We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The trendiest hotel in Chiang Mai - still going strong”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Ranked #26 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“The trendiest hotel in Chiang Mai - still going strong”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We have been to Chiang Mai a few times over the year and never stayed at the D2 before. It was always a kind of runner up. The main reason was that I always perceived it as designer, but dated as it has been around for a while.
However last time in CM we actually spent a few nights and I must say, how wrong I was.
The hotel can easily compete with design hotels in major global cities. The atmosphere is up-beat, service is immaculate, the 70s design is bright and creates a happy mood, the rooms are spacious, extremely well maintained and most importantly carry the design features from the rest of the hotel. From front desk to bath-tub, the theme is coherent.
The location is great, you are basically right in the middle of town with the night market at your door step. Despite the central location, you are not disturbed at night and get good sleep.
The only slight downer is the pool area, which is a bit basic.
Definite "must go" for Chiang Mai.

Room Tip: If possible, go for the suites on club level
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank epicentre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,057
    547
    149
    40
    18
See reviews for
321
826
132
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2012 via mobile

Situated next to the night bazaar, short walk to old town, location is perfect! Service is excellent, food is awesome quality, rooms are very comfortable and spacious. Eating and drinking in the hotel is a lot more expensive than eating out, but then you are paying hotel prices. We popped across to the night bazaar and had the most amazing meals, for about $5 per person! The hotel design and decor is refreshing, the staff are very polite and attentive, the swimming pool was amazing, the fitness centre is the best equipped I have seen in any hotel. We highly recommend the D2 and wil stay there again on our next trip

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

This hotel has bags of style. The moment you walk in you can tell it has a unique feel about it by the decor and even the clothes the staff are wearing.

The location was walking distance to all the great things Chiangmai has to offer.

The only negative during my stay was the noise levels due to construction which was taking place next door and was very loud. This was quite a few years ago so won't be a problem now. They seem to have loud disco sessions in the hotel every saturday which could be heard from the rooms.

Definitely worth a stay just to sample the uniqueness D2 has to offer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room a few levels above reception if you are staying over the weekend, to avoid noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Stayed at the DusitD2 in Chiang Mai, I was incredibly impressed with the service, hotel and it's location

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ant6974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
113 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

My wife and I visited this modern facility with my son and his wife. We had stayed here earlier and had found it to be great. Our visit this time confirmed that this hotel is a great place to stay while in Chiang Mai. The rooms were excellent and outfitted with everything one could desire. Staff were also excellent and very friendly. The quality of food served, especially breakfast, was exceptionally good, as was the service. Somehow, the staff found out that it was my birthday and I was treated to a very nice birthday cake along with being seranaded! Nice touch!

The hotel has a nice pool and some really crazy drinking glasses that acted as if they would spill but not so. We even bought some to take home with us! The Hotel is located in the center of the Night Bazaar however, the rooms were very quiet and sleeping was no problem at all.

If we have the chance to revisit Chiang Mai in the future we shall certainly use this great facility again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DIKTHAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We loved this hotel - it's very young and hip (orange seems to the theme for some reason). Gym is fantastic - it has a good variety of weight machines, stability balls and cardio machines. All the staff were incredibly pleasant and helpful - I have an allergy to a number of fruits but love bircher muesli, so they kept aside a bowl for me each morning. Speaking of breakfast - this is also fantastic, a good range and my husband and I enjoyed everythign we tried. The only slight negative is that you have to ask for a cup of coffee or tea rather than being able to help yourself as you want, as they make it from a little machine - we found the cofee to weak for our tastes, but that's a minor gripe. We did what many other peopel seem to have and upgraded rooms -a s we'd not initially included breakfast this worked out reasonably cost effective for us (and convenient given most tours start by 8.30 each morning). The free wine and snacks on level 7 that came with the upgrade during happy hour times of 5-7 were also good - there's a reasonable selection of wine, beer, soft and hot drinks and the place is kept well stocked. The beds are very comfy (in our room the glass windowed shower was joined to the main bedroom room without a wall between it, so all you have is blinds on the OUTSIDE of the bathroom to maintain your modesty if you're not sharing with a significant other! Bit odd, but whatever floats your boat). I don't really have anything bad to say about this place. It was quiet, clean and comfortable. Definitely worth being closer in to the old city/night bazaar also.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jj37795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

What a great beginning of our private Thailand.tour this is!
The hotel is awesome, very supprtive and friendly staff everywhere, a stunning breakfast buffet (coffee could have been a bit more fresh though). During evening hours the nearby shopping street awakes to a busy and colourful nightmarket, offering affordable goods from local production and .... FOOD.
Try the Anusarn market square as a highlight!
The hotel owned SPA looks pricey, but decent. Plenty of alternatives closeby.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fivedauns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 381 in Chiang Mai
2,951 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#55 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,301 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#11 of 381 in Chiang Mai
2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#12 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,398 reviews
0.2 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#41 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,230 reviews
2.0 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit D2 Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit D2 Chiang Mai

Property: Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Address: 100 Chang Klan Rd | Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#18 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#18 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dusit D2 Chiang Mai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
guests are welcomed by a warm chic interior that represents the refreshing urbane face of contemporary thai design, the deluxe, club deluxe, studio suite and D'suite accommodations are decorated to provide sanctuaries of comfort, privacy and delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dusit D2 Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit d2 Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Dusit d2 Hotel Chiang Mai
Dusit Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Dusit d2
d2 Hotel Chiang Mai
d2 Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing