We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Ranked #100 of 393 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Booked as part of an excellent tailor-made package arranged for us by Mark at Escape Worldwide, this hotel was perfectly situated for the night and walking markets. Room spacious and comfortable. Yes, the place is a bit dated, but it provided everything we needed, including a lot of choice for the buffet breakfast. We had one lunch there, which was fine and we only used the bar once - the cabaret singer had a lovely voice. We chose to eat out otherwise - food from the street vendors and in the covered market - all good stuff at very little cost. For us, the Centara Duangtawan was the ideal base for the first part of our 16-day holiday. NB I'm quite particular about where I stay and this easily met my requirements!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,012)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

809 - 815 of 2,012 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2013

The hotel has a 4 star lobby but a 2-3 stars rooms. Everything is old. The old ugly carpet, the old bathroom and more. Not verey clean. Spiders waves on the old lamp.stayed in 4 hotels in Thailad; they were the only one that we had to pay for thr wifi and it was only for one computer. orderd an hamburger from the room serves, got it with a nail insaid. If you come with a grope you don’t have a choice. But if you are traveling by yourself, look for a better hotel

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ella1406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centara D, General Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback.
A refurbishment of many of our rooms is presently underway which will assist us in ensuring that your comments regarding the appearance of the hardware is not repeated into the future.

Our sincere apologies for the Room Service issue which has been fully investigated by myself in order to achieve maximum care and attention is given to all our guests so as an incident such as the one you were faced with can not be repeated.

On behalf our entire team we thank you for this opportunity to regain our quality of products and services through your constructive comments


Yours sincerely

K Boonchai – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Helpful friendly staff. Nice buffet breakfast. No free wifi throughout hotel and when we bought it did not work. They were happy to reimburse though. Arranged a doctor to the room when I was too sick to go out. Very competent female doctor arrived within the hour.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank cathkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centara D, General Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback which allows us the opportunity to listen to our guests and improve any areas highlighted as not having reached or exceeded your expectations.

Your kind comments regarding our friendly staff have passed onto our team and we hope you are now feeling much better and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future

Yours sincerely,

K Boonchai – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

The hotel’s location is in the heart of the night market, close to McDonalds, Starbucks, Haagen Das, The Dukes (pizza, burgers, root beer floats), exchange banks (open until 10:00pm). Across the street from the hotel there are several laundry choices (we used the one at Fuju film that took a couple hours longer than promised), a hair salon and massage salons. Old town Chiang Mai is a 10 minute walk away.
This is an older hotel, but our room on the 8th floor was large with a wall of windows and views of the distant mountains. When the electricity went out for a short time in this part of the city, all lights in the room did not go out because the hotel had backup generators. Twice our towels were not replaced in the morning. I liked the European style covers. Wifi in the room was complicated and NOT complimentary. I found it strange that the large hotels in big cities didn’t have free wifi when smaller hotels in small cities often did.
There were many choices at breakfast including eggs to order.
If the elevators get crowded, follow the signs to the express elevator.
I had my hair French braided in the hotel salon for about $5 and across the street for about $3. Both turned out very well with no waiting.
There is a lovely pool area above the street level.
Wonderful views of the city are possible on the 23rd and 24th floors.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sssnancysss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centara D, General Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback which allows us the opportunity to listen to our guests and improve any areas that did not reach or exceed your expectations

Your comment regarding the replacement of the room towels is well noted and we have asked our Housekeeping manager to re- train all of the housekeeping staff to check that all guest room amenities are of a high quality and are replaced each day unless the guest has indicated not to do so in line with our environmental policy

Complimentary internet services are also under consideration by senior management in line with a number of other guest comments received in the same vein.

Thank you for your positive comments regarding our hotel and in the near future we look forward to welcoming you back to show you the improvements made in line with your feedback


Yours sincerely,
K. Boonchai – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Just stayed for 3 nights at the hotel. Overall, I think it is worth the money you pay. As we were on a packaged tour, we spent very little time in the hotel. The room was large, but it is not sound proof. You could clearly hear your neighbour's voice (I am they hear ours as well). The hotel is very near to almost anything you need - shopping, night market, bars all within a stroll. Breakfast was almost same everyday- a bit of variety could have helped.
So, if you are not picky about little things, this hotel should suit you well.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ksun179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centara D, General Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your constructive feed back with suggestions as to how we can improve our products and services

Your comment regarding the noise from adjoining rooms is an ongoing challenge for us
However, we are endeavoring to find a solution into the near future that will negate the comments we receive regarding this issue

Similarly, Our Executive Chef has recently reviewed and changed many of the menu items including the breakfast pastries

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future so as we may prove to you that the points you have communicated to us have been improved

Yours sincerely,

K Boonchai – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

our room was dirty on arrival, sheets dirty, carpet not vacumed, mirrors dirty, towels not provided, took 3 phone calls to rectify. Towels, tea, coffee, sugar not replaced when serviced for 4 of the 5 days we stayed. Door staff on their phones in full view of the guests they were ignoring, Reception staff were far from courteous or helpful, and on last night found rubbish including medication from previous guest under my bed. DISGUSTING!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kahzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centara D, General Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Quite clearly our overall standard of service and product presentation was of a poor standard
At the time you stayed with us and I would like to apologize most sincerely for the wrath of challenges you were faced with and which marred your vacation

I have instructed of our staff to place high importance on the fact that disadvantaged guests are to be looked after much more carefully than you experienced, given the fact that you had already made clear to our staff that you were not satisfied with your negative points. I have read your comments to all of our team at our special meeting and instructed them to check all of the points you raised and conduct immediate remedial training for all concerned

It remains only for me to thank you sincerely for your honest and to the Point review which will assist us in ensuring that future guests are not faced with the same issues

Yours sincerely,

The General Manager – K Boonchai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We have just spent 6 nights here. On arrival its a very clean and grand looking hotel. Our Thai rep checked us in with no problems at all. Then once she had gone and we were in our rooms we got a call and were summoned to the reception saying that we were missing our hotel voucher. We showed all our documents which clearly stated that no voucher was needed for our stay but this did not seem to be good enough. Luckily we phoned our lovely Thai guide and she was back within seconds and the moment staff seen her everything seemed to be a misunderstanding! Great start!!

The rooms were clean and service staff all very lovely (chambermaids and pool terrace staff) its a big busy hotel and from reading other trip advisor reviews I was worried about the lifts not being very fast but the hotel seem to have addressed this by always having a member of staff close to help you with the right lift!

The view from the hotel is lovely but as its so big the windows are really dirty and spoil it some what!
Breakfast looked like it was going to be good but wasn't great nothing stood out as very enjoyable. And as it finished at 10.30 the lunch buffet was being set out right after which didn't really entice us to try it!!

I was actually ok with this hotel it fitted our needs and was in a good part of town but then as we went to check out and pay for the mini bar tab we were stitched!! I had expected this from reading previous reviews. We had kept a list of exactly what we had which wasn't much and the mini bar was actually reasonably priced so it was good to use but they insisted that we had spent and extra 300baht over our list. My partner paid it as we were in a hurry to check out but it really stuck with us and would not recommend this hotel because of it! We tipped the pool staff well and the cleaners well also so to be fleeced at the end was a bit uncalled for!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alimac83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centara D, General Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback which allows us the Opportunity to listen
To our guests and improve any areas highlighted as not reached or exceeded expectations

With regards to the fact you were trying to be collected for a voucher after you arrived to the
Room, to avoid the mistake in the charging to guest folio – we have the policy the check and correct all documentation However, it appears that our staffs were overzealous in their
Translation of our Hotel policy and I will ensure that the appropriate measures are taken to
Re - trains this

Your comment regarding to the dirty window is well noted, a plan of re-painting and cleaning
The entire hotel building is already scheduled to start very shortly

I sincerely apologize for the unpleasant experience occurred to you on the check out time; we regularly instruct our staff on how to make the most correctly of charging mini bar item to our guest, the fact that you were over charged is very embarrassing to us and I have asked the
Front Office Manager to address this concern immediately to ensure our staff remains alert
And do their jobs more professionally


We trust in the future you will decide to stay with us again so as we can show you the improvements made within the hotel


Yours sincerely,

K Boonchai – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#71 of 393 in Chiang Mai
1,695 reviews
0 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#34 of 393 in Chiang Mai
1,356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#56 of 393 in Chiang Mai
1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#58 of 393 in Chiang Mai
1,340 reviews
0 mi away
Nap in Chiangmai
Nap in Chiangmai
#41 of 393 in Chiang Mai
248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 393 in Chiang Mai
1,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai

Address: 132 Loykroh Road, Chang-Klan, Muang | Night Bazaar Shopping Centre, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand (Formerly Centara Duangtawan Hotel, Chiang Mai)
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#58 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $49 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 512
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoys an enviable location right in the heart of this charming city and just steps from the famous Chiang Mai Night Bazaar, a landmark for any visitor.This impressive high rise hotel offers comfortable accommodation and a host of facilities and services for the Chiang Mai bound visitor,24 Floors with 512 comfortable appointed rooms featuring Superior, Deluxe, Business Plus , Dynasty and Suites accommodations. The hotel’s extensive all day dining venue plays host to sumptuous buffets, themed evening and a extensive a la carte option bringing together the best of Italian , Japanese, International, Thai and Asian Cuisine.Perched atop of the hotel is the Sunflower Chinese Restaurant affording spectacular views of Chiang Mai and some of the best Chinese Cuisine this city has to offer.Italian, Poolside Bar and light meals, Lobby Lounge and bar with evening entertainment and 24 hour in –room dining also feature.Impressive leisure facilities feature a state-of the art gym and Fitness Centre , spacious pool and sun terrace, sauna, massage and Spa Cenvaree.Meet and Unite : This facilities offers a Grand Ballroom for up to 800 guests , 14 break out rooms, Service Centre and out door pavilion for activities, team building, theme parties and celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Duangtawan Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Centara Duangtawan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing