We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hip lodging at very reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Ranked #27 of 376 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Hip lodging at very reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

Great location and easy walking access to most destinations in town. Across street from night market, you can't go wrong at this trendy but very nice hotel. By US standards price is inexpensive ($68/night). Service was great, internet access on club level and they have an in-house activities desk that can conveniently book any excursion you need. Hotel also has gym, full-service spa, pool, lobby bar and restaurant. Taking a cab from airport was very easy. Have hotel book you a cab to return to airport.

Upon arrival we were greeted with a nice cool glass of tea, great introduction, and then escorted us to our room. Bright color scheme, sleek design in lobby extends to the room. Very clean & well appointed. Hotel is very quiet and set back from the main road. Shower only bath a little small but again, well appointed. Shower is all glass and can be seen from bedroom, but does have blinds for privacy. Decent sized room had a window seat, desk, and queen bed. Small TV seemed a little out of place, but we weren't there to watch TV anyway. In room safe and fridge. Nice daily touch - they presented a little "gift" in an orange lucite box on the desk. Candies, fruit, a massage ball. Nice little touch. Definitely well maintained. Just a note, they do not have a license to change money but an exchange service in located one block away.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RidlerGirl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,037
    534
    145
    40
    18
See reviews for
313
811
127
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2011

Walking into the lobby we immediately get a feel for the obvious effort that has gone into making this hotel one of the best in Thailand in my view, if not the world: spacious with funky but amazingly comfortable and functional furniture; an open check-in space and to the right an open bar area. Everything flows here, right down to the dining area further on. But the beauty of D2CM is not superficial it's in the staff-- all of them. We are met and greeted by check-in staff who show us to our room, answer our questions and ask us if we have any needs or further questions with such an undeniable sincerity that we know we made the right decision in choosing this hotel. Several other experiences with other front desk staff over the three nights we are here confirm that we weren't just dealing with staff who had had a "good" day. This was a case of carefully picked, talented people , well-trained who seriously enjoy doing what they do: from check-in staff to the waiting staff to cleaners and cooks. They KNOW this hotel and their surroundings and are pleased and genuinely interested to show you the best of it.
My companion and I had a suite and our friend an ajoining deluxe bedroom. The bedroom itself was very big. Our suite with a separate living area, separate wardrobe space -- itself open and substantial--- and a bathroom area that would dwarf most in our home town of Sydney -- could best be described as "lush." Each night's turn-down would see another little gift on the pillow. And on returning each day from an excursion another gift -- food or otherwise-- was placed in, for want of better words, a glass show-case.
Our rate included access to the Club area where for several hours each night we had access to all the wine, beer and soft drinks we could stomach (a dangerous concept to flaunt in front of Australians!) as well as a wide variety of Thai-based canapes that changed every night. The rate was incredibly good value as apart from that breakfast was also thrown in. I have gorged myself on many breakfasts, buffet or otherwise, at many hotels but this is honestly the best I have seen. The variety was astonishing; everything fresh, freshly baked and freshly made to order. The fresh-fruit "energizer" drink made my day although maybe I should apologise to the staff who had to replenish it after I downed it all --and not just once, or even twice.
In the end, though, it is the staff who make D2CM a truly great hotel. And that includes hotel management who really should be commended for doing a great job at identifying and recruiting the best sort of people for the job and giving the training that they require. Thank you. These people -- all of them that we had anything to do with -- really shine in their jobs.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dfag30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veracruz, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

Great hotel, good breakfast (it was included in our package). The staff is excellent and will help you with anything you need. Great gym also if want to get a good workout in while traveling. The rooms were ample in size and very well maintained. The bed is a little stiff, but I have found that to be normal for that part of the world, and I was still able to get a good sleep. The location is excellent, right in the middle of the night markets. And my wife and I love to walk, and we did not think it was difficult to walk to just about any other location you would want to visit around the center fo the city. I would recommend this hotel and stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryanmalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petah-Tikva, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2011

Sometimes, the first glance, a smile and a warm welcome can make the difference. We can only praise the service, the attitude, the real drive to satisfy the guests and to make them happy. Every single request of ours, was fulfilled in a matter of seconds accompanied with a REAL smile (not an American one...).
As for the hotel itself, - It's a piece of art. Rooms are a "Boutique Hotel Style", clean and beautifully designed. (Storage space and cupboards are a little to short) and clean, like a surgery room.
We've already (and will) recommend this hotel to all of our friends who are going to Chiang-mai because of all the merits and also for its great location.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank keidarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

Stayed here with my wife for 2 nights. Chose it because we had 4 nights scheduled in Chiang Mai, and 2 of them we'd decided to stay at the Mandarin. At US$600 per night, was looking for a cheaper option to balance it all out. The D2, at US$88 per, did that. And also offered boutique/trendy feel and super location - just one block from the fun and bustling night market and a 10 minute walk to the Old City. The staff was very friendly, the place was clean, and the room size was nice. TV was very small, but that's splitting hairs. All in all, just what we were looking for. A real nice hotel. And amazing value.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank brianNY17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ao Nang, Thailand
Level Contributor
174 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

Stayed for long-weekend in May with my girlfriend. Hotel is located close to night bazaar and walking distance to the old town. Rooms are nice and clean. Some places in the room (desk, night table) you can see that the hotel is a little "tired" but it didn't bother us. The security guy really likes to blow his whistle, so if you are a light sleeper ask for a room away from the parking lot/entrance. Enjoyed the breakfast and also the friendly bell boys and the gentleman at the club lounge. Pool was small, but nice to cool down after a day of walking around Chiang Mai. Would return to D2 next time I come up north. Thanks to all the staff!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the parking lot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeneralSnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

very impres with the hotel service , room design and facilities . the location is closed to the night market but have quite privacy. love it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pttgsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#55 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,883 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#11 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#46 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
2.0 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit D2 Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit D2 Chiang Mai

Property: Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Address: 100 Chang Klan Rd | Chang Khlan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#14 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#18 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#18 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#19 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dusit D2 Chiang Mai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
guests are welcomed by a warm chic interior that represents the refreshing urbane face of contemporary thai design, the deluxe, club deluxe, studio suite and D'suite accommodations are decorated to provide sanctuaries of comfort, privacy and delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dusit D2 Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit d2 Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Dusit d2 Hotel Chiang Mai
Dusit Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Dusit d2
d2 Hotel Chiang Mai
d2 Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing