We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would definitely recommend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Ranked #27 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Would definitely recommend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

The location was amazing! Near to the river, night bazaar, Sunday walking market & Warowat market.

This is the second time that we've been to chiang mai and the last time we stayed at a more traditional hotel far from the city centre. This is a modern hotel so was different from the last hotel that we stayed at. Although it was right near the night bazaar, it wasn't noisy at all. I preferred this hotel more than the last one as I liked being in the centre to do lots of shopping, have foot massages and negotiate tours.

Tips:
- Make sure you bargain for almost everything (exceptions being Warowat market which is a locals market, food, sometimes taxi - I met a very honest taxi driver outside our hotel. He had 4 books of customer comments praising him!)
- If you buy blanket covers, note that their sizes are different from UK sizes. I didn't realise & they're too big for our duvets!
- I went on a Khantoke dinner twice in 2 different locations. The 1st time was in the cultural centre which was much better than the second place we went to (the Khan Khantoke dinner)

Things I liked about the hotel:
- Location
- the fact that the maids cleaned our rooms late in the day (we often slept until late)
- the free water (they gave us lots of free water), free fortune cookies & a free surprise gift everyday!
- generally the service they provided
- the shower pressure

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sukanya J, General Manager at Dusit D2 Chiang Mai, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
dear value guest,

the team of dusitD2 chiang mai and i, the guru ( or general manager ), would like to thank you very much for your kind review of the hotel and our services. i am thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your stay so much and sincerely hope we have the chance to welcoming you back again soon.

Delightfully and best regards,
sukanya janchoo
guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,037
    533
    145
    40
    18
See reviews for
313
811
127
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

A week in this hotel was a great experience as a part of a business strategic retreat.

The business rooms are all below ground, which can get a little cabin feverish after a few days, but nothing a quick walk to Starbucks wasn't fixed by. Rooms for sleeping were fine and had a 3.5 to 4 star feel when compared to Australian hotels (if that helps).

Chiang Mai has a significant mosquito issue and you should be prepared. The hotel provide repellent wipes, and these are a good start, but for the night markets you. Should get something heavy duty. Last thing you want is to get sick.

A beautiful city and a star in the Thai culture.

Room Tip: Higher floors get you away from outside noise. Rm 525 was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sukanya J, General Manager at Dusit D2 Chiang Mai, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
dear value guest,

delightful day to you from dusitD2 chiang mai !

thank you for taking time to share your experiences at dusitD2 chiang mai.

glad to know that you had a good time with us and we thank you for all your positive comments that we have already share with the entire team

thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

Delightfully and best regards,
sukanya Janchoo
guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

The hotel is a family chain and yes could do with a revamp .However the staff were beautifully dressed and so well mannered ,the convenience of the location ,next to the Night Bazzar
The Executive Chef is a Gem and his team made some of the best tasting Pad Thai Noodles .
We stayed three nights and were treated like royalty .Greatly impressed by the staff's ability to book all our outdoor adventures and even change a flight without any hiccups.
Rooms were spacious and there was a gift each day adding a very special touch .
Glad we stayed there

Only negative - the children's play corner next to the stylish entrance bar .
Cant remember going to the Spa if there was one .Small roof top pool .

Room Tip: Ask about the executive lounge benefits .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HRHSoraya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sukanya J, General Manager at Dusit D2 Chiang Mai, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
dear value guest,

delightful day to you from dusitD2 chiang mai !

thank you for taking the time to share your comments here and your comments will certainly motivate us to continue our strive for excellence.

your special mention for our chef and his team have been noted and forwarded to them for further encouragement and we thank you for your kind words.

thank you again for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

Delightfully and best regards,
sukanya janchoo
guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Very chic boutique hotel, with excellent service. We stayed in a club level suite. The room had a separate living room and huge bathroom, it was very roomy. Bed and linens were great. Club service includes a special lounge with helpful concierge, all day refreshments and wine and beer at happy hour and fabulous hors d'oeuvres. Was a great way to unwind after a day of sightseeing and before dinner. Hotel is right accross the street from the Night Market brimming with goods, cheap eats, bars etc. Great value hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jojosottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sukanya J, General Manager at Dusit D2 Chiang Mai, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
dear value guest,

thank you for taking time to share your great experiences at dusitD2 chiang mai.

the entire team and i are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and your comments will certainly motivate us to continue our strive for excellence.

we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Delightfully and best regards,
sukanya janchoo
guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

What a Hotel. Very Happy great location Day Spa was great according to my wife. I was with a group of Aussies and we had dinner in the Hotel and it was some of the best food we have ever had a big wrap to the chefs! A walk accross the road sees you in the market. 20 Baht Tuk Tuk to walking markets they are a must. Great little laundry shop around corner cheap as great job pressed and clened in 24 hours.
Tiger Kingdom great experiance and go to the old temple in centre of the city as well as golden temple on mountain top. Great City Great People.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sukanya J, General Manager at Dusit D2 Chiang Mai, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
dear value guest,

thank you very much for your kind words. i am happy to hear you enjoyed our services as well as the SPA treatments and dinner in the hotel.

i sincerely hope you will have many more chances visiting us again in the near future.

Delightfully and best regards,
sukanya janchoo
guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

The studio suite at Dusit D2 is a great, roomy space. The living area has a couch, chair, desk, and TV with DVD player. There are sliding doors to separate the bedroom, which has a king bed, couch, and small wall-mounted TV. A nice feature is the separate closet area between the bathroom and entryway with ample space for luggage and clothes. The large bathroom has lots of vanity space, a shower, tub with sliding doors that open to the bedroom, and a scale. The toiletries come in tall thin tubes that sit in a stand. The room has a safe, small fridge, coffee/tea maker, robes, wi fi, and bottled water provided daily. A quirky touch is the big orange box on the desk in which we found a small token gift every day like coconut candy, herbal massage pack, and keychain fan. Turn down service included a fortune cookie.

The pool area is quiet, but feels a little bare and closed in. There are no steps, just a ladder to get in and out of the pool. The gym has floor to ceiling windows with a nice view and a good range of weight machines, free weights, and cardio equipment. Each cardio machine has a TV, but the glare from the windows made it hard to see the screen.

The buffet breakfast is huge and includes fruit, yogurt, breads and pastries, cereal, cooked to order eggs, and lots of hot entrees ranging from Asian to Western. On our last night, we hung out at the lobby bar. The drinks and munchie snacks are yummy (try the lemongrass, ginger martini), but the prices are high compared with the great values at the Bazaar.

The hotel is in a really good location – close to attractions, the airport, and bus station. If you want to hang out at the Night Bazaar, you can’t get any closer – just walk outside. The river and Charoenrat Road are a ten minute walk away. There are also a few temples within a 20 minute walk.

Overall, we liked staying at Dusit D2, but we didn’t love it. The suite is awesome and the location is really convenient. The pool area isn’t the greatest and it looks like the hotel could use a bit of freshening up in some places. It is a really good option if you like a modern atmosphere and want to be near the Night Market.

If you would like to read about what we did in Chiang Mai, please visit our travel blog, www.latitudeb.com/chiang-mai/.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoriBarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sukanya J, General Manager at Dusit D2 Chiang Mai, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
dear value guest,

thank you for choosing dusitD2 and thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback here.

i am pleased that you found our studio suite room was great as well as the buffet breakfast was huge and the hotel is in a really good location.

thank you again for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

Delightfully and best regards,
sukanya janchoo
guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

My second stay at the hotel and the return visit again because of location. This has been mentioned ad nauseum in other reviews here, suffice to say if you want to be in the middle of the tourist area, this is a good place to start. I now know that I wouldn't stay in this part of town again, having walked my feet off all over the city. There are quieter places than is.

The rooms are OK, large enough and we were grateful for an upgrade to a studio suite. We were already booked at the Club level. I think it was the return visit that achieved the upgrade. The Club lounge is a pleasant space for a glass of wine or whatever and the service is always cheerful and helpful. The Thais know how to put on the charm. And I think it's genuine.

My complaint however, and I tried to contact the General Manager to thank her for the upgrade but also to pass on my "complaint". She was in a meeting, as most General Managers seem to be.

Free wi-if is always a draw card for me when choosing hotels of comparable merit. The Dusit offers this so that's a plus however the process of getting a little envelope that reveals your ID and password is rather frustrating. The ID and password consists of a series of numbers and letters (nothing simple like you find in airline lounges) but if you stop working on your computer or I Pad for just 5 minutes, you are locked out and have to go through the whole process again. This is simply annoying and we all know it does not have to be.

The food in the only restaurant is limited at dinner time and trying a little too hard to be hip. However, the staff are always a delight but don't make up for the shortcomings in food quality and variety. (We ate the following night at Le Meridien next door in their main restaurant. An amazing buffet for just 550 baht including tax and service charge. Highly recommended)

A satisfactory 4 night stay but I will opt for a quieter stay with less hip hop next time.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank aguignon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sukanya J, General Manager at Dusit D2 Chiang Mai, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
dear value guest,

thank you for choosing dusitD2 and thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback here.

I am pleased that you found our location to be so convenient and I am happy that we were able to offer you a complimentary upgrade. I am sorry that I was not available at the time that you requested to see me - it's true that much of my time is spent in meetings! I hope to have the chance to meet you on your next visit.

regarding the internet, we are aware of the inconvenience of having to log in multiple times and will be upgrading the system soon.

thank you again and I look forward to personally welcoming you back soon.

Delightfully and best regards,
sukanya janchoo
guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#55 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,881 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#11 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#46 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
2.0 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit D2 Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit D2 Chiang Mai

Property: Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Address: 100 Chang Klan Rd | Chang Khlan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#14 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#18 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#18 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#19 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dusit D2 Chiang Mai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
guests are welcomed by a warm chic interior that represents the refreshing urbane face of contemporary thai design, the deluxe, club deluxe, studio suite and D'suite accommodations are decorated to provide sanctuaries of comfort, privacy and delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dusit D2 Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit d2 Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Dusit d2 Hotel Chiang Mai
Dusit Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Dusit d2
d2 Hotel Chiang Mai
d2 Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing