We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Ranked #28 of 403 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2012

This hotel is just so cool. The design is modern and refreshing. They were fully booked and couldn't accommodate our king bed request but did put 2 twin beds together and it was fine. The buffet breakfast was pretty good - had all the standard options. The staff were friendly and courteous. Have only minor complaints: the room and especially the bathroom felt a bit cramped. The flat screen tv was tiny - maybe 19 inches or less - certainly not what you would expect from a hotel of this calibre. Maybe ask for a room facing the "back" of the hotel as there is a karaoke open air restaurant across the street from the front of the hotel. The karaoke doesn't go all night but we could definitely hear it from our 9th floor room. The night market is right beside this hotel so it's very convenient for shopping. Head the other way from the night market and cross the street and you will get to the one the locals shop at. Much better deals. Have family in Chiang Mai and they say locals don't shop at the night market. Liked it here but if I ever go back to Chiang Mai may try another hotel - if only for a bigger tv.

Room Tip: The business centre is on the 7th floor. Ask for a room far away from the karaoke open air restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,961)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,157 - 1,163 of 1,961 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2012

This hotel is definitely upscale - very clean and the people working there are very nice. The rooms are very modern. It is in a nice location, next to the night bizarre. We enjoyed a nice Christmas buffet at the hotel with lots of choices...meat, seafood, vegetarian dishes, sushi, etc.

However, there are lots of choices in Chiang Mai and you can probably spend a lot less money at other places for the amount of time we spent in our hotel. The restaurant was very expensive for Thailand and so were the hotel services (laundry, massage, bar). You definitely could leave the hotel and find things for more then half the price they charged at the hotel.

Room Tip: If you are a family and want a little more space upgrade to the suites, they are very nice and give...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KBtrvls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I've been a fan of Dusit hotels for a long time. Especially in recent years, services has been far superior than other hotels we visited in Thailand. Although, the facilities at some location like in Pattaya is aging (but extremely clean and well maintained) and in need of complete renovation. I've stayed several Chiang Mai hotels on many family visits since I was young and found most big hotels quite old and not on the clean side.

Fist look of the hotel from the outside is a bit dubious. An old building set behind a shopping plaza. We couldn't find the entrance at first because we were looking for something more noticeable. The hotel entrance is actually an entrance to the plaza parking lot and truck/van loading area. Not very impressive. What began to impress us is the helpfulness of the security staffs to help us park our car. Our delight continue as we were warmly greeted at the reception and check-in staffs. They made us feel right at home and treated us like a VIP guess from the first minute. All questions we asked, they went out of their way to find the right information for us. I really can't express in writing the quality of services we received here, you just have to experience it yourself.

The hotel is a renovation of another old Chiang Mai hotel. I must say that they did a good job as we feel like its a newly built hotel, except when we entered the elevator, which is a bit slow - but with key card security system. We stayed in room 919 which is a suit. Very impressed with the quality of materials used, the cleanliness, the amenities, etc. Nothing to complain except you will not get any 'Thai-ness' feeling in this hotel aside from the services. We also get free internet with our room.

We didn't eat any food in the hotel because Thailand offers so much good food everywhere. No use spending time or money in any hotels in Thailand for local food.

The location is very convenient. Its right in the middle of the night bazaar and 10 mins walk from the old city wall. You can do a lot of 'touristic' shopping in the area. There are also many good restaurant and street food around the hotel.

Getting around the city I recommend taking the local red taxi (converted pick-up trucks) - equivalent of local bus so they will pick up other passenger. Just tell the driver where you want to go and they will stop at your destination - anywhere in Chiangmai city for 20 baht per person only. No need to ask price or negotiate. Actually if you ask the price, they will know you don't know and charge you more. Just get in and pay when you arrived. Staying at the night bazaar area is very convenient for this reason also, as most will go there anyway.

Aside from the poor outside look of the hotel, we loved it and would gladly go back.

Room Tip: Hotel rooms are kept sparkling clean. No view around the hotel so don't matter which rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BangkokNegotiator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We were concerned about staying in a modern hotel that did not have a Thai feel, but were swayed by other reviews. This hotel was only one of two accomodations that I have ever stayed in in my travels all over the world, where all my need were anticipated. The staff were very friendly and helpful and our room was gorgeous. We stayed in a suite on one of the club floors and it was excellent. Breakfast was varied and really delicious. Hotel is about a 15 minute walk to the old city, but the night market is just outside, so the tradeoff was worth it. We also had massages in their very beautiful spa. All in all, an excellent hotel.

Room Tip: Loved our suite on the 6 th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aktraveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I great place to stay. The service was excellent. As a brit I would have liked Danish bacon for breakfast but other than that they were outstanding

Room Tip: The suites are outstanding and the club floor well staffed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed here for six nights in a Deluxe Studio Suite. We were able to check in early as our room was ready. We received a warm welcome by staff and they were very friendly. The conceige was particularly helpful in booking activities/tours for us.

The room was cleaned regularly and was comfortable. They left us fortune cookies on the bed and other little gifts. We regularly got bottles of water and they kept restocking our amenities in the bathroom without needing to request it.

The place was quiet and relaxing. We didn't use the pool or gym. Short walk to the Old Town and adjacent to the Night Bazaar.

Minor shortcomings was that wifi reception in my room was not always consistent. The range of cable channels available was ok.

Overall I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rozza_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

My wife and I spent three nights here in February 2012. The hotel is a stunningly chic property, with slick modern design throughout. We spent the extra money on a studio suite, which at 650 square feet was extremely spacious and incredibly well-designed. The walk-in closet, sleek bathroom, and spacious bedroom and living room were great. The buffet breakfast was fantastic; possibly the best muesli I've ever had. The location is also quite good; one block from the Night Market and only about a 15-minute stroll from the eastern wall of the old city. While the D2 was the most expensive hotel in Thailand I've ever stayed at ($160/night including Hotel.com's service fees), it was certainly the most posh.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for the studio suite -- they appear to be twice the size of the standard rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pilotguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#20 of 403 in Chiang Mai
3,254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#56 of 403 in Chiang Mai
1,426 reviews
0.2 mi away
Movenpick Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#31 of 403 in Chiang Mai
536 reviews
0.5 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#32 of 403 in Chiang Mai
1,023 reviews
2 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit D2 Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit D2 Chiang Mai

Address: 100 Chang Klan Rd | Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#15 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#18 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#20 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $84 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dusit D2 Chiang Mai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
guests are welcomed by a warm chic interior that represents the refreshing urbane face of contemporary thai design, the deluxe, club deluxe, studio suite and D'suite accommodations are decorated to provide sanctuaries of comfort, privacy and delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dusit D2 Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit d2 Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Dusit d2 Hotel Chiang Mai
Dusit Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Dusit d2
d2 Hotel Chiang Mai
d2 Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing