there, but it looked like it would be worth trying.

We found the room to be spacious enough for 3 people, even with a rollaway bed in it, which had already been placed in the room prior to our arrival. The bathroom was also a very good size. Everything was very clean and they provide free bottled water in the room, which was great. The bed was very comfortable, and we had a nice view of the city. Although we didn't have time to use them, the pool and the gym looked very nice as well.

You cannot beat the location of this property. It is literally less than a block away from the night market, a great place to walk around or eat. It is also close to the other larger market in Chiang Mai, about a 10 walk. It is also well within walking distance of great restaurants and bars.

The staff once again were great. We had scheduled various tours in Chiang Mai and the front desk and bell staff helped us find our tour guides each morning. They also helped arrange a taxi for us at check out and stored our bags for us after we checked out but before we actually left the hotel, which was very nice.

The only small issue we had was the surcharge for an extra person in the room which was almost $100. We thought that was a little excessive, so be cautious of that when making a reservation. The rate otherwise was very reasonable given how nice the hotel is. As with many properties abroad, you do need a key to get the lights and the A/C to work so keep that in mind as well.

Overall, a very nice new property that served our needs perfectly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sukanya J, General Manager at Dusit D2 Chiang Mai, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
dear value guest,

delightful day to you from dusitD2 chiang mai !

thank you for taking the time to share your comments here. I am pleased to hear that you found the comfortable room with nice view from the high floor, great service and great location with very friendly and helpful staff.

i sincerely hope you will have many more chances visiting our fun and funky hotel again in the near future

Delightfully and best regards,
sukanya janchoo
guru



dear value guest,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,065
    552
    153
    40
    20
See reviews for
329
830
135
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

This is a excellent hotel and was really impressed with the service and friendliness of the staff. The club lounge was particularly enjoyable as we met other guests and had o great time with them. I recommend this hotel to those who want some pampering at an affordable cost.

Room Tip: Go the Club Deluxe room. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Dusit Worldwide Co. Ltd

Helpful?
Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sukanya J, General Manager at Dusit D2 Chiang Mai, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
dear value guest,
delightful day to you from dusitD2 chiang mai!

thank you for taking time to share your great experiences at dusitD2 chiang mai.

we would like to thank you very much for your kind review of the hotel and our services at club lounge. your comments will certainly motivate us to continue our strive for excellence.

thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

Delightfully and best regards,
sukanya janchoo
guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Shade, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
425 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Stayed here for a few days while visiting Chiang Mai with my family. Very nice hotel. Rooms are spacious and modern. They are very nice and have some little touches that remind you you're in a upscale hotel. It's right downtown near the night market which is its biggest plus. They do have a pool, which is on the smaller size. They also have an exercise room and a spa, neither one did I take advantage of. They have a breakfast buffet every morning which was pretty good. Location is right down from a strip club, so keep that in mind, you are right downtown. If noise from the street bothers you, expect to be up late if you have a street view. Personally, it didn't bother me. All in all a great hotel, give it a try.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tallgaloot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sukanya J, General Manager at Dusit D2 Chiang Mai, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
dear value guest,

delightful day to you from dusitD2 chiang mai !

thank you for taking the time to share your comments here. I am pleased to hear that you found the hotel is comfortable with great location and helpful staff as well as the exercise room with good view.

i sincerely hope you will have many more chances visiting our dusitD2 hotel again in the near future

Delightfully and best regards,
sukanya janchoo
guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stayed in a deluxe room at the beginning of January. Room is ok, nothing special but ok. Pricewise it was a decent deal. Breakfast of good quality. Location is just next to the night markets, not far from the old city and the riverside. You can walk everywhere. Staff was good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodge79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sukanya J, General Manager at Dusit D2 Chiang Mai, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
dear value guest,

the team of dusitD2 chiang mai and i, the guru ( or general manager ), would like to thank you very much for your kind review of the hotel and our services. i am thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your stay so much and sincerely hope we have the chance to welcoming you back again soon.

Delightfully and best regards,
sukanya janchoo
guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

We were really happy with our stay at Dusit over the Christmas period. The service was excellent, especially by the room cleaners!
The Christmas Eve and day buffet was expensive but amazing and worth every penny!
The only negative we had was that we couldn't really use the pool (a main attraction for us). The pool area only got a tiny bit of sun up the top till the early afternoon.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller10205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sukanya J, General Manager at Dusit D2 Chiang Mai, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
dear value guest,

delightful day to you from dusitD2 chiang mai !

thank you for taking time to share your great experiences at dusitD2 chiang mai.

glad to know that you had a good christmas time with us and we thank you for all your positive comments that we have already share with the entire team.

thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

Delightfully and best regards,
sukanya janchoo
guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights, overall we had very little to be unhappy with. The facilities are clean, well kept and the staff is very cordial.

Breakfast every morning was pretty good too, we never had any other meal there so can't speak for the other options.

At over $200USD per night we definitely expected more especially after being spoiled at the Le Meredien in Bangkok for about $150/night but we booked late and it was a busy holiday weekend so no harm done.

We would definitely stay here again if we ever journey back to Chiangmai!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sukanya J, General Manager at Dusit D2 Chiang Mai, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
dear value guest,
delightful day to you from dusitD2 chiang mai!

thank you for taking time to share your great experiences at dusitD2 chiang mai.

we would like to thank you very much for your kind review of the hotel and our services. your comments will certainly motivate us to continue our strive for excellence.

thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

Delightfully and best regards,
sukanya janchoo
guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel based on reviews from Trip Advisor and it did not disappoint. Great location to night bazaar and Old City. The staff is top rate and graciously answered my questions every day. Always made change for my large bills. Breakfast is very good. Room and bathroom are a really good size--American size! Personal escort to room. The gym is good with a wonderful view.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 1livetowanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sukanya J, General Manager at Dusit D2 Chiang Mai, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
dear value guest,

delightful day to you from dusitD2 chiang mai !

thank you for taking the time to share your comments here. I am pleased to hear that you found the comfortable room with good size, great staffs and gyms with wonderful view.

i sincerely hope you will have many more chances visiting our fun and funky hotel again in the near future.

Delightfully and best regards,

sukanya janchoo
guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,980 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#56 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,311 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#11 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#42 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,249 reviews
2.0 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.9 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#12 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit D2 Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit D2 Chiang Mai

Property: Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Address: 100 Chang Klan Rd | Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#14 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#18 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#18 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#19 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dusit D2 Chiang Mai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
guests are welcomed by a warm chic interior that represents the refreshing urbane face of contemporary thai design, the deluxe, club deluxe, studio suite and D'suite accommodations are decorated to provide sanctuaries of comfort, privacy and delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dusit D2 Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit d2 Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Dusit d2 Hotel Chiang Mai
Dusit Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Dusit d2
d2 Hotel Chiang Mai
d2 Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing